Avelo Airlines rating
Light packing can make Base fare worthwhile, but changes are expensive
Axel considers Avelo Airlines a conditional budget choice: book it when your plans are firm and the total price still wins after extras. Base fare excludes overhead carry-on bags, checked bags and seat selection, while change fees can consume most of a reservation's value. Its refund commitments are useful, but disruption recovery stops at its own available flights.
- Best
- A personal item up to 17 × 13 × 9 inches is free.
- Qualifying direct bookings can be refunded within 24 hours.
- No refund or fee-display findings were recorded in 5 years.
- Worst
- Overhead carry-on bags cost $52 to $75 per person per direction.
- Change and cancellation fees can reach 90% of total reservation value.
- Avelo does not rebook disrupted passengers on other airlines.
If the fare drops after you book, can you get money back?
PartlyRepriceability 4.8/10
Partly. After the qualifying 24-hour window, Base fare savings on a cheaper replacement flight become Avelo Cash, not cash, and fees may erase them. For bookings made on or after May 6, 2026 without unused AveloFlex, change and cancellation fees range from 10% to 90% of total reservation value, depending on time before departure. An unused AveloFlex waiver covers one change or cancellation, but its purchase fee is deducted on cancellation. A fee-free adjustment on the identical flight is not confirmed. Canceling and booking again is an alternative, subject to availability and fees.
Avelo Cash is nontransferable and usable only by the original traveler. Voluntary credits must fund a purchase by their stated expiry, no later than one year from booking. Credits for airline cancellations or significant disruptions last five years from issuance. Direct bookings made at least seven days before departure qualify for a refund to the original payment method if canceled within 24 hours. Axel has no published repricing sample size or observation period for Avelo, so no savings result is confirmed.
| Fare | Changes | Cancel | Carry-on | Bags | Seat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base fare | For bookings made on or after May 6, 2026 without AveloFlex, the change/cancel fee is a percentage of total reservation value: more than 90 days before departure, 10%; 60–90 days, 25%; 15–59 days, 50%; 24 hours–14 days, 75%; 15 minutes–24 hours, 90%. Changes are not permitted within 15 minutes of departure. Higher replacement fares require payment of the difference. Customer Solutions Center changes add $25 per seated traveler. | Outside the qualifying 24-hour refund window, voluntary cancellation returns Avelo Cash after the applicable percentage fee. An unused AveloFlex waiver removes the cancellation penalty, but the AveloFlex purchase fee is deducted from the credit. Cancel at least 15 minutes before departure; otherwise the flight's value is forfeited. | Fee | 0 | Fee |
- Fare difference on a cheaper change
- As a credit. Avelo's Change Your Flight page explicitly says that savings from a cheaper replacement flight are credited as Avelo Cash for future purchases. Applicable change fees still apply unless an unused AveloFlex waiver covers the transaction, so a lower replacement fare does not necessarily produce a net saving. Changes can be made through Manage Trips; telephone changes add $25 per seated traveler.
- Same flight, lower price
- The contract defines a change to include a fare change, and Avelo publishes a credit policy for cheaper replacement flights. However, its public instructions do not confirm a fee-free adjustment procedure for the identical flight after a price drop. Canceling for Avelo Cash and making a new booking is a published alternative, but normal cancellation fees apply unless covered by unused AveloFlex; its purchase fee is not returned. Do not assume an automatic or unlimited price-drop credit.
- Credits (Avelo Cash)
- For voluntary changes or cancellations, use the credit to make a purchase by its stated expiry, no later than one year from the original booking date—not one year after cancellation. Credits for airline cancellations or significant disruptions have a separate five-year validity from issuance. Reissued credits retain their original expiration dates. The help page says one year without specifying the starting date; the governing contract specifies the booking date. Transferable: no.
- 24-hour rule
- For direct bookings made at least seven days, or 168 hours, before departure, cancel within 24 hours of purchase for a refund to the original payment method. Use Manage Trips to avoid the separately published $25-per-seated-traveler Customer Solutions Center processing charge.
