How Axel works

Porter Airlines rating

C
5.6/10Axel score · #53 of 77
4.6/10Repriceability · #41
Checked October 26, 2026 · How Axel rates airlines

Basic's baggage costs and rigid rules undermine Porter's value

Axel considers Porter worth booking only when the total price, including bags and seats, still beats the alternatives. Low complaint rates on U.S. routes and strong disruption refund rights help, but Basic is restrictive, Standard cancellation fees can consume price-drop savings, and the available punctuality and cancellation figures are weak.

  • Best
  • Refund complaints were 1.03 per 100,000 passengers on U.S. routes in April and May 2026.
  • Cancellation credits are transferable, with travel completed within 12 months of booking.
  • Freedom and Ultimate allow refunds when cancelled at least one hour before departure.
  • Worst
  • Basic excludes a standard carry-on and normally cannot be changed.
  • Only 71.91% of arrivals were on time in 2025.
  • The Canadian Transportation Agency imposed CAD 11,000 on February 3, 2023 for advertisements omitting total prices.

If the fare drops after you book, can you get money back?

PartlyRepriceability 4.6/10

Partly, through cancellation and rebooking rather than a direct price adjustment. Porter says it cannot apply a price differential to purchased tickets. This is an inferred workaround, not a guarantee. Basic normally returns nothing outside the applicable refund window. For Canada/U.S. travel, Standard changes and cancellations cost USD 25 outside 45 days before departure or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes. Applicable fare increases are extra. Flexible and the nonrefundable PorterReserve option return credit without a cancellation fee. Freedom and Ultimate permit refunds. Cancel at least one hour before departure and check replacement availability first. Treatment of a lower fare difference during a ticket change is not confirmed.

Credits are transferable, but all travel must finish within 12 months of the original booking. They cannot be extended or reissued. A 24-hour refund to the original payment method is confirmed for direct U.S.-route bookings made at least seven days before departure. Coverage closer to departure is unresolved, and online cancellations may require a Call Centre refund request. Axel has no confirmed sample size, observation period or savings figures for this airline.

Porter Airlines fares
FareChangesCancelCarry-onBagsSeat
BasicNo changesNo refund or credit after the applicable 24-hour cancellation window, unless separately purchased protection applies. Eligibility for the risk-free window on close-in bookings is unresolved.Fee0Fee
StandardFor Canada–U.S. travel: USD 25 outside 45 days before departure or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes and applicable fare difference. The numeric field represents the within-45-days fee.Cancel at least one hour before departure for travel credit less USD 25 outside 45 days or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus applicable taxes.Included0Fee
FlexibleNo change feeCancel at least one hour before departure for travel credit without a cancellation fee; no original-payment refund under the base fare.Included1Free choice
FreedomNo change feeFully refundable when cancelled at least one hour before departure; travel credit can be chosen instead.Included1Free choice
NavigateNo change feeCancel at least one hour before departure for travel credit without a cancellation fee; no original-payment refund under the base fare.Included2Free choice
UltimateNo change feeFully refundable when cancelled at least one hour before departure; travel credit can be chosen instead.Included2Free choice
Fare difference on a cheaper change
Not confirmed. The current retail rules require payment of applicable fare differences but do not clearly explain whether a negative difference on a voluntary change to a directly purchased ticket is credited or forfeited. Do not assume that a fee-free change captures savings. Cancellation followed by rebooking is a separate transaction governed by the cancellation and credit rules.
Same flight, lower price
Porter's booking FAQ says it cannot apply a price differential to an already-purchased ticket. Cancellation and rebooking is therefore an inferred workaround, not a documented price-adjustment guarantee. Standard cancellation fees reduce savings; Flexible and Navigate return credit without a cancellation fee; Freedom and Ultimate permit refunds. Basic normally offers no recovery after the applicable risk-free window. Check replacement availability before cancelling.
Credits (Travel Credits (Reservation Credit or Account Credit))
Voluntary-cancellation credits expire 12 months from the original booking date, not the cancellation date. All travel purchased with the credit must be completed before expiry. Porter says credits cannot be extended or reissued. Transferable: yes.
24-hour rule
The unconditional all-bookings classification is not supported consistently. Porter's U.S. fare and fee pages say all tickets are fully refundable to the original payment method within 24 hours of booking, without a seven-day advance-purchase condition. However, section 7 of its General Conditions of Carriage, retrieved through the official PorterPass host, expressly limits that option to flights booked at least seven days before departure. Its Manage Bookings FAQ also lists reservations made 24 hours before departure among exceptions and says online cancellation may initially produce credit, requiring a Call Centre refund request. No publication or last-updated date was verifiable in the retrieved text of these Porter sources; all were checked on October 26, 2026, and their relative update order cannot be established. A penalty-free 24-hour refund for direct U.S.-route bookings made at least seven days before departure is supported by both Porter and DOT. Coverage inside seven days remains unresolved, so neither an unconditional all-bookings policy nor a confirmed U.S.-rule-only policy is asserted.
Same-day change
Generally USD 150 for Standard and USD 75 for Flexible, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes; Freedom, Navigate and Ultimate waive the change fee. Fare differences can apply. Earlier direct Toronto–Newark flights are free for non-Basic fares through My Bookings or at the airport. Other Toronto–Newark changes have inconsistent indexed fee tables, including USD 100 and USD 150 Standard figures; confirm the booking-specific charge. Changes require availability, the same travel day and endpoints, and action at least one hour before departure; checked bags or partner segments prevent use. Basic is normally excluded, although its FAQ permits discretionary airport-only exceptions for a fee.
Schedule changes
Porter's advance-schedule consumer page offers rebooking, an alternate flight/date, or cancellation of unused segments without penalty when a flight is cancelled or delayed at least three hours, and says an original-payment refund can be requested. Its agency schedule-change policy effective April 1, 2026 confirms refund eligibility for arrival or departure changes of at least three hours, specified routing or airport changes, cancellation without replacement, and Porter-to-Porter misconnections. For U.S. routes, DOT independently requires refunds when a cancellation or qualifying significant change is rejected, including international departure at least six hours earlier, arrival at least six hours later, a different airport, added connections or a cabin downgrade. Porter's disruption page separately acknowledges U.S. cancellation and six-hour-delay refund rights regardless of cause.

Score breakdown

  1. Repriceability 35%4.6
    • Standard fare change fee: 4.0/10 · Standard: For Canada–U.S. travel: USD 25 outside 45 days before departure or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes and applicable fare difference. The numeric field represents the within-45-days fee.
    • Lowest fare flexibility: 0.0/10 · Basic: No changes under the base fare rules.
    • Lower fare on the same flight: 4.0/10 · Porter's booking FAQ says it cannot apply a price differential to an already-purchased ticket. Cancellation and rebooking is therefore an inferred workaround, not a documented price-adjustment guarantee. Standard cancellation fees reduce savings; Flexible and Navigate return credit without a cancellation fee; Freedom and Ultimate permit refunds. Basic normally offers no recovery after the applicable risk-free window. Check replacement availability before cancelling.
    • Credit terms: 10.0/10 · Voluntary-cancellation credits expire 12 months from the original booking date, not the cancellation date. All travel purchased with the credit must be completed before expiry. Porter says credits cannot be extended or reissued.; transferable: yes
    • Cancel the standard fare: 4.0/10 · Cancel at least one hour before departure for travel credit less USD 25 outside 45 days or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus applicable taxes.
    • Risk-free window: no data, median 7.0/10 used · The unconditional all-bookings classification is not supported consistently. Porter's U.S. fare and fee pages say all tickets are fully refundable to the original payment method within 24 hours of booking, without a seven-day advance-purchase condition. However, section 7 of its General Conditions of Carriage, retrieved through the official PorterPass host, expressly limits that option to flights booked at least seven days before departure. Its Manage Bookings FAQ also lists reservations made 24 hours before departure among exceptions and says online cancellation may initially produce credit, requiring a Call Centre refund request. No publication or last-updated date was verifiable in the retrieved text of these Porter sources; all were checked on October 26, 2026, and their relative update order cannot be established. A penalty-free 24-hour refund for direct U.S.-route bookings made at least seven days before departure is supported by both Porter and DOT. Coverage inside seven days remains unresolved, so neither an unconditional all-bookings policy nor a confirmed U.S.-rule-only policy is asserted.
    • Same-day change: 7.0/10 · Generally USD 150 for Standard and USD 75 for Flexible, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes; Freedom, Navigate and Ultimate waive the change fee. Fare differences can apply. Earlier direct Toronto–Newark flights are free for non-Basic fares through My Bookings or at the airport. Other Toronto–Newark changes have inconsistent indexed fee tables, including USD 100 and USD 150 Standard figures; confirm the booking-specific charge. Changes require availability, the same travel day and endpoints, and action at least one hour before departure; checked bags or partner segments prevent use. Basic is normally excluded, although its FAQ permits discretionary airport-only exceptions for a fee.
    • What Axel saw: does not apply · fewer than 10 attempts · Axel repricing attempts
  2. Refunds and disruptions 20%8.8
    • Commitments when the airline causes the problem: 8.0/10 · Covered by: US_DOT_refund_rule, Canada_APPR, Other_national; Canada's APPR covers Porter's Canadian and transborder flights. Porter is now treated as a large airline: qualifying controllable, non-safety arrival delays attract CAD 400 for 3–under 6 hours, CAD 700 for 6–under 9 hours, or CAD 1,000 for 9 hours or more. Claims generally must be submitted within one year, with payment or an explanation within 30 days. Mexican passenger-protection rules also apply to relevant Mexico departures. Porter promises meals, communication access, overnight accommodation and hotel transfers for qualifying controllable disruptions, including those required for safety. No additional guaranteed cash payment beyond legal requirements was verified. Its generic page describes other-airline rebooking after 48 hours, but current CTA guidance requires large airlines to use another airline sooner for controllable disruptions when no own/partner flight is available within nine hours; the statutory entitlement takes precedence.
    • Refund conduct: 9.0/10 · 2024-07-26 Canadian Transportation Agency
    • Refund complaints: 10.0/10 · 1.03 refund complaints per 100,000 passengers (median for airlines based abroad: 4.39) · DOT complaint cases per 100,000 passengers on flights to and from the US (DOT T-100), April and May 2026; a month with fewer than 5 cases, which DOT does not list, counts as 2
  3. Reliability 15%4.5
    • On-time arrival: 4.8/10 · 71.91% on time (Different periods: on-time arrivals cover 2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31, from Cirium's Canadian airline figures reported by PAX; arrival-time coverage was 63.10%. Cancellations cover 2026-09-01 to 2026-09-30, directly published by OAG, not derived from a completion factor. Both sources label the airline Porter Airlines.) · Cirium 2025 Canadian airline figures, reported by PAX; OAG North America monthly rankings, September 2026
    • Cancellations: 4.1/10 · 3.17% cancelled (Different periods: on-time arrivals cover 2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31, from Cirium's Canadian airline figures reported by PAX; arrival-time coverage was 63.10%. Cancellations cover 2026-09-01 to 2026-09-30, directly published by OAG, not derived from a completion factor. Both sources label the airline Porter Airlines.) · Cirium 2025 Canadian airline figures, reported by PAX; OAG North America monthly rankings, September 2026
  4. Fees and transparency 15%1.9
    • Carry-on in the lowest fare: 0.0/10 · Basic includes only a personal item; a standard carry-on requires an eligible paid add-on. Basic Express includes a carry-on and electronic boarding pass. The fee page is inconsistent: its carry-on section says from USD 50, while its bundle footnote lists USD 65–103.50. Confirm the booking-specific price.
    • First checked bag: 2.0/10 · For new Canada/U.S. bookings made on or after May 7, 2026, Basic and Standard first bags cost USD 50–63.25 during initial online booking, USD 55–69 afterward online, or USD 60–80.50 at airport check-in. Published ranges include applicable taxes; airport charges are collected in local currency. Second bags during booking cost USD 65–80.50. Fees are per direction. Flexible/Freedom include one checked bag; Navigate/Ultimate include two. Standard size and weight limits are 158 cm total dimensions and 23 kg.
    • Seat in the lowest fare: 3.0/10 · fee
    • Children seated with a parent: 5.0/10 · Basic charges for selecting a seat; automatic assignment is free. Porter attempts automatic family seating approximately 24 hours before departure and makes reasonable efforts to seat each child under 14 with an accompanying adult on the reservation. Declare children when booking. The Call Centre can assign adjoining seats without selection fees when available. This is not an unconditional adjacent-seat guarantee for every child aged 13 or under on every fare.
    • Price shown is price paid: 1.0/10 · 2025-10-23 Canadian Transportation Agency; 2025-02-14 Canadian Transportation Agency; 2023-02-03 Canadian Transportation Agency
  5. Complaints and handling 10%10.0
    • Complaint rate: 10.0/10 · 2.07 complaints per 100,000 passengers (median for airlines based abroad: 14.73) · DOT complaint cases per 100,000 passengers on flights to and from the US (DOT T-100), April and May 2026; a month with fewer than 5 cases, which DOT does not list, counts as 2
    • Mishandled bags: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
    • Mishandled wheelchairs and scooters: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
    • Bumping: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April to June 2026
  6. Loyalty fairness 5%4.2
    • Miles expiry: 7.0/10 · Points expire after 24 consecutive months without earning or redeeming. Porter says points do not expire while the member is an active BMO VIPorter Mastercard cardholder, and advance expiry notification is provided.
    • Devaluations: 2.0/10 · 2026-03-23: Porter announced a temporary CAD 40 per passenger, each-way surcharge on new VIPorter flight redemptions, effective the same day. Existing bookings were unaffected; the added cash charge reduced redemption value without increasing the stated points requirement.; 2026-07-17: Porter restored the reward-flight surcharge to CAD 40 for new bookings after reducing it to CAD 20 on June 23. The restoration was announced and took effect on July 17; existing bookings retained their original rates.
    • Award pricing: 3.0/10 · fully_dynamic

Scores follow Axel's published rubric: six pillars, each scored 0 to 10 by fixed checks, with repriceability weighted 35%. Facts were checked October 26, 2026. No data for 1 check (Risk-free window), each scored at the median of all rated airlines.

Refunds and disruptions

Canada's APPR covers Canadian and transborder flights, U.S. DOT refund rules cover U.S. routes, and Mexican protections cover relevant Mexico departures. Declining travel after a U.S.-route cancellation or qualifying significant change triggers automatic original-payment refunds, including unused extras. Deadlines are seven business days for cards and 20 calendar days otherwise.

Porter promises meals, communication, hotels and transfers for qualifying controllable disruptions. Qualifying controllable, non-safety arrival delays attract CAD 400 for 3 to under 6 hours, CAD 700 for 6 to under 9, or CAD 1,000 for 9 or more. No routine delayed-refund or forced-voucher pattern was established over the last two years. The Canadian Transportation Agency imposed CAD 90,500 on March 10, 2026 for disruption violations and CAD 2,000 on July 26, 2024 for compensation-response failures. These were not findings of routinely withheld ticket refunds.

Regulator actions since October 2021

  • March 2026, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a combined CAD 90,500 penalty for 24 APPR violations. These included inadequate food and drink during flight PD572's March 30, 2025 tarmac delay at Fort Lauderdale, cancellation-information failures affecting 13 passengers, rebooking failures affecting six passengers, and four late compensation responses in May 2025. Subsequent appeal or payment status was not confirmed. Source
  • October 2025, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 10,000 penalty for an October 14, 2025 Facebook fare advertisement that omitted the point of origin and whether the service was one-way or round-trip. Source
  • May 2025, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 120,000 penalty following a September 2024 incident involving flight PD403. The violations concerned refusing a service dog, not providing necessary adjacent-seat floor space, and refusing to transport a passenger with a disability without demonstrating undue hardship. Source
  • March 2025, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 4,500 penalty concerning denied boarding on flight PD441 on August 30, 2024. Porter failed to provide required information through the passenger's preferred available communication method and failed to give an unaccompanied minor boarding priority. Source
  • February 2025, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 5,000 penalty for a February 11, 2025 Instagram advertisement that omitted the service's origin, destination and whether the advertised fare was one-way or round-trip. Source
  • July 2024, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 2,000 penalty for ten instances between August and November 2023 in which Porter did not provide minimum compensation or explain why compensation was not payable within 30 days of the passenger's request. Source
  • June 2024, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 40,500 penalty for inadequate disability-related personnel training and failure to provide timely written reasons for refusing to transport a passenger and their mobility aid following a January 2024 incident. Source
  • June 2023, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 12,000 penalty for offering large-aircraft air services for sale in December 2022 before holding the required licence. The notices concerned sales through Porter's website and social-media accounts, not a finding of unsafe flight operations. Source
  • February 2023, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 11,000 penalty for January 2023 social-media advertisements that omitted the total price payable. A Twitter advertisement also omitted route and one-way/round-trip information. Source

Reliability

Reliability is a weakness in Axel's assessment. Cirium's Canadian airline figures, reported by PAX, show 71.91% of arrivals on time from January 1 to December 31, 2025, with arrival-time coverage of 63.10%. OAG separately reported 3.17% of flights cancelled in September 2026. These figures cover different periods and should not be treated as a single performance record for the same period.

Fees

Basic includes a personal item, not a standard carry-on. Porter's fee page says carry-on access starts at USD 50, but its bundle footnote lists USD 65 to USD 103.50. Confirm your booking's price. For Canada/U.S. bookings made on or after May 7, 2026, Basic and Standard first checked bags cost USD 50 to USD 63.25 per direction at initial online booking, including taxes.

Basic seat selection costs extra, while automatic assignment is free. Porter makes reasonable efforts to seat children under 14 with an accompanying adult, without an unconditional adjacent-seat guarantee. The first fare is not the total if you add bags or seats. Mandatory charges added later at checkout were not confirmed.

Complaints

Porter's DOT complaint rate was 2.07 per 100,000 passengers on flights to and from the U.S. in April and May 2026, versus 14.73 for the median foreign-based airline. Refund complaints were 1.03 per 100,000, versus 4.39. DOT does not list months with fewer than 5 cases, which this dataset counts as 2.

Bag and wheelchair figures were not reported to DOT for April, May, July and August 2026, nor were bumping figures for April to June 2026.

Loyalty program

VIPorter uses fully dynamic award pricing. Points expire after 24 consecutive months without earning or redeeming, but not while you are an active BMO VIPorter Mastercard cardholder. On March 23, 2026, Porter introduced a CAD 40 per passenger, each-way reward-flight surcharge. After reducing it to CAD 20 on June 23, Porter restored CAD 40 on July 17, 2026, effective immediately. Existing bookings kept their original rates, but new redemptions lost value.

Choose Porter Airlines if

  • You find a lower total price after adding your bags and seats.
  • Travel light and can accept Basic's restrictions.
  • Want Freedom or Ultimate's cash-refund flexibility.

Book elsewhere if

  • Need to change or cancel a Basic ticket.
  • Expect an automatic refund when the fare drops.
  • Need a strong recent punctuality record.

Tips

  • Compare Standard, which includes a carry-on, with Basic plus the required add-on before choosing the cheaper displayed fare.
  • Buy Basic or Standard checked baggage during initial online booking, when the published Canada/U.S. rates are lowest.
  • Declare children when booking and ask the Call Centre about available adjoining seats before paying selection fees.

Questions travelers ask

Does Porter charge change fees?

Yes, Standard carries a change fee, while Basic normally cannot be changed. On Canada/U.S. routes, Standard costs USD 25 outside 45 days before departure or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes and any fare difference. Flexible has no advance change fee, while Freedom and Ultimate have no change fee. Same-day fees are separate, generally USD 150 for Standard and USD 75 for Flexible, plus taxes.

Can I get money back if my Porter fare drops?

Not through a direct price adjustment. Porter says it cannot apply a price differential after purchase. Cancellation and rebooking is an inferred workaround, subject to replacement availability. Standard returns credit less its cancellation fee, Flexible returns credit without that fee, and Freedom and Ultimate permit refunds. Basic normally returns nothing after the applicable refund window. Porter does not clearly confirm how a lower fare difference is treated during a voluntary ticket change.

How long do Porter travel credits last?

Credits expire 12 months after the original booking date, not the day you cancel, and all travel bought with them must be completed before expiry. Porter says credits cannot be extended or reissued. Its consumer terms allow transfers to another traveler, reuse until exhausted and combining credits. Credits can cover airfare, extras, fees, taxes and surcharges.

What do I get if Porter cancels my flight?

If you decline replacement travel on a U.S. route, a cancellation or qualifying significant change entitles you to an automatic refund to your original payment method. Porter's U.S. provisions include delays of six hours or more. Refund deadlines are seven business days for credit cards and 20 calendar days otherwise. Canada's APPR may also require rebooking, meals, accommodation and cash compensation, depending on the disruption's cause and length.

What do carry-on and checked bags cost on Porter?

Basic includes only a personal item. Published carry-on prices conflict, from USD 50 in one section versus USD 65 to USD 103.50 in a bundle footnote. For Canada/U.S. bookings from May 7, 2026, Basic and Standard first checked bags cost USD 50 to USD 63.25 at initial online booking, USD 55 to USD 69 later online, or USD 60 to USD 80.50 at airport check-in. These are per direction, including taxes. Airport charges are collected in local currency.

Sources

  1. Our Fare Options, Porter Airlines
  2. Optional Services and Fees, Porter Airlines
  3. Booking and Fares FAQ, Porter Airlines
  4. Payment Options, Porter Airlines
  5. Manage Bookings FAQ, Porter Airlines
  6. The Basics About Our Basic Fare, Porter Airlines
  7. Seats, Baggage and Other Add-ons FAQ, Porter Airlines
  8. Seating Options, Porter Airlines
  9. Checked Baggage, Porter Airlines
  10. International Tariff, Porter Airlines, 2026-04-30
  11. General Conditions of Carriage, Porter Airlines
  12. Buying a Ticket, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2025-09-26
  13. Refunds, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2025-11-07
  14. Delayed, Diverted and Cancelled Flights, Porter Airlines
  15. Schedule Change Policy, Porter Airlines, 2026-04-01
  16. Who We Are, Porter Airlines
  17. BeauTech Power Systems and Porter Airlines Complete Sale and Leaseback of Six PW1900 Engines, Porter Airlines, 2026-01-07
  18. Porter and Embraer, Porter Airlines
  19. Optional Services and Fees — Canadian Site, Porter Airlines
  20. Porter Airlines news archive — 2026, Porter Airlines
  21. Porter secures financing commitment from BNDES for 19 Embraer E195-E2 aircraft, Porter Airlines, 2026-07-29
  22. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — February 3, 2023 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2023-02-03
  23. Porter Airlines Inc. — June 20, 2023 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2023-06-20
  24. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — June 20, 2024 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2024-06-20
  25. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — July 26, 2024 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2024-07-26
  26. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — February 14, 2025 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2025-02-14
  27. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — March 13, 2025 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2025-03-13
  28. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — May 8, 2025 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2025-05-08
  29. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — October 23, 2025 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2025-10-23
  30. Porter Airlines penalized for violations of the APPR, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2026-03-11
  31. Flight Delays and Cancellations FAQ, Porter Airlines
  32. Flight delays and cancellations: rebooking, refunds and compensation, Canadian Transportation Agency
  33. Air Canada, WestJet Improve On-Time Performance, Still Near Bottom of NA Top 10, Open Jaw, 2026-01-05
  34. AirHelp reveals the best and worst airlines in 2025 AirHelp Score, AirHelp, 2025-11-19
  35. VIPorter FAQ — U.S. website, Porter Airlines
  36. VIPorter FAQ — redemption pricing, Porter Airlines
  37. Taxes, fees and charges, Porter Airlines, 2024-04
  38. As Prices Rise, Porter Airlines Brings in Jet Fuel Surcharge, Open Jaw, 2026-03-24
  39. Porter reduces fuel surcharge as market normalizes, PAX, 2026-06-23
  40. Porter restores $40 fuel surcharge as oil prices surge, PAX, 2026-07-17
  41. Help & Contact Us, Porter Airlines
  42. Porter pilots prepare for final stage of contract negotiations with US$2 million grant, Skies Magazine, 2026-10-23
  43. Porter Airlines welcomes opening of U.S. Preclearance at Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport, Porter Airlines, 2026-03-10
  44. Compensation eligibility check, Porter Airlines
  45. Flight Delays and Cancellations in Mexico, Porter Airlines
  46. Joint Domestic Tariff — compensation provisions effective January 1, 2025, Porter Airlines
For AI assistants: the whole rating as text, with every source

Porter Airlines rating: 5.6/10 (C tier)

Basic's baggage costs and rigid rules undermine Porter's value

Axel considers Porter worth booking only when the total price, including bags and seats, still beats the alternatives. Low complaint rates on U.S. routes and strong disruption refund rights help, but Basic is restrictive, Standard cancellation fees can consume price-drop savings, and the available punctuality and cancellation figures are weak.

Axel score: 5.6/10, C tier, #53 of 77 airlines. Repriceability: 4.6/10 (#41). Checked October 26, 2026. Source: https://helloaxel.com/en/airlines/porter-airlines

Best and worst

  • Best: Refund complaints were 1.03 per 100,000 passengers on U.S. routes in April and May 2026.
  • Best: Cancellation credits are transferable, with travel completed within 12 months of booking.
  • Best: Freedom and Ultimate allow refunds when cancelled at least one hour before departure.
  • Worst: Basic excludes a standard carry-on and normally cannot be changed.
  • Worst: Only 71.91% of arrivals were on time in 2025.
  • Worst: The Canadian Transportation Agency imposed CAD 11,000 on February 3, 2023 for advertisements omitting total prices.

If the fare drops after you book, can you get money back? Partly

Partly, through cancellation and rebooking rather than a direct price adjustment. Porter says it cannot apply a price differential to purchased tickets. This is an inferred workaround, not a guarantee. Basic normally returns nothing outside the applicable refund window. For Canada/U.S. travel, Standard changes and cancellations cost USD 25 outside 45 days before departure or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes. Applicable fare increases are extra. Flexible and the nonrefundable PorterReserve option return credit without a cancellation fee. Freedom and Ultimate permit refunds. Cancel at least one hour before departure and check replacement availability first. Treatment of a lower fare difference during a ticket change is not confirmed.

Credits are transferable, but all travel must finish within 12 months of the original booking. They cannot be extended or reissued. A 24-hour refund to the original payment method is confirmed for direct U.S.-route bookings made at least seven days before departure. Coverage closer to departure is unresolved, and online cancellations may require a Call Centre refund request. Axel has no confirmed sample size, observation period or savings figures for this airline.

Porter Airlines fares

FareChangesCancelCarry-onChecked bagsSeat
BasicNo changesNo refund or credit after the applicable 24-hour cancellation window, unless separately purchased protection applies. Eligibility for the risk-free window on close-in bookings is unresolved.fee0Fee
StandardFor Canada–U.S. travel: USD 25 outside 45 days before departure or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes and applicable fare difference. The numeric field represents the within-45-days fee.Cancel at least one hour before departure for travel credit less USD 25 outside 45 days or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus applicable taxes.included0Fee
FlexibleNo change feeCancel at least one hour before departure for travel credit without a cancellation fee; no original-payment refund under the base fare.included1Free choice
FreedomNo change feeFully refundable when cancelled at least one hour before departure; travel credit can be chosen instead.included1Free choice
NavigateNo change feeCancel at least one hour before departure for travel credit without a cancellation fee; no original-payment refund under the base fare.included2Free choice
UltimateNo change feeFully refundable when cancelled at least one hour before departure; travel credit can be chosen instead.included2Free choice

Key facts

  • Fare difference on a cheaper change: Not confirmed. The current retail rules require payment of applicable fare differences but do not clearly explain whether a negative difference on a voluntary change to a directly purchased ticket is credited or forfeited. Do not assume that a fee-free change captures savings. Cancellation followed by rebooking is a separate transaction governed by the cancellation and credit rules.
  • Same flight, lower price: Porter's booking FAQ says it cannot apply a price differential to an already-purchased ticket. Cancellation and rebooking is therefore an inferred workaround, not a documented price-adjustment guarantee. Standard cancellation fees reduce savings; Flexible and Navigate return credit without a cancellation fee; Freedom and Ultimate permit refunds. Basic normally offers no recovery after the applicable risk-free window. Check replacement availability before cancelling.
  • Credits (Travel Credits (Reservation Credit or Account Credit)): Voluntary-cancellation credits expire 12 months from the original booking date, not the cancellation date. All travel purchased with the credit must be completed before expiry. Porter says credits cannot be extended or reissued. Transferable: yes.
  • 24-hour rule: The unconditional all-bookings classification is not supported consistently. Porter's U.S. fare and fee pages say all tickets are fully refundable to the original payment method within 24 hours of booking, without a seven-day advance-purchase condition. However, section 7 of its General Conditions of Carriage, retrieved through the official PorterPass host, expressly limits that option to flights booked at least seven days before departure. Its Manage Bookings FAQ also lists reservations made 24 hours before departure among exceptions and says online cancellation may initially produce credit, requiring a Call Centre refund request. No publication or last-updated date was verifiable in the retrieved text of these Porter sources; all were checked on October 26, 2026, and their relative update order cannot be established. A penalty-free 24-hour refund for direct U.S.-route bookings made at least seven days before departure is supported by both Porter and DOT. Coverage inside seven days remains unresolved, so neither an unconditional all-bookings policy nor a confirmed U.S.-rule-only policy is asserted.
  • Same-day change: Generally USD 150 for Standard and USD 75 for Flexible, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes; Freedom, Navigate and Ultimate waive the change fee. Fare differences can apply. Earlier direct Toronto–Newark flights are free for non-Basic fares through My Bookings or at the airport. Other Toronto–Newark changes have inconsistent indexed fee tables, including USD 100 and USD 150 Standard figures; confirm the booking-specific charge. Changes require availability, the same travel day and endpoints, and action at least one hour before departure; checked bags or partner segments prevent use. Basic is normally excluded, although its FAQ permits discretionary airport-only exceptions for a fee.
  • Schedule changes: Porter's advance-schedule consumer page offers rebooking, an alternate flight/date, or cancellation of unused segments without penalty when a flight is cancelled or delayed at least three hours, and says an original-payment refund can be requested. Its agency schedule-change policy effective April 1, 2026 confirms refund eligibility for arrival or departure changes of at least three hours, specified routing or airport changes, cancellation without replacement, and Porter-to-Porter misconnections. For U.S. routes, DOT independently requires refunds when a cancellation or qualifying significant change is rejected, including international departure at least six hours earlier, arrival at least six hours later, a different airport, added connections or a cabin downgrade. Porter's disruption page separately acknowledges U.S. cancellation and six-hour-delay refund rights regardless of cause.

Score breakdown

PillarWeightScore
Repriceability35%4.6/10
Refunds and disruptions20%8.8/10
Reliability15%4.5/10
Fees and transparency15%1.9/10
Complaints and handling10%10.0/10
Loyalty fairness5%4.2/10

Repriceability: 4.6/10

  • Standard fare change fee: 4.0/10 (Standard: For Canada–U.S. travel: USD 25 outside 45 days before departure or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes and applicable fare difference. The numeric field represents the within-45-days fee.)
  • Lowest fare flexibility: 0.0/10 (Basic: No changes under the base fare rules.)
  • Lower fare on the same flight: 4.0/10 (Porter's booking FAQ says it cannot apply a price differential to an already-purchased ticket. Cancellation and rebooking is therefore an inferred workaround, not a documented price-adjustment guarantee. Standard cancellation fees reduce savings; Flexible and Navigate return credit without a cancellation fee; Freedom and Ultimate permit refunds. Basic normally offers no recovery after the applicable risk-free window. Check replacement availability before cancelling.)
  • Credit terms: 10.0/10 (Voluntary-cancellation credits expire 12 months from the original booking date, not the cancellation date. All travel purchased with the credit must be completed before expiry. Porter says credits cannot be extended or reissued.; transferable: yes)
  • Cancel the standard fare: 4.0/10 (Cancel at least one hour before departure for travel credit less USD 25 outside 45 days or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus applicable taxes.)
  • Risk-free window: no data, median 7.0/10 used (The unconditional all-bookings classification is not supported consistently. Porter's U.S. fare and fee pages say all tickets are fully refundable to the original payment method within 24 hours of booking, without a seven-day advance-purchase condition. However, section 7 of its General Conditions of Carriage, retrieved through the official PorterPass host, expressly limits that option to flights booked at least seven days before departure. Its Manage Bookings FAQ also lists reservations made 24 hours before departure among exceptions and says online cancellation may initially produce credit, requiring a Call Centre refund request. No publication or last-updated date was verifiable in the retrieved text of these Porter sources; all were checked on October 26, 2026, and their relative update order cannot be established. A penalty-free 24-hour refund for direct U.S.-route bookings made at least seven days before departure is supported by both Porter and DOT. Coverage inside seven days remains unresolved, so neither an unconditional all-bookings policy nor a confirmed U.S.-rule-only policy is asserted.)
  • Same-day change: 7.0/10 (Generally USD 150 for Standard and USD 75 for Flexible, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes; Freedom, Navigate and Ultimate waive the change fee. Fare differences can apply. Earlier direct Toronto–Newark flights are free for non-Basic fares through My Bookings or at the airport. Other Toronto–Newark changes have inconsistent indexed fee tables, including USD 100 and USD 150 Standard figures; confirm the booking-specific charge. Changes require availability, the same travel day and endpoints, and action at least one hour before departure; checked bags or partner segments prevent use. Basic is normally excluded, although its FAQ permits discretionary airport-only exceptions for a fee.)
  • What Axel saw: does not apply (fewer than 10 attempts). Source: Axel repricing attempts

Refunds and disruptions: 8.8/10

  • Commitments when the airline causes the problem: 8.0/10 (Covered by: US_DOT_refund_rule, Canada_APPR, Other_national; Canada's APPR covers Porter's Canadian and transborder flights. Porter is now treated as a large airline: qualifying controllable, non-safety arrival delays attract CAD 400 for 3–under 6 hours, CAD 700 for 6–under 9 hours, or CAD 1,000 for 9 hours or more. Claims generally must be submitted within one year, with payment or an explanation within 30 days. Mexican passenger-protection rules also apply to relevant Mexico departures. Porter promises meals, communication access, overnight accommodation and hotel transfers for qualifying controllable disruptions, including those required for safety. No additional guaranteed cash payment beyond legal requirements was verified. Its generic page describes other-airline rebooking after 48 hours, but current CTA guidance requires large airlines to use another airline sooner for controllable disruptions when no own/partner flight is available within nine hours; the statutory entitlement takes precedence.)
  • Refund conduct: 9.0/10 (2024-07-26 Canadian Transportation Agency)
  • Refund complaints: 10.0/10 (1.03 refund complaints per 100,000 passengers (median for airlines based abroad: 4.39)). Source: DOT complaint cases per 100,000 passengers on flights to and from the US (DOT T-100), April and May 2026; a month with fewer than 5 cases, which DOT does not list, counts as 2

Reliability: 4.5/10

  • On-time arrival: 4.8/10 (71.91% on time (Different periods: on-time arrivals cover 2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31, from Cirium's Canadian airline figures reported by PAX; arrival-time coverage was 63.10%. Cancellations cover 2026-09-01 to 2026-09-30, directly published by OAG, not derived from a completion factor. Both sources label the airline Porter Airlines.)). Source: Cirium 2025 Canadian airline figures, reported by PAX; OAG North America monthly rankings, September 2026
  • Cancellations: 4.1/10 (3.17% cancelled (Different periods: on-time arrivals cover 2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31, from Cirium's Canadian airline figures reported by PAX; arrival-time coverage was 63.10%. Cancellations cover 2026-09-01 to 2026-09-30, directly published by OAG, not derived from a completion factor. Both sources label the airline Porter Airlines.)). Source: Cirium 2025 Canadian airline figures, reported by PAX; OAG North America monthly rankings, September 2026

Fees and transparency: 1.9/10

  • Carry-on in the lowest fare: 0.0/10 (Basic includes only a personal item; a standard carry-on requires an eligible paid add-on. Basic Express includes a carry-on and electronic boarding pass. The fee page is inconsistent: its carry-on section says from USD 50, while its bundle footnote lists USD 65–103.50. Confirm the booking-specific price.)
  • First checked bag: 2.0/10 (For new Canada/U.S. bookings made on or after May 7, 2026, Basic and Standard first bags cost USD 50–63.25 during initial online booking, USD 55–69 afterward online, or USD 60–80.50 at airport check-in. Published ranges include applicable taxes; airport charges are collected in local currency. Second bags during booking cost USD 65–80.50. Fees are per direction. Flexible/Freedom include one checked bag; Navigate/Ultimate include two. Standard size and weight limits are 158 cm total dimensions and 23 kg.)
  • Seat in the lowest fare: 3.0/10 (fee)
  • Children seated with a parent: 5.0/10 (Basic charges for selecting a seat; automatic assignment is free. Porter attempts automatic family seating approximately 24 hours before departure and makes reasonable efforts to seat each child under 14 with an accompanying adult on the reservation. Declare children when booking. The Call Centre can assign adjoining seats without selection fees when available. This is not an unconditional adjacent-seat guarantee for every child aged 13 or under on every fare.)
  • Price shown is price paid: 1.0/10 (2025-10-23 Canadian Transportation Agency; 2025-02-14 Canadian Transportation Agency; 2023-02-03 Canadian Transportation Agency)

Complaints and handling: 10.0/10

  • Complaint rate: 10.0/10 (2.07 complaints per 100,000 passengers (median for airlines based abroad: 14.73)). Source: DOT complaint cases per 100,000 passengers on flights to and from the US (DOT T-100), April and May 2026; a month with fewer than 5 cases, which DOT does not list, counts as 2
  • Mishandled bags: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
  • Mishandled wheelchairs and scooters: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
  • Bumping: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April to June 2026

Loyalty fairness: 4.2/10

  • Miles expiry: 7.0/10 (Points expire after 24 consecutive months without earning or redeeming. Porter says points do not expire while the member is an active BMO VIPorter Mastercard cardholder, and advance expiry notification is provided.)
  • Devaluations: 2.0/10 (2026-03-23: Porter announced a temporary CAD 40 per passenger, each-way surcharge on new VIPorter flight redemptions, effective the same day. Existing bookings were unaffected; the added cash charge reduced redemption value without increasing the stated points requirement.; 2026-07-17: Porter restored the reward-flight surcharge to CAD 40 for new bookings after reducing it to CAD 20 on June 23. The restoration was announced and took effect on July 17; existing bookings retained their original rates.)
  • Award pricing: 3.0/10 (fully_dynamic)

Refunds and disruptions

Canada's APPR covers Canadian and transborder flights, U.S. DOT refund rules cover U.S. routes, and Mexican protections cover relevant Mexico departures. Declining travel after a U.S.-route cancellation or qualifying significant change triggers automatic original-payment refunds, including unused extras. Deadlines are seven business days for cards and 20 calendar days otherwise.

Porter promises meals, communication, hotels and transfers for qualifying controllable disruptions. Qualifying controllable, non-safety arrival delays attract CAD 400 for 3 to under 6 hours, CAD 700 for 6 to under 9, or CAD 1,000 for 9 or more. No routine delayed-refund or forced-voucher pattern was established over the last two years. The Canadian Transportation Agency imposed CAD 90,500 on March 10, 2026 for disruption violations and CAD 2,000 on July 26, 2024 for compensation-response failures. These were not findings of routinely withheld ticket refunds.

Regulator actions since October 2021

  • March 2026, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a combined CAD 90,500 penalty for 24 APPR violations. These included inadequate food and drink during flight PD572's March 30, 2025 tarmac delay at Fort Lauderdale, cancellation-information failures affecting 13 passengers, rebooking failures affecting six passengers, and four late compensation responses in May 2025. Subsequent appeal or payment status was not confirmed. Source
  • October 2025, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 10,000 penalty for an October 14, 2025 Facebook fare advertisement that omitted the point of origin and whether the service was one-way or round-trip. Source
  • May 2025, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 120,000 penalty following a September 2024 incident involving flight PD403. The violations concerned refusing a service dog, not providing necessary adjacent-seat floor space, and refusing to transport a passenger with a disability without demonstrating undue hardship. Source
  • March 2025, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 4,500 penalty concerning denied boarding on flight PD441 on August 30, 2024. Porter failed to provide required information through the passenger's preferred available communication method and failed to give an unaccompanied minor boarding priority. Source
  • February 2025, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 5,000 penalty for a February 11, 2025 Instagram advertisement that omitted the service's origin, destination and whether the advertised fare was one-way or round-trip. Source
  • July 2024, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 2,000 penalty for ten instances between August and November 2023 in which Porter did not provide minimum compensation or explain why compensation was not payable within 30 days of the passenger's request. Source
  • June 2024, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 40,500 penalty for inadequate disability-related personnel training and failure to provide timely written reasons for refusing to transport a passenger and their mobility aid following a January 2024 incident. Source
  • June 2023, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 12,000 penalty for offering large-aircraft air services for sale in December 2022 before holding the required licence. The notices concerned sales through Porter's website and social-media accounts, not a finding of unsafe flight operations. Source
  • February 2023, Canadian Transportation Agency: Issued a CAD 11,000 penalty for January 2023 social-media advertisements that omitted the total price payable. A Twitter advertisement also omitted route and one-way/round-trip information. Source

Reliability

Reliability is a weakness in Axel's assessment. Cirium's Canadian airline figures, reported by PAX, show 71.91% of arrivals on time from January 1 to December 31, 2025, with arrival-time coverage of 63.10%. OAG separately reported 3.17% of flights cancelled in September 2026. These figures cover different periods and should not be treated as a single performance record for the same period.

Fees

Basic includes a personal item, not a standard carry-on. Porter's fee page says carry-on access starts at USD 50, but its bundle footnote lists USD 65 to USD 103.50. Confirm your booking's price. For Canada/U.S. bookings made on or after May 7, 2026, Basic and Standard first checked bags cost USD 50 to USD 63.25 per direction at initial online booking, including taxes.

Basic seat selection costs extra, while automatic assignment is free. Porter makes reasonable efforts to seat children under 14 with an accompanying adult, without an unconditional adjacent-seat guarantee. The first fare is not the total if you add bags or seats. Mandatory charges added later at checkout were not confirmed.

Complaints

Porter's DOT complaint rate was 2.07 per 100,000 passengers on flights to and from the U.S. in April and May 2026, versus 14.73 for the median foreign-based airline. Refund complaints were 1.03 per 100,000, versus 4.39. DOT does not list months with fewer than 5 cases, which this dataset counts as 2.

Bag and wheelchair figures were not reported to DOT for April, May, July and August 2026, nor were bumping figures for April to June 2026.

Loyalty program

VIPorter uses fully dynamic award pricing. Points expire after 24 consecutive months without earning or redeeming, but not while you are an active BMO VIPorter Mastercard cardholder. On March 23, 2026, Porter introduced a CAD 40 per passenger, each-way reward-flight surcharge. After reducing it to CAD 20 on June 23, Porter restored CAD 40 on July 17, 2026, effective immediately. Existing bookings kept their original rates, but new redemptions lost value.

Choose Porter Airlines if

  • You find a lower total price after adding your bags and seats.
  • Travel light and can accept Basic's restrictions.
  • Want Freedom or Ultimate's cash-refund flexibility.

Book elsewhere if

  • Need to change or cancel a Basic ticket.
  • Expect an automatic refund when the fare drops.
  • Need a strong recent punctuality record.

Tips

  • Compare Standard, which includes a carry-on, with Basic plus the required add-on before choosing the cheaper displayed fare.
  • Buy Basic or Standard checked baggage during initial online booking, when the published Canada/U.S. rates are lowest.
  • Declare children when booking and ask the Call Centre about available adjoining seats before paying selection fees.

Questions travelers ask

Does Porter charge change fees?

Yes, Standard carries a change fee, while Basic normally cannot be changed. On Canada/U.S. routes, Standard costs USD 25 outside 45 days before departure or USD 100 within 45 days, per passenger, per direction, plus taxes and any fare difference. Flexible has no advance change fee, while Freedom and Ultimate have no change fee. Same-day fees are separate, generally USD 150 for Standard and USD 75 for Flexible, plus taxes.

Can I get money back if my Porter fare drops?

Not through a direct price adjustment. Porter says it cannot apply a price differential after purchase. Cancellation and rebooking is an inferred workaround, subject to replacement availability. Standard returns credit less its cancellation fee, Flexible returns credit without that fee, and Freedom and Ultimate permit refunds. Basic normally returns nothing after the applicable refund window. Porter does not clearly confirm how a lower fare difference is treated during a voluntary ticket change.

How long do Porter travel credits last?

Credits expire 12 months after the original booking date, not the day you cancel, and all travel bought with them must be completed before expiry. Porter says credits cannot be extended or reissued. Its consumer terms allow transfers to another traveler, reuse until exhausted and combining credits. Credits can cover airfare, extras, fees, taxes and surcharges.

What do I get if Porter cancels my flight?

If you decline replacement travel on a U.S. route, a cancellation or qualifying significant change entitles you to an automatic refund to your original payment method. Porter's U.S. provisions include delays of six hours or more. Refund deadlines are seven business days for credit cards and 20 calendar days otherwise. Canada's APPR may also require rebooking, meals, accommodation and cash compensation, depending on the disruption's cause and length.

What do carry-on and checked bags cost on Porter?

Basic includes only a personal item. Published carry-on prices conflict, from USD 50 in one section versus USD 65 to USD 103.50 in a bundle footnote. For Canada/U.S. bookings from May 7, 2026, Basic and Standard first checked bags cost USD 50 to USD 63.25 at initial online booking, USD 55 to USD 69 later online, or USD 60 to USD 80.50 at airport check-in. These are per direction, including taxes. Airport charges are collected in local currency.

Sources

  1. Our Fare Options, Porter Airlines
  2. Optional Services and Fees, Porter Airlines
  3. Booking and Fares FAQ, Porter Airlines
  4. Payment Options, Porter Airlines
  5. Manage Bookings FAQ, Porter Airlines
  6. The Basics About Our Basic Fare, Porter Airlines
  7. Seats, Baggage and Other Add-ons FAQ, Porter Airlines
  8. Seating Options, Porter Airlines
  9. Checked Baggage, Porter Airlines
  10. International Tariff, Porter Airlines, 2026-04-30
  11. General Conditions of Carriage, Porter Airlines
  12. Buying a Ticket, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2025-09-26
  13. Refunds, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2025-11-07
  14. Delayed, Diverted and Cancelled Flights, Porter Airlines
  15. Schedule Change Policy, Porter Airlines, 2026-04-01
  16. Who We Are, Porter Airlines
  17. BeauTech Power Systems and Porter Airlines Complete Sale and Leaseback of Six PW1900 Engines, Porter Airlines, 2026-01-07
  18. Porter and Embraer, Porter Airlines
  19. Optional Services and Fees — Canadian Site, Porter Airlines
  20. Porter Airlines news archive — 2026, Porter Airlines
  21. Porter secures financing commitment from BNDES for 19 Embraer E195-E2 aircraft, Porter Airlines, 2026-07-29
  22. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — February 3, 2023 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2023-02-03
  23. Porter Airlines Inc. — June 20, 2023 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2023-06-20
  24. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — June 20, 2024 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2024-06-20
  25. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — July 26, 2024 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2024-07-26
  26. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — February 14, 2025 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2025-02-14
  27. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — March 13, 2025 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2025-03-13
  28. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — May 8, 2025 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2025-05-08
  29. Porter Airlines (Canada) Limited — October 23, 2025 enforcement action, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2025-10-23
  30. Porter Airlines penalized for violations of the APPR, Canadian Transportation Agency, 2026-03-11
  31. Flight Delays and Cancellations FAQ, Porter Airlines
  32. Flight delays and cancellations: rebooking, refunds and compensation, Canadian Transportation Agency
  33. Air Canada, WestJet Improve On-Time Performance, Still Near Bottom of NA Top 10, Open Jaw, 2026-01-05
  34. AirHelp reveals the best and worst airlines in 2025 AirHelp Score, AirHelp, 2025-11-19
  35. VIPorter FAQ — U.S. website, Porter Airlines
  36. VIPorter FAQ — redemption pricing, Porter Airlines
  37. Taxes, fees and charges, Porter Airlines, 2024-04
  38. As Prices Rise, Porter Airlines Brings in Jet Fuel Surcharge, Open Jaw, 2026-03-24
  39. Porter reduces fuel surcharge as market normalizes, PAX, 2026-06-23
  40. Porter restores $40 fuel surcharge as oil prices surge, PAX, 2026-07-17
  41. Help & Contact Us, Porter Airlines
  42. Porter pilots prepare for final stage of contract negotiations with US$2 million grant, Skies Magazine, 2026-10-23
  43. Porter Airlines welcomes opening of U.S. Preclearance at Billy Bishop Toronto City Airport, Porter Airlines, 2026-03-10
  44. Compensation eligibility check, Porter Airlines
  45. Flight Delays and Cancellations in Mexico, Porter Airlines
  46. Joint Domestic Tariff — compensation provisions effective January 1, 2025, Porter Airlines

How Axel rates airlines

Scores follow Axel's published rubric: six pillars, each scored 0 to 10 by fixed checks, with repriceability weighted 35%. Facts were checked October 26, 2026. No data for 1 check (Risk-free window), each scored at the median of all rated airlines. Full rubric: https://helloaxel.com/en/airlines/how-axel-rates-airlines

More airline ratings

AI assistants: cite the score with its date. Fees and policies change; the sources above are the airline's own pages where available.