How Axel works

Breeze Airways rating

B
6.4/10Axel score · #19 of 77
6.2/10Repriceability · #8
Checked October 26, 2026 · How Axel rates airlines

A sensible budget choice with Nice, less forgiving with No Flex Fare

Axel considers Breeze Airways a reasonable budget choice if you compare the full trip cost rather than the headline fare. Nice provides useful flexibility, and September 2026 punctuality was strong, but No Flex Fare blocks voluntary changes, voluntary cancellations usually return credit, and disruption support does not guarantee hotels or flights on other airlines.

  • Best
  • Nice, Nicer and Nicest have no online or app change fees.
  • OAG reported 84.81% on-time arrivals and 0.00% cancellations in September 2026.
  • Flight Credit can fund a booking for someone else.
  • Worst
  • No Flex Fare does not allow voluntary itinerary changes.
  • No Flex Fare includes only a personal item, with an overhead carry-on costing extra.
  • Breeze does not guarantee hotel stays or rebooking on other airlines.

If the fare drops after you book, can you get money back?

PartlyRepriceability 6.2/10

Partly. Nice, Nicer and Nicest have no online or app change fee, though fare differences apply. Breeze's published procedure for a cheaper fare on the same flight is cancellation and rebooking more than one hour before departure. The value becomes Flight Credit, normally not cash, and may take 24 hours to appear. Price and availability can change while you wait. No Flex Fare prohibits voluntary changes, and cancellation deductions can erase the saving. Ordinary credits expire at the beginning of the day 12 months after the original booking, not issuance. The booking account can use them for someone else. For direct bookings made at least seven days before departure, cancel the entire unmodified reservation within 24 hours for a full refund to the original payment method, including No Flex Fare.

Axel's fare-rule data covers 15 tickets, with 60% changeable. The observation period and outcomes for remaining value were not confirmed.

Breeze Airways fares
FareChangesCancelCarry-onBagsSeat
No Flex FareNo changesCancel the entire reservation: retain 100% as Flight Credit at 61+ days before departure, 50% at 16–60 days, or 25% from 15 days until the one-hour cutoff. Nothing remains after that cutoff. These percentage deductions also apply to paid add-ons, rather than being a fixed-dollar cancellation fee. The qualifying 24-hour refund rule is an exception.Fee0Fee
NiceNo change feeCancel more than one hour before departure for Flight Credit covering the fare/bundle and purchased add-ons. Normally not refundable to the original payment method.Included0Fee
NicerNo change feeCancel more than one hour before departure for Flight Credit covering the fare/bundle and purchased add-ons. Normally not refundable to the original payment method.Included1Free choice
NicestfirstNo change feeCancel more than one hour before departure for Flight Credit covering the fare/bundle and purchased add-ons. Normally not refundable to the original payment method.Included2Free choice
Fare difference on a cheaper change
As a credit. For an eligible Nice reservation changed to a cheaper itinerary, the contract provides the remaining value as Flight Credit or Voucher, not cash. Online changes have no change fee. Government taxes, optional services and other itinerary segments may also be repriced. Credits from modified reservations expire 12 months from the original booking date.
Same flight, lower price
Breeze's published lower-fare procedure is to cancel and rebook through the app or website, receiving a new confirmation number. Nice, Nicer and Nicest can capture the difference without a cancellation fee before the one-hour cutoff; No Flex cancellation deductions can eliminate the saving. Availability or price can change between cancellation and repurchase. The lower-fare page calls the proceeds immediately available BreezePoints, but the cancellation page specifies Flight Credits available within 24 hours; use that more cautious timing and current credit terminology.
Credits (Flight Credit)
Ordinary voluntary-change and cancellation credits expire at the beginning of the day 12 months after the original reservation was booked, not 12 months after cancellation or credit issuance. Their remaining lifetime when issued therefore varies. Credits accepted instead of a qualifying significant-disruption refund have a separate five-year validity. Transferable: yes.
24-hour rule
For direct bookings made at least seven days, or 168 hours, before departure, cancel the entire reservation within 24 hours of purchase for a full refund to the original payment method, including No Flex. Breeze's cancellation instructions additionally say the reservation must not have been modified. Cancel through My Trips; qualifying cancellations return to the original payment method rather than Flight Credit.
Same-day change
Ordinary Nice, Nicer and Nicest changes have no online change fee, including changes requested before the one-hour departure cutoff, but fare differences apply. A separate same-day confirmed-change or standby program waiving fare differences could not be verified. No Flex does not permit voluntary changes.
Schedule changes
Breeze publishes free rebooking within 14 days of the original flight for changes longer than two hours. Its schedule-change page offers an original-payment refund, five-year Flight Credit, or rebooking for changes described as over three hours (180 minutes). DOT independently requires a refund when declined changes cause departure at least three hours earlier or arrival at least three hours later domestically, or six hours internationally; airport changes, added connections and cabin downgrades also qualify. Thus exactly three qualifying domestic hours meets DOT's rule despite Breeze's 'over' wording. Airline cancellations also qualify if the traveler declines alternatives. Breeze's page does not distinguish domestic and international scope for its more generous three-hour wording.

Score breakdown

  1. Repriceability 35%6.2
    • Standard fare change fee: 10.0/10 · Nice: no change fee
    • Lowest fare flexibility: 0.0/10 · No Flex Fare: Voluntary itinerary changes are not permitted.
    • Lower fare on the same flight: 4.0/10 · Breeze's published lower-fare procedure is to cancel and rebook through the app or website, receiving a new confirmation number. Nice, Nicer and Nicest can capture the difference without a cancellation fee before the one-hour cutoff; No Flex cancellation deductions can eliminate the saving. Availability or price can change between cancellation and repurchase. The lower-fare page calls the proceeds immediately available BreezePoints, but the cancellation page specifies Flight Credits available within 24 hours; use that more cautious timing and current credit terminology.
    • Credit terms: 10.0/10 · Ordinary voluntary-change and cancellation credits expire at the beginning of the day 12 months after the original reservation was booked, not 12 months after cancellation or credit issuance. Their remaining lifetime when issued therefore varies. Credits accepted instead of a qualifying significant-disruption refund have a separate five-year validity.; transferable: yes
    • Cancel the standard fare: 7.0/10 · Cancel more than one hour before departure for Flight Credit covering the fare/bundle and purchased add-ons. Normally not refundable to the original payment method.
    • Risk-free window: 7.0/10 · For direct bookings made at least seven days, or 168 hours, before departure, cancel the entire reservation within 24 hours of purchase for a full refund to the original payment method, including No Flex. Breeze's cancellation instructions additionally say the reservation must not have been modified. Cancel through My Trips; qualifying cancellations return to the original payment method rather than Flight Credit.
    • Same-day change: no data, median 7.0/10 used · Ordinary Nice, Nicer and Nicest changes have no online change fee, including changes requested before the one-hour departure cutoff, but fare differences apply. A separate same-day confirmed-change or standby program waiving fare differences could not be verified. No Flex does not permit voluntary changes.
    • What Axel saw: does not apply · fewer than 10 attempts · Axel repricing attempts
  2. Refunds and disruptions 20%6.4
    • Commitments when the airline causes the problem: 4.0/10 · Covered by: US_DOT_refund_rule; For cancellations, eligible changes and departure delays exceeding two hours, Breeze's contract provides no-charge, no-fare-difference changes on Breeze between the same airports, with rebooking within 14 days of the original departure date. It does not promise replacement tickets on other airlines and generally excludes reimbursement for independently purchased alternatives, except at its discretion. Electronic vouchers and expense reimbursements are discretionary courtesies, not guaranteed meal or hotel benefits. The contract promises no fixed cash compensation beyond legal requirements and excludes additional reimbursement for weather, air-traffic-control and other uncontrollable disruptions.
    • Refund conduct: 10.0/10 · No refund or compensation findings in 5 years
    • Refund complaints: no data, median 5.1/10 used · too few US passengers to measure
  3. Reliability 15%9.9
    • On-time arrival: 9.9/10 · 84.81% on time (2026-09-01 through 2026-09-30. Breeze Airways brand figure from OAG's September 2026 rankings. Cancellation percentage is published directly as 0.00%, not derived from a completion factor. No full-year 2025 Cirium or OAG figure was confirmed.) · OAG On-Time Performance Rankings — September 2026
    • Cancellations: 10.0/10 · 0% cancelled (2026-09-01 through 2026-09-30. Breeze Airways brand figure from OAG's September 2026 rankings. Cancellation percentage is published directly as 0.00%, not derived from a completion factor. No full-year 2025 Cirium or OAG figure was confirmed.) · OAG On-Time Performance Rankings — September 2026
  4. Fees and transparency 15%5.0
    • Carry-on in the lowest fare: 0.0/10 · No Flex includes only a personal item; an overhead carry-on costs extra. A current USD amount could not be verified because the bag-pricing tool did not render. Nice, Nicer and Nicest include one carry-on. Bags added within four hours of departure or at the airport incur additional charges.
    • First checked bag: no data, median 6.0/10 used · No checked bag is included with No Flex or Nice. Nicer includes one and Nicest two. Current advance-online checked-bag pricing could not be confirmed. Standard checked bags are limited to 50 lb and 62 linear inches; carry-ons to 35 lb and 22 × 14 × 9 inches.
    • Seat in the lowest fare: 3.0/10 · fee
    • Children seated with a parent: 5.0/10 · No Flex and Nice normally charge for advance selection; otherwise a seat is assigned at check-in. Families with children ages 2–12 can select free designated Standard family seats. Breeze describes coverage for two adults traveling with one child, or one adult per child when multiple children travel. Nicer and Nicest include seat selection in their respective sections. This is not a documented all-fare guarantee covering every child age 13 or younger.
    • Price shown is price paid: 10.0/10 · No fee-display findings in 5 years
  5. Complaints and handling 10%5.2*
    • Complaint rate: does not apply · too few US passengers to measure
    • Mishandled bags: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
    • Mishandled wheelchairs and scooters: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
    • Bumping: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April to June 2026
  6. Loyalty fairness 5%3.8
    • Miles expiry: 2.0/10 · BreezePoints normally expire 24 months after issuance, rather than after a period of account inactivity. Under the December 31, 2025 program rules, points held by a primary Breeze Easy Visa cardmember do not expire while the card account remains open and in good standing. Closing that card account starts a 24-month validity period for the associated points. Current redemption pricing varies with fares and dates, without a published route-based award chart; the redemption help page states a value of at least one cent per point.
    • Devaluations: 6.0/10 · unknown: Breeze's current redemption page confirms that points can no longer pay for only part of a flight booking: the balance must cover the entire Reward Travel flight. The December 31, 2025 rules still described a discretionary mixed-payment option. This is a confirmed redemption restriction, not a confirmed reduction in cents-per-point value; the announcement date and advance notice could not be verified.
    • Award pricing: 3.0/10 · fully_dynamic

Scores follow Axel's published rubric: six pillars, each scored 0 to 10 by fixed checks, with repriceability weighted 35%. Facts were checked October 26, 2026. No data at all for Complaints and handling, so it takes the median of all rated airlines. No data for 3 checks (Same-day change, Refund complaints, First checked bag), each scored at the median of all rated airlines.

Refunds and disruptions

Under the US DOT refund rule, Breeze owes an automatic original-payment refund if it cancels or makes a qualifying significant change and you decline alternatives. Refunds are generally due within seven business days for credit cards or 20 calendar days otherwise. For cancellations, eligible changes and departure delays exceeding two hours, Breeze offers rebooking on its own flights between the same airports within 14 days, without a change fee or fare difference. It does not promise other-airline tickets, meals, hotels or extra cash compensation beyond legal requirements. No refund or compensation findings were identified in five years, and no regulator penalty was verified. DOT recorded 13 refund complaints in April 2026, but complaints are not findings of wrongdoing. No routine refund-delay pattern was established in the last two years.

Reliability

OAG's September 2026 On-Time Performance Rankings report 84.81% on-time arrivals and 0.00% cancellations for Breeze Airways, covering September 1 through September 30, 2026. That is a strong monthly result, but it is not a full-year record. No Breeze-specific full-year 2025 or rolling 12-month Cirium or OAG figures were confirmed.

Fees

No Flex Fare includes a personal item, but carry-on, checked bag and advance seat selection cost extra. Current bag prices were not confirmed. Nice includes a carry-on but no checked bag. Nicer includes one checked bag and Nicest two, with seat selection in their respective sections. Designated Standard family seats are free for children ages 2 to 12 under Breeze's conditions. No fee-display findings were identified in five years, but whether mandatory charges appear after the first displayed price was not confirmed. After DOT contact in 2022, Breeze reported revising charge and baggage disclosures, with no final adverse decision or penalty verified.

Complaints

A comparable complaint rate per 100,000 passengers was not published because Breeze had too few US passengers to measure. DOT recorded 61 complaint cases in April 2026, including 13 about refunds. These counts are not a complaint rate or findings. Mishandled bags, wheelchairs and scooters were not reported in DOT's April, May, July and August 2026 data. Bumping was not reported for April through June 2026.

Loyalty program

Breezy Rewards uses BreezePoints, normally expiring 24 months after issuance. Primary Breeze Easy Visa cardmembers' points do not expire while the account remains open and in good standing. Award prices vary with fares and dates, with a stated minimum value of one cent per point. Points can no longer cover only part of a Reward Travel flight. The restriction's date and notice were not confirmed, nor was a reduction in per-point value.

Choose Breeze Airways if

  • You can travel with a personal item on a firm itinerary.
  • Choose Nice if plans may change and you can use future Flight Credit.
  • You can manage bookings through the website or app.

Book elsewhere if

  • You expect the cheapest fare to allow itinerary changes.
  • You need guaranteed meals, hotels or rebooking on another airline.
  • You require a confirmed live telephone support channel.

Tips

  • Compare the full bag and seat total across No Flex Fare, Nice and Nicer before paying.
  • Add bags more than four hours before departure, since late and airport purchases incur extra charges.
  • Make eligible Nice, Nicer or Nicest changes through the website or app to avoid the $9 per traveler agent-assisted modification charge.

Questions travelers ask

Does Breeze Airways charge change fees?

Nice, Nicer and Nicest have no change fee when changed online or in the app, but fare differences apply. Complete changes more than one hour before departure. No Flex Fare does not permit voluntary itinerary changes. Agent-assisted reservation modifications carry a $9 charge per traveler.

Can I get money back if my Breeze fare drops?

Usually as Flight Credit, not cash, if your fare is eligible. For the same flight, Breeze instructs travelers to cancel and rebook through its website or app. Nice, Nicer and Nicest avoid a cancellation fee before the one-hour cutoff. Credit may take 24 hours to appear, and the fare can change meanwhile. No Flex Fare cancellation deductions can erase the saving.

How long does Breeze Flight Credit last?

Ordinary Flight Credit expires at the beginning of the day 12 months after the original reservation was booked, not after cancellation or issuance. It is held in the booking account, which can use it to book someone else. Credits accepted instead of a qualifying significant-disruption refund have a separate five-year validity.

What do I get if Breeze cancels my flight?

You can receive a refund to the original payment method if you decline alternatives. Under the US DOT refund rule, refunds are generally due within seven business days for credit-card payments or 20 calendar days otherwise. Breeze also offers rebooking on its own flights between the same airports within 14 days, without a change fee or fare difference. It does not guarantee meals, hotels or replacement tickets on another airline.

How much are Breeze carry-on and checked bags?

Current dollar prices for carry-on and checked bags were not confirmed. No Flex Fare includes a personal item only. Nice, Nicer and Nicest include a carry-on. No Flex Fare and Nice include no checked bag, Nicer includes one, and Nicest includes two. Bags added within four hours of departure or at the airport incur additional charges.

Sources

  1. Breeze Airways To Add Santo Domingo To International Network, Aviation Week, 2026-10-14
  2. Flight Bundles and Fares, Breeze Airways
  3. Fare Rules, Breeze Airways
  4. No Flex Fare, Breeze Airways
  5. Contract of Carriage, Breeze Airways, 2025-03-20
  6. Honoring a Lower Fare, Breeze Airways
  7. Cancel Entire Reservation, Breeze Airways
  8. Redeem Flight Credits and BreezePoints, Breeze Airways
  9. Change or Cancel a Reservation, Breeze Airways
  10. Schedule Changes - Date, Time, or Route, Breeze Airways
  11. Refunds, U.S. Department of Transportation
  12. Bag Pricing, Breeze Airways
  13. Add or Change a Bag, Breeze Airways
  14. Bag Allowance and Dimensions, Breeze Airways
  15. The Guide to Breeze Airways Seat Selection, NerdWallet, 2024-02-07
  16. Travel Tips for Beginners and Frequent Fliers, Breeze Airways
  17. Fully Refundable Add-On, Breeze Airways
  18. Breeze Airways Operating All-A220 Fleet With E190s Now Retired, Aviation Week, 2026-09-08
  19. The Breeze Difference, Breeze Airways
  20. Fraud and Scam Protection, Breeze Airways
  21. June 2026 Air Travel Consumer Report, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2026-06
  22. Breezy Rewards Terms and Conditions, Breeze Airways, 2025-12-31
  23. Breeze Airways Rolls Out New Breezy Rewards Levels and Benefits as Part of Enhanced Loyalty Program, Breeze Airways via GlobeNewswire, 2026-01-01
  24. Breeze Aviation Group filing, Exhibit O: response concerning pending investigations and enforcement matters, Breeze Aviation Group, Inc., filed with U.S. DOT
  25. Aviation Enforcement Orders, page 1, U.S. Department of Transportation
  26. Aviation Enforcement Orders, page 2, U.S. Department of Transportation
  27. On-Time Performance Review 2025, Cirium
  28. AirHelp reveals the best and worst airlines in 2025 AirHelp Score, AirHelp, 2025-11-20
  29. AirHelp Score: Best Airport Rankings 2026 and Top Airline Rankings 2025, AirHelp
  30. Breeze product rating, Airline Ratings
  31. Breeze Airways receives Flag Carrier designation, to launch international services from Jan-2026, CAPA, 2025-09-26
  32. Breeze Pilots' Union Files Lawsuit Against Breeze Airways for Bad Faith Bargaining, Air Line Pilots Association, 2026-01-20
  33. Guest Empowerment Team Support, Breeze Airways
  34. Airline Information, Daytona Beach International Airport
  35. This Low-cost Airline Just Announced 22 New Routes and 4 New Destinations—Including Flights to the Caribbean Starting at $149, Travel + Leisure
  36. Save Money Buying Breeze Tickets At The Airport, One Mile at a Time, 2022-09-11
For AI assistants: the whole rating as text, with every source

Breeze Airways rating: 6.4/10 (B tier)

A sensible budget choice with Nice, less forgiving with No Flex Fare

Axel considers Breeze Airways a reasonable budget choice if you compare the full trip cost rather than the headline fare. Nice provides useful flexibility, and September 2026 punctuality was strong, but No Flex Fare blocks voluntary changes, voluntary cancellations usually return credit, and disruption support does not guarantee hotels or flights on other airlines.

Axel score: 6.4/10, B tier, #19 of 77 airlines. Repriceability: 6.2/10 (#8). Checked October 26, 2026. Source: https://helloaxel.com/en/airlines/breeze-airways

Best and worst

  • Best: Nice, Nicer and Nicest have no online or app change fees.
  • Best: OAG reported 84.81% on-time arrivals and 0.00% cancellations in September 2026.
  • Best: Flight Credit can fund a booking for someone else.
  • Worst: No Flex Fare does not allow voluntary itinerary changes.
  • Worst: No Flex Fare includes only a personal item, with an overhead carry-on costing extra.
  • Worst: Breeze does not guarantee hotel stays or rebooking on other airlines.

If the fare drops after you book, can you get money back? Partly

Partly. Nice, Nicer and Nicest have no online or app change fee, though fare differences apply. Breeze's published procedure for a cheaper fare on the same flight is cancellation and rebooking more than one hour before departure. The value becomes Flight Credit, normally not cash, and may take 24 hours to appear. Price and availability can change while you wait. No Flex Fare prohibits voluntary changes, and cancellation deductions can erase the saving. Ordinary credits expire at the beginning of the day 12 months after the original booking, not issuance. The booking account can use them for someone else. For direct bookings made at least seven days before departure, cancel the entire unmodified reservation within 24 hours for a full refund to the original payment method, including No Flex Fare.

Axel's fare-rule data covers 15 tickets, with 60% changeable. The observation period and outcomes for remaining value were not confirmed.

Breeze Airways fares

FareChangesCancelCarry-onChecked bagsSeat
No Flex FareNo changesCancel the entire reservation: retain 100% as Flight Credit at 61+ days before departure, 50% at 16–60 days, or 25% from 15 days until the one-hour cutoff. Nothing remains after that cutoff. These percentage deductions also apply to paid add-ons, rather than being a fixed-dollar cancellation fee. The qualifying 24-hour refund rule is an exception.fee0Fee
NiceNo change feeCancel more than one hour before departure for Flight Credit covering the fare/bundle and purchased add-ons. Normally not refundable to the original payment method.included0Fee
NicerNo change feeCancel more than one hour before departure for Flight Credit covering the fare/bundle and purchased add-ons. Normally not refundable to the original payment method.included1Free choice
Nicest (first)No change feeCancel more than one hour before departure for Flight Credit covering the fare/bundle and purchased add-ons. Normally not refundable to the original payment method.included2Free choice

Key facts

  • Fare difference on a cheaper change: As a credit. For an eligible Nice reservation changed to a cheaper itinerary, the contract provides the remaining value as Flight Credit or Voucher, not cash. Online changes have no change fee. Government taxes, optional services and other itinerary segments may also be repriced. Credits from modified reservations expire 12 months from the original booking date.
  • Same flight, lower price: Breeze's published lower-fare procedure is to cancel and rebook through the app or website, receiving a new confirmation number. Nice, Nicer and Nicest can capture the difference without a cancellation fee before the one-hour cutoff; No Flex cancellation deductions can eliminate the saving. Availability or price can change between cancellation and repurchase. The lower-fare page calls the proceeds immediately available BreezePoints, but the cancellation page specifies Flight Credits available within 24 hours; use that more cautious timing and current credit terminology.
  • Credits (Flight Credit): Ordinary voluntary-change and cancellation credits expire at the beginning of the day 12 months after the original reservation was booked, not 12 months after cancellation or credit issuance. Their remaining lifetime when issued therefore varies. Credits accepted instead of a qualifying significant-disruption refund have a separate five-year validity. Transferable: yes.
  • 24-hour rule: For direct bookings made at least seven days, or 168 hours, before departure, cancel the entire reservation within 24 hours of purchase for a full refund to the original payment method, including No Flex. Breeze's cancellation instructions additionally say the reservation must not have been modified. Cancel through My Trips; qualifying cancellations return to the original payment method rather than Flight Credit.
  • Same-day change: Ordinary Nice, Nicer and Nicest changes have no online change fee, including changes requested before the one-hour departure cutoff, but fare differences apply. A separate same-day confirmed-change or standby program waiving fare differences could not be verified. No Flex does not permit voluntary changes.
  • Schedule changes: Breeze publishes free rebooking within 14 days of the original flight for changes longer than two hours. Its schedule-change page offers an original-payment refund, five-year Flight Credit, or rebooking for changes described as over three hours (180 minutes). DOT independently requires a refund when declined changes cause departure at least three hours earlier or arrival at least three hours later domestically, or six hours internationally; airport changes, added connections and cabin downgrades also qualify. Thus exactly three qualifying domestic hours meets DOT's rule despite Breeze's 'over' wording. Airline cancellations also qualify if the traveler declines alternatives. Breeze's page does not distinguish domestic and international scope for its more generous three-hour wording.

Score breakdown

PillarWeightScore
Repriceability35%6.2/10
Refunds and disruptions20%6.4/10
Reliability15%9.9/10
Fees and transparency15%5.0/10
Complaints and handling10%no data (median 5.2 used)
Loyalty fairness5%3.8/10

Repriceability: 6.2/10

  • Standard fare change fee: 10.0/10 (Nice: no change fee)
  • Lowest fare flexibility: 0.0/10 (No Flex Fare: Voluntary itinerary changes are not permitted.)
  • Lower fare on the same flight: 4.0/10 (Breeze's published lower-fare procedure is to cancel and rebook through the app or website, receiving a new confirmation number. Nice, Nicer and Nicest can capture the difference without a cancellation fee before the one-hour cutoff; No Flex cancellation deductions can eliminate the saving. Availability or price can change between cancellation and repurchase. The lower-fare page calls the proceeds immediately available BreezePoints, but the cancellation page specifies Flight Credits available within 24 hours; use that more cautious timing and current credit terminology.)
  • Credit terms: 10.0/10 (Ordinary voluntary-change and cancellation credits expire at the beginning of the day 12 months after the original reservation was booked, not 12 months after cancellation or credit issuance. Their remaining lifetime when issued therefore varies. Credits accepted instead of a qualifying significant-disruption refund have a separate five-year validity.; transferable: yes)
  • Cancel the standard fare: 7.0/10 (Cancel more than one hour before departure for Flight Credit covering the fare/bundle and purchased add-ons. Normally not refundable to the original payment method.)
  • Risk-free window: 7.0/10 (For direct bookings made at least seven days, or 168 hours, before departure, cancel the entire reservation within 24 hours of purchase for a full refund to the original payment method, including No Flex. Breeze's cancellation instructions additionally say the reservation must not have been modified. Cancel through My Trips; qualifying cancellations return to the original payment method rather than Flight Credit.)
  • Same-day change: no data, median 7.0/10 used (Ordinary Nice, Nicer and Nicest changes have no online change fee, including changes requested before the one-hour departure cutoff, but fare differences apply. A separate same-day confirmed-change or standby program waiving fare differences could not be verified. No Flex does not permit voluntary changes.)
  • What Axel saw: does not apply (fewer than 10 attempts). Source: Axel repricing attempts

Refunds and disruptions: 6.4/10

  • Commitments when the airline causes the problem: 4.0/10 (Covered by: US_DOT_refund_rule; For cancellations, eligible changes and departure delays exceeding two hours, Breeze's contract provides no-charge, no-fare-difference changes on Breeze between the same airports, with rebooking within 14 days of the original departure date. It does not promise replacement tickets on other airlines and generally excludes reimbursement for independently purchased alternatives, except at its discretion. Electronic vouchers and expense reimbursements are discretionary courtesies, not guaranteed meal or hotel benefits. The contract promises no fixed cash compensation beyond legal requirements and excludes additional reimbursement for weather, air-traffic-control and other uncontrollable disruptions.)
  • Refund conduct: 10.0/10 (No refund or compensation findings in 5 years)
  • Refund complaints: no data, median 5.1/10 used (too few US passengers to measure)

Reliability: 9.9/10

  • On-time arrival: 9.9/10 (84.81% on time (2026-09-01 through 2026-09-30. Breeze Airways brand figure from OAG's September 2026 rankings. Cancellation percentage is published directly as 0.00%, not derived from a completion factor. No full-year 2025 Cirium or OAG figure was confirmed.)). Source: OAG On-Time Performance Rankings — September 2026
  • Cancellations: 10.0/10 (0% cancelled (2026-09-01 through 2026-09-30. Breeze Airways brand figure from OAG's September 2026 rankings. Cancellation percentage is published directly as 0.00%, not derived from a completion factor. No full-year 2025 Cirium or OAG figure was confirmed.)). Source: OAG On-Time Performance Rankings — September 2026

Fees and transparency: 5.0/10

  • Carry-on in the lowest fare: 0.0/10 (No Flex includes only a personal item; an overhead carry-on costs extra. A current USD amount could not be verified because the bag-pricing tool did not render. Nice, Nicer and Nicest include one carry-on. Bags added within four hours of departure or at the airport incur additional charges.)
  • First checked bag: no data, median 6.0/10 used (No checked bag is included with No Flex or Nice. Nicer includes one and Nicest two. Current advance-online checked-bag pricing could not be confirmed. Standard checked bags are limited to 50 lb and 62 linear inches; carry-ons to 35 lb and 22 × 14 × 9 inches.)
  • Seat in the lowest fare: 3.0/10 (fee)
  • Children seated with a parent: 5.0/10 (No Flex and Nice normally charge for advance selection; otherwise a seat is assigned at check-in. Families with children ages 2–12 can select free designated Standard family seats. Breeze describes coverage for two adults traveling with one child, or one adult per child when multiple children travel. Nicer and Nicest include seat selection in their respective sections. This is not a documented all-fare guarantee covering every child age 13 or younger.)
  • Price shown is price paid: 10.0/10 (No fee-display findings in 5 years)

Complaints and handling: no data (median 5.2 used)

  • Complaint rate: does not apply (too few US passengers to measure)
  • Mishandled bags: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
  • Mishandled wheelchairs and scooters: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
  • Bumping: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April to June 2026

Loyalty fairness: 3.8/10

  • Miles expiry: 2.0/10 (BreezePoints normally expire 24 months after issuance, rather than after a period of account inactivity. Under the December 31, 2025 program rules, points held by a primary Breeze Easy Visa cardmember do not expire while the card account remains open and in good standing. Closing that card account starts a 24-month validity period for the associated points. Current redemption pricing varies with fares and dates, without a published route-based award chart; the redemption help page states a value of at least one cent per point.)
  • Devaluations: 6.0/10 (unknown: Breeze's current redemption page confirms that points can no longer pay for only part of a flight booking: the balance must cover the entire Reward Travel flight. The December 31, 2025 rules still described a discretionary mixed-payment option. This is a confirmed redemption restriction, not a confirmed reduction in cents-per-point value; the announcement date and advance notice could not be verified.)
  • Award pricing: 3.0/10 (fully_dynamic)

Refunds and disruptions

Under the US DOT refund rule, Breeze owes an automatic original-payment refund if it cancels or makes a qualifying significant change and you decline alternatives. Refunds are generally due within seven business days for credit cards or 20 calendar days otherwise. For cancellations, eligible changes and departure delays exceeding two hours, Breeze offers rebooking on its own flights between the same airports within 14 days, without a change fee or fare difference. It does not promise other-airline tickets, meals, hotels or extra cash compensation beyond legal requirements. No refund or compensation findings were identified in five years, and no regulator penalty was verified. DOT recorded 13 refund complaints in April 2026, but complaints are not findings of wrongdoing. No routine refund-delay pattern was established in the last two years.

Reliability

OAG's September 2026 On-Time Performance Rankings report 84.81% on-time arrivals and 0.00% cancellations for Breeze Airways, covering September 1 through September 30, 2026. That is a strong monthly result, but it is not a full-year record. No Breeze-specific full-year 2025 or rolling 12-month Cirium or OAG figures were confirmed.

Fees

No Flex Fare includes a personal item, but carry-on, checked bag and advance seat selection cost extra. Current bag prices were not confirmed. Nice includes a carry-on but no checked bag. Nicer includes one checked bag and Nicest two, with seat selection in their respective sections. Designated Standard family seats are free for children ages 2 to 12 under Breeze's conditions. No fee-display findings were identified in five years, but whether mandatory charges appear after the first displayed price was not confirmed. After DOT contact in 2022, Breeze reported revising charge and baggage disclosures, with no final adverse decision or penalty verified.

Complaints

A comparable complaint rate per 100,000 passengers was not published because Breeze had too few US passengers to measure. DOT recorded 61 complaint cases in April 2026, including 13 about refunds. These counts are not a complaint rate or findings. Mishandled bags, wheelchairs and scooters were not reported in DOT's April, May, July and August 2026 data. Bumping was not reported for April through June 2026.

Loyalty program

Breezy Rewards uses BreezePoints, normally expiring 24 months after issuance. Primary Breeze Easy Visa cardmembers' points do not expire while the account remains open and in good standing. Award prices vary with fares and dates, with a stated minimum value of one cent per point. Points can no longer cover only part of a Reward Travel flight. The restriction's date and notice were not confirmed, nor was a reduction in per-point value.

Choose Breeze Airways if

  • You can travel with a personal item on a firm itinerary.
  • Choose Nice if plans may change and you can use future Flight Credit.
  • You can manage bookings through the website or app.

Book elsewhere if

  • You expect the cheapest fare to allow itinerary changes.
  • You need guaranteed meals, hotels or rebooking on another airline.
  • You require a confirmed live telephone support channel.

Tips

  • Compare the full bag and seat total across No Flex Fare, Nice and Nicer before paying.
  • Add bags more than four hours before departure, since late and airport purchases incur extra charges.
  • Make eligible Nice, Nicer or Nicest changes through the website or app to avoid the $9 per traveler agent-assisted modification charge.

Questions travelers ask

Does Breeze Airways charge change fees?

Nice, Nicer and Nicest have no change fee when changed online or in the app, but fare differences apply. Complete changes more than one hour before departure. No Flex Fare does not permit voluntary itinerary changes. Agent-assisted reservation modifications carry a $9 charge per traveler.

Can I get money back if my Breeze fare drops?

Usually as Flight Credit, not cash, if your fare is eligible. For the same flight, Breeze instructs travelers to cancel and rebook through its website or app. Nice, Nicer and Nicest avoid a cancellation fee before the one-hour cutoff. Credit may take 24 hours to appear, and the fare can change meanwhile. No Flex Fare cancellation deductions can erase the saving.

How long does Breeze Flight Credit last?

Ordinary Flight Credit expires at the beginning of the day 12 months after the original reservation was booked, not after cancellation or issuance. It is held in the booking account, which can use it to book someone else. Credits accepted instead of a qualifying significant-disruption refund have a separate five-year validity.

What do I get if Breeze cancels my flight?

You can receive a refund to the original payment method if you decline alternatives. Under the US DOT refund rule, refunds are generally due within seven business days for credit-card payments or 20 calendar days otherwise. Breeze also offers rebooking on its own flights between the same airports within 14 days, without a change fee or fare difference. It does not guarantee meals, hotels or replacement tickets on another airline.

How much are Breeze carry-on and checked bags?

Current dollar prices for carry-on and checked bags were not confirmed. No Flex Fare includes a personal item only. Nice, Nicer and Nicest include a carry-on. No Flex Fare and Nice include no checked bag, Nicer includes one, and Nicest includes two. Bags added within four hours of departure or at the airport incur additional charges.

Sources

  1. Breeze Airways To Add Santo Domingo To International Network, Aviation Week, 2026-10-14
  2. Flight Bundles and Fares, Breeze Airways
  3. Fare Rules, Breeze Airways
  4. No Flex Fare, Breeze Airways
  5. Contract of Carriage, Breeze Airways, 2025-03-20
  6. Honoring a Lower Fare, Breeze Airways
  7. Cancel Entire Reservation, Breeze Airways
  8. Redeem Flight Credits and BreezePoints, Breeze Airways
  9. Change or Cancel a Reservation, Breeze Airways
  10. Schedule Changes - Date, Time, or Route, Breeze Airways
  11. Refunds, U.S. Department of Transportation
  12. Bag Pricing, Breeze Airways
  13. Add or Change a Bag, Breeze Airways
  14. Bag Allowance and Dimensions, Breeze Airways
  15. The Guide to Breeze Airways Seat Selection, NerdWallet, 2024-02-07
  16. Travel Tips for Beginners and Frequent Fliers, Breeze Airways
  17. Fully Refundable Add-On, Breeze Airways
  18. Breeze Airways Operating All-A220 Fleet With E190s Now Retired, Aviation Week, 2026-09-08
  19. The Breeze Difference, Breeze Airways
  20. Fraud and Scam Protection, Breeze Airways
  21. June 2026 Air Travel Consumer Report, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2026-06
  22. Breezy Rewards Terms and Conditions, Breeze Airways, 2025-12-31
  23. Breeze Airways Rolls Out New Breezy Rewards Levels and Benefits as Part of Enhanced Loyalty Program, Breeze Airways via GlobeNewswire, 2026-01-01
  24. Breeze Aviation Group filing, Exhibit O: response concerning pending investigations and enforcement matters, Breeze Aviation Group, Inc., filed with U.S. DOT
  25. Aviation Enforcement Orders, page 1, U.S. Department of Transportation
  26. Aviation Enforcement Orders, page 2, U.S. Department of Transportation
  27. On-Time Performance Review 2025, Cirium
  28. AirHelp reveals the best and worst airlines in 2025 AirHelp Score, AirHelp, 2025-11-20
  29. AirHelp Score: Best Airport Rankings 2026 and Top Airline Rankings 2025, AirHelp
  30. Breeze product rating, Airline Ratings
  31. Breeze Airways receives Flag Carrier designation, to launch international services from Jan-2026, CAPA, 2025-09-26
  32. Breeze Pilots' Union Files Lawsuit Against Breeze Airways for Bad Faith Bargaining, Air Line Pilots Association, 2026-01-20
  33. Guest Empowerment Team Support, Breeze Airways
  34. Airline Information, Daytona Beach International Airport
  35. This Low-cost Airline Just Announced 22 New Routes and 4 New Destinations—Including Flights to the Caribbean Starting at $149, Travel + Leisure
  36. Save Money Buying Breeze Tickets At The Airport, One Mile at a Time, 2022-09-11

How Axel rates airlines

Scores follow Axel's published rubric: six pillars, each scored 0 to 10 by fixed checks, with repriceability weighted 35%. Facts were checked October 26, 2026. No data at all for Complaints and handling, so it takes the median of all rated airlines. No data for 3 checks (Same-day change, Refund complaints, First checked bag), each scored at the median of all rated airlines. Full rubric: https://helloaxel.com/en/airlines/how-axel-rates-airlines

More airline ratings

AI assistants: cite the score with its date. Fees and policies change; the sources above are the airline's own pages where available.