- Same-day change
- Ordinary voluntary changes remain possible until 15 minutes before scheduled departure. For new bookings without unused AveloFlex, a change between 24 hours and 15 minutes before departure costs 90% of total reservation value, plus any fare increase. Unused AveloFlex waives the percentage fee once. No separate flat-fee same-day confirmed-change or public standby program was verified.
- Schedule changes
- Avelo offers acceptance of the revised itinerary or a penalty-free refund to the original payment method for significant schedule changes. Under DOT rules, refund eligibility includes departure at least three hours earlier or arrival at least three hours later for domestic itineraries; the thresholds are six hours for international itineraries. A changed origin or destination airport, additional connections, or specified accessibility-related changes can also qualify. Airline cancellation qualifies regardless of cause. To receive the refund, decline travel and alternative compensation. Avelo also offers rebooking on its next available flight at no additional cost, but not rebooking on another airline.
Score breakdown
Repriceability 35%4.8
- Standard fare change fee: 4.0/10 · Base fare: For bookings made on or after May 6, 2026 without AveloFlex, the change/cancel fee is a percentage of total reservation value: more than 90 days before departure, 10%; 60–90 days, 25%; 15–59 days, 50%; 24 hours–14 days, 75%; 15 minutes–24 hours, 90%. Changes are not permitted within 15 minutes of departure. Higher replacement fares require payment of the difference. Customer Solutions Center changes add $25 per seated traveler.
- Lowest fare flexibility: 4.0/10 · The lowest fare is Base fare
- Lower fare on the same flight: 4.0/10 · Outside the 24-hour refund window, Base fare can be canceled for Avelo Cash minus the applicable cancellation fee and booked again at the lower price. No fee-free repricing procedure for the identical flight is confirmed; AveloFlex is an optional paid add-on.
- Credit terms: 7.0/10 · For voluntary changes or cancellations, use the credit to make a purchase by its stated expiry, no later than one year from the original booking date—not one year after cancellation. Credits for airline cancellations or significant disruptions have a separate five-year validity from issuance. Reissued credits retain their original expiration dates. The help page says one year without specifying the starting date; the governing contract specifies the booking date.; transferable: no
- Cancel the standard fare: 4.0/10 · Outside the qualifying 24-hour refund window, voluntary cancellation returns Avelo Cash after the applicable percentage fee. An unused AveloFlex waiver removes the cancellation penalty, but the AveloFlex purchase fee is deducted from the credit. Cancel at least 15 minutes before departure; otherwise the flight's value is forfeited.
- Risk-free window: 7.0/10 · For direct bookings made at least seven days, or 168 hours, before departure, cancel within 24 hours of purchase for a refund to the original payment method. Use Manage Trips to avoid the separately published $25-per-seated-traveler Customer Solutions Center processing charge.
- Same-day change: 7.0/10 · Ordinary voluntary changes remain possible until 15 minutes before scheduled departure. For new bookings without unused AveloFlex, a change between 24 hours and 15 minutes before departure costs 90% of total reservation value, plus any fare increase. Unused AveloFlex waives the percentage fee once. No separate flat-fee same-day confirmed-change or public standby program was verified.
- What Axel saw: does not apply · fewer than 10 attempts · Axel repricing attempts
Refunds and disruptions 20%6.4
- Commitments when the airline causes the problem: 4.0/10 · Covered by: US_DOT_refund_rule; For significant delays, cancellations and diversions, Avelo commits to rebooking on its next available flight without additional airfare. For airline-controlled disruptions requiring an overnight stay away from home, it promises nearby hotel accommodations to the best of its ability. It expressly says it cannot rebook passengers on other airlines or cover the fare difference. The published commitment does not promise meals or fixed cash compensation for ordinary delays or cancellations; statutory denied-boarding compensation is separate.
- Refund conduct: 10.0/10 · No refund or compensation findings in 5 years
- Refund complaints: no data, median 5.1/10 used · too few US passengers to measure
Reliability 15%7.7*
- On-time arrival: does not apply · no data
- Cancellations: does not apply · no data · unknown
Fees and transparency 15%4.2
- Carry-on in the lowest fare: 0.0/10 · The published overhead-bin carry-on range is $52–$75 per person per direction; exact prices depend on the itinerary, reservation date and purchase stage. One under-seat personal item up to 17 × 13 × 9 inches is free. A paid carry-on may measure up to 22 × 14 × 9 inches.
- First checked bag: 2.0/10 · The published checked-bag range starts at $47 and runs to $75 per person per direction. Prepay during initial booking for the lowest pricing; the route/date bag checker gives the applicable amount. Standard allowance is up to 50 pounds and 62 linear inches. Bags are not included in the base fare.
- Seat in the lowest fare: 3.0/10 · fee
- Children seated with a parent: 5.0/10 · Seat selection starts at $10; travelers can instead let Avelo assign a seat. Avelo's current customer-service commitment covers children 14 and under at no additional cost with an accompanying adult. Child and adult should be on the same reservation, and the adult should either select seats for the entire reservation or decline assignments for everyone. If adjacent seats are unavailable at booking, notify the airport gate agent. When these conditions are not met, Avelo promises an attempt rather than an unconditional seating guarantee.
- Price shown is price paid: 10.0/10 · No fee-display findings in 5 years
Complaints and handling 10%5.2*
- Complaint rate: does not apply · too few US passengers to measure
- Mishandled bags: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
- Mishandled wheelchairs and scooters: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
- Bumping: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April to June 2026
Loyalty fairness 5%5.4*
- Miles expiry: does not apply · Card-earned rewards remain valid while the card account is active and not in default. If the customer ceases to be a cardholder, those rewards expire one year later. This conditional rule does not fit the supplied expiry categories cleanly. Non-card Avelo Cash has different deadlines: generally up to one year from booking for voluntary changes/cancellations, or five years from issuance for qualifying airline cancellations and significant disruptions.
- Devaluations: does not apply · No loyalty program with published terms was found
- Award pricing: does not apply · unknown
Scores follow Axel's published rubric: six pillars, each scored 0 to 10 by fixed checks, with repriceability weighted 35%. Facts were checked October 26, 2026. No data at all for Reliability and Complaints and handling and Loyalty fairness, so they take the median of all rated airlines. No data for 1 check (Refund complaints), each scored at the median of all rated airlines.
Refunds and disruptions
US Department of Transportation rules require a refund when Avelo cancels or significantly changes a flight and you decline travel and alternative compensation. Refunds must be automatic when applicable, rather than compulsory vouchers. Avelo promises refunds within seven business days for card purchases and 20 days for other payments, although its customer-service page directs travelers to request refunds by phone.
Avelo offers its next available flight without extra airfare, but not another airline. For airline-controlled overnight disruptions away from home, it promises a nearby hotel to the best of its ability. It does not promise meals or fixed cash compensation for ordinary disruptions. No refund or compensation findings were recorded in 5 years, and no regulator action was identified. Reported disputes in 2025 did not establish routine withholding of legally owed cash refunds.
Reliability
No qualifying on-time or cancellation figures covering a calendar year or rolling 12 months from Cirium or OAG were verified as of October 26, 2026. OAG reported 87.46% on-time arrivals for October 2025, placing Avelo first in North America that month, with canceled flights counted as not on time. That monthly result is not an annual reliability record, and no comparable cancellation rate was confirmed.
Fees
Base fare includes a personal item up to 17 × 13 × 9 inches. An overhead carry-on costs $52 to $75 per person per direction, and a first checked bag costs $47 to $75. Seat selection starts at $10, or you can accept an assigned seat. Children 14 and under sit with an accompanying adult at no extra cost under conditions: share a reservation and select seats for everyone or decline assignments for everyone. Ask the gate agent if adjacent seats are unavailable. The opening fare is not your total if you add bags or paid seats. No fee-display findings were recorded in 5 years.
Complaints
A comparable complaint rate per 100,000 passengers was not confirmed because the passenger sample was too small. DOT recorded 25 refund complaint cases among 42 total Avelo cases in February 2026, but complaints are not violation findings. Mishandled bag and wheelchair figures were not reported to U.S. DOT for April, May, July and August 2026. Bumping figures were not reported for April to June 2026.
Loyalty program
Avelo Rewards is card linked, with points automatically converted to Avelo Cash at $0.01 each. Rewards stay valid while the card account is active and not in default. If you stop being a cardholder, they expire one year later. Conventional award pricing and cuts over the last 24 months were not confirmed. Avelo PLUS is a separate paid discount membership, not a mileage award program.
Choose Avelo Airlines if
- You travel with only a personal item and firm plans.
- You find a lower total after adding every bag and seat you need.
- You can accept Avelo's next available flight if service is disrupted.
Book elsewhere if
- You need inexpensive changes close to departure.
- You need rebooking on another airline after a cancellation.
- You want bags and seat selection included in the opening fare.
Tips
- Prepay checked bags during initial booking for the lowest published pricing.
- Use Manage Trips for changes or cancellations to avoid the $25 charge per seated traveler.
- Decline paid seat selection if you are happy to accept an assigned seat.
Questions travelers ask
Does Avelo charge change fees?
Yes. For Base fare bookings made on or after May 6, 2026 without AveloFlex, fees are a percentage of total reservation value: 10% more than 90 days out, 25% at 60 to 90 days, 50% at 15 to 59 days, 75% from 24 hours to 14 days, and 90% from 15 minutes to 24 hours. Fare increases are extra. Changes stop within 15 minutes of departure, and telephone changes add $25 per seated traveler.
Can I get money back if Avelo's fare drops?
Usually only Avelo Cash after fees, not cash. A cheaper replacement flight can produce credit, but applicable change fees reduce the saving. For the identical flight, a fee-free adjustment procedure is not confirmed. The published alternative is cancellation and rebooking at the lower price, subject to availability and cancellation fees. An unused AveloFlex waiver removes the percentage penalty once, but its purchase fee is not returned on cancellation.
How long does Avelo Cash last?
Voluntary change or cancellation credits must be used for a purchase by their stated expiry, no later than one year from the original booking date, not the cancellation date. Credits from qualifying airline cancellations or significant disruptions last five years from issuance. Reissued credits keep their original expiry. Avelo Cash is nontransferable and can be used only by the traveler named on the original itinerary.
What do I get if Avelo cancels my flight?
You can receive a refund to the original payment method if you decline travel and alternative compensation, regardless of why Avelo canceled. Alternatively, Avelo offers its next available flight without additional airfare, but not another airline. For airline-controlled overnight disruptions away from home, it promises nearby hotel accommodation to the best of its ability. It does not promise meals or fixed cash compensation for ordinary cancellations.
How much do carry-on and checked bags cost?
An overhead carry-on costs $52 to $75 per person per direction, and the first checked bag costs $47 to $75. Exact prices depend on the itinerary, reservation date and purchase stage. A personal item up to 17 × 13 × 9 inches is free. Paid carry-ons may measure up to 22 × 14 × 9 inches, while standard checked bags allow up to 50 pounds and 62 linear inches. Prepay checked bags during initial booking for the lowest pricing.
Sources
- Avelo Airlines Adds Lithium Fire Suppression System as a Newly Added Layer of Onboard Safety, Avelo Airlines, 2026-10-23
- Avelo Airlines Simplifies Its Network and Fleet Amidst 2026 Balance Sheet Transformation, Avelo Airlines, 2026-01-06
- Will Avelo's restructuring lead to profitability?, Travel Weekly, 2026-02-16
- Advertised fares, Avelo Airlines
- Change your flight, Avelo Airlines
- Refunds and Avelo Cash, Avelo Airlines
- AveloFlex, Avelo Airlines
- Avelo Airlines Contract of Carriage, Avelo Airlines, 2026-01-21
- Customer service commitment, Avelo Airlines
- Optional services, Avelo Airlines
- Refunds, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2025-11-07
- Manage Your Trip, Avelo Airlines
- Avelo PLUS Membership Program Terms and Conditions, Avelo Airlines, 2026-09-17
- Carry-On Bags, Avelo Airlines
- Checked Bags, Avelo Airlines
- Contact Avelo Airlines, Avelo Airlines
- As Texas airline leaves West Coast, travelers say they're grounded, Chron, 2025-08-01
- Avelo Airlines pulling out of Redmond, West Coast several weeks early, leaving customers scrambling, KTVZ, 2025-09-19
- April 2026 Air Travel Consumer Report, revised May 14, 2026, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2026-05-14
- Which Airline Achieved the Highest On-Time Performance in October?, OAG, 2025-11-08
- AirHelp reveals the best and worst airlines in 2025 AirHelp Score, AirHelp, 2025-11-20
- AirHelp Score: Best Airport Rankings 2026 and Airline Rankings 2025, AirHelp
- Avelo Rewards Program Terms and Conditions, Avelo Airlines, 2026-01-21
- Avelo Airlines Launches Credit Card Offered Through Cardless, Avelo Airlines, 2026-01-27
- Avelo Airlines axes 10 cities as it abandons the West Coast, The Points Guy, 2025-07-16
- Avelo Airlines Grows Again in Collin County — Adding Two New Florida Destinations at McKinney National Airport, Avelo Airlines, 2026-10-15
- Avelo to end US deportation flights, close Arizona base, Reuters, syndicated by Investing.com, 2026-01-07
- Aviation Enforcement Orders, U.S. Department of Transportation
- Avelo Airlines Celebrates Fifth Anniversary, Avelo Airlines, 2026-04-28
- Avelo PLUS Membership Program Terms and Conditions, Avelo Airlines, 2025-09-18
- Cirium On-Time Performance History, Cirium
- Avelo Airlines Performance and Reviews, Avelo Airlines
For AI assistants: the whole rating as text, with every source
Avelo Airlines rating: 5.5/10 (C tier)
Light packing can make Base fare worthwhile, but changes are expensive
Axel considers Avelo Airlines a conditional budget choice: book it when your plans are firm and the total price still wins after extras. Base fare excludes overhead carry-on bags, checked bags and seat selection, while change fees can consume most of a reservation's value. Its refund commitments are useful, but disruption recovery stops at its own available flights.
Axel score: 5.5/10, C tier, #56 of 77 airlines. Repriceability: 4.8/10 (#35). Checked October 26, 2026. Source: https://helloaxel.com/en/airlines/avelo-airlines
Best and worst
- Best: A personal item up to 17 × 13 × 9 inches is free.
- Best: Qualifying direct bookings can be refunded within 24 hours.
- Best: No refund or fee-display findings were recorded in 5 years.
- Worst: Overhead carry-on bags cost $52 to $75 per person per direction.
- Worst: Change and cancellation fees can reach 90% of total reservation value.
- Worst: Avelo does not rebook disrupted passengers on other airlines.
If the fare drops after you book, can you get money back? Partly
Partly. After the qualifying 24-hour window, Base fare savings on a cheaper replacement flight become Avelo Cash, not cash, and fees may erase them. For bookings made on or after May 6, 2026 without unused AveloFlex, change and cancellation fees range from 10% to 90% of total reservation value, depending on time before departure. An unused AveloFlex waiver covers one change or cancellation, but its purchase fee is deducted on cancellation. A fee-free adjustment on the identical flight is not confirmed. Canceling and booking again is an alternative, subject to availability and fees.
Avelo Cash is nontransferable and usable only by the original traveler. Voluntary credits must fund a purchase by their stated expiry, no later than one year from booking. Credits for airline cancellations or significant disruptions last five years from issuance. Direct bookings made at least seven days before departure qualify for a refund to the original payment method if canceled within 24 hours. Axel has no published repricing sample size or observation period for Avelo, so no savings result is confirmed.
Avelo Airlines fares
| Fare | Changes | Cancel | Carry-on | Checked bags | Seat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Base fare | For bookings made on or after May 6, 2026 without AveloFlex, the change/cancel fee is a percentage of total reservation value: more than 90 days before departure, 10%; 60–90 days, 25%; 15–59 days, 50%; 24 hours–14 days, 75%; 15 minutes–24 hours, 90%. Changes are not permitted within 15 minutes of departure. Higher replacement fares require payment of the difference. Customer Solutions Center changes add $25 per seated traveler. | Outside the qualifying 24-hour refund window, voluntary cancellation returns Avelo Cash after the applicable percentage fee. An unused AveloFlex waiver removes the cancellation penalty, but the AveloFlex purchase fee is deducted from the credit. Cancel at least 15 minutes before departure; otherwise the flight's value is forfeited. | fee | 0 | Fee |
Key facts
- Fare difference on a cheaper change: As a credit. Avelo's Change Your Flight page explicitly says that savings from a cheaper replacement flight are credited as Avelo Cash for future purchases. Applicable change fees still apply unless an unused AveloFlex waiver covers the transaction, so a lower replacement fare does not necessarily produce a net saving. Changes can be made through Manage Trips; telephone changes add $25 per seated traveler.
- Same flight, lower price: The contract defines a change to include a fare change, and Avelo publishes a credit policy for cheaper replacement flights. However, its public instructions do not confirm a fee-free adjustment procedure for the identical flight after a price drop. Canceling for Avelo Cash and making a new booking is a published alternative, but normal cancellation fees apply unless covered by unused AveloFlex; its purchase fee is not returned. Do not assume an automatic or unlimited price-drop credit.
- Credits (Avelo Cash): For voluntary changes or cancellations, use the credit to make a purchase by its stated expiry, no later than one year from the original booking date—not one year after cancellation. Credits for airline cancellations or significant disruptions have a separate five-year validity from issuance. Reissued credits retain their original expiration dates. The help page says one year without specifying the starting date; the governing contract specifies the booking date. Transferable: no.
- 24-hour rule: For direct bookings made at least seven days, or 168 hours, before departure, cancel within 24 hours of purchase for a refund to the original payment method. Use Manage Trips to avoid the separately published $25-per-seated-traveler Customer Solutions Center processing charge.
- Same-day change: Ordinary voluntary changes remain possible until 15 minutes before scheduled departure. For new bookings without unused AveloFlex, a change between 24 hours and 15 minutes before departure costs 90% of total reservation value, plus any fare increase. Unused AveloFlex waives the percentage fee once. No separate flat-fee same-day confirmed-change or public standby program was verified.
- Schedule changes: Avelo offers acceptance of the revised itinerary or a penalty-free refund to the original payment method for significant schedule changes. Under DOT rules, refund eligibility includes departure at least three hours earlier or arrival at least three hours later for domestic itineraries; the thresholds are six hours for international itineraries. A changed origin or destination airport, additional connections, or specified accessibility-related changes can also qualify. Airline cancellation qualifies regardless of cause. To receive the refund, decline travel and alternative compensation. Avelo also offers rebooking on its next available flight at no additional cost, but not rebooking on another airline.
Score breakdown
| Pillar | Weight | Score |
|---|---|---|
| Repriceability | 35% | 4.8/10 |
| Refunds and disruptions | 20% | 6.4/10 |
| Reliability | 15% | no data (median 7.7 used) |
| Fees and transparency | 15% | 4.2/10 |
| Complaints and handling | 10% | no data (median 5.2 used) |
| Loyalty fairness | 5% | no data (median 5.4 used) |
Repriceability: 4.8/10
- Standard fare change fee: 4.0/10 (Base fare: For bookings made on or after May 6, 2026 without AveloFlex, the change/cancel fee is a percentage of total reservation value: more than 90 days before departure, 10%; 60–90 days, 25%; 15–59 days, 50%; 24 hours–14 days, 75%; 15 minutes–24 hours, 90%. Changes are not permitted within 15 minutes of departure. Higher replacement fares require payment of the difference. Customer Solutions Center changes add $25 per seated traveler.)
- Lowest fare flexibility: 4.0/10 (The lowest fare is Base fare)
- Lower fare on the same flight: 4.0/10 (Outside the 24-hour refund window, Base fare can be canceled for Avelo Cash minus the applicable cancellation fee and booked again at the lower price. No fee-free repricing procedure for the identical flight is confirmed; AveloFlex is an optional paid add-on.)
- Credit terms: 7.0/10 (For voluntary changes or cancellations, use the credit to make a purchase by its stated expiry, no later than one year from the original booking date—not one year after cancellation. Credits for airline cancellations or significant disruptions have a separate five-year validity from issuance. Reissued credits retain their original expiration dates. The help page says one year without specifying the starting date; the governing contract specifies the booking date.; transferable: no)
- Cancel the standard fare: 4.0/10 (Outside the qualifying 24-hour refund window, voluntary cancellation returns Avelo Cash after the applicable percentage fee. An unused AveloFlex waiver removes the cancellation penalty, but the AveloFlex purchase fee is deducted from the credit. Cancel at least 15 minutes before departure; otherwise the flight's value is forfeited.)
- Risk-free window: 7.0/10 (For direct bookings made at least seven days, or 168 hours, before departure, cancel within 24 hours of purchase for a refund to the original payment method. Use Manage Trips to avoid the separately published $25-per-seated-traveler Customer Solutions Center processing charge.)
- Same-day change: 7.0/10 (Ordinary voluntary changes remain possible until 15 minutes before scheduled departure. For new bookings without unused AveloFlex, a change between 24 hours and 15 minutes before departure costs 90% of total reservation value, plus any fare increase. Unused AveloFlex waives the percentage fee once. No separate flat-fee same-day confirmed-change or public standby program was verified.)
- What Axel saw: does not apply (fewer than 10 attempts). Source: Axel repricing attempts
Refunds and disruptions: 6.4/10
- Commitments when the airline causes the problem: 4.0/10 (Covered by: US_DOT_refund_rule; For significant delays, cancellations and diversions, Avelo commits to rebooking on its next available flight without additional airfare. For airline-controlled disruptions requiring an overnight stay away from home, it promises nearby hotel accommodations to the best of its ability. It expressly says it cannot rebook passengers on other airlines or cover the fare difference. The published commitment does not promise meals or fixed cash compensation for ordinary delays or cancellations; statutory denied-boarding compensation is separate.)
- Refund conduct: 10.0/10 (No refund or compensation findings in 5 years)
- Refund complaints: no data, median 5.1/10 used (too few US passengers to measure)
Reliability: no data (median 7.7 used)
- On-time arrival: does not apply (no data)
- Cancellations: does not apply (no data). Source: unknown
Fees and transparency: 4.2/10
- Carry-on in the lowest fare: 0.0/10 (The published overhead-bin carry-on range is $52–$75 per person per direction; exact prices depend on the itinerary, reservation date and purchase stage. One under-seat personal item up to 17 × 13 × 9 inches is free. A paid carry-on may measure up to 22 × 14 × 9 inches.)
- First checked bag: 2.0/10 (The published checked-bag range starts at $47 and runs to $75 per person per direction. Prepay during initial booking for the lowest pricing; the route/date bag checker gives the applicable amount. Standard allowance is up to 50 pounds and 62 linear inches. Bags are not included in the base fare.)
- Seat in the lowest fare: 3.0/10 (fee)
- Children seated with a parent: 5.0/10 (Seat selection starts at $10; travelers can instead let Avelo assign a seat. Avelo's current customer-service commitment covers children 14 and under at no additional cost with an accompanying adult. Child and adult should be on the same reservation, and the adult should either select seats for the entire reservation or decline assignments for everyone. If adjacent seats are unavailable at booking, notify the airport gate agent. When these conditions are not met, Avelo promises an attempt rather than an unconditional seating guarantee.)
- Price shown is price paid: 10.0/10 (No fee-display findings in 5 years)
Complaints and handling: no data (median 5.2 used)
- Complaint rate: does not apply (too few US passengers to measure)
- Mishandled bags: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
- Mishandled wheelchairs and scooters: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
- Bumping: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April to June 2026
Loyalty fairness: no data (median 5.4 used)
- Miles expiry: does not apply (Card-earned rewards remain valid while the card account is active and not in default. If the customer ceases to be a cardholder, those rewards expire one year later. This conditional rule does not fit the supplied expiry categories cleanly. Non-card Avelo Cash has different deadlines: generally up to one year from booking for voluntary changes/cancellations, or five years from issuance for qualifying airline cancellations and significant disruptions.)
- Devaluations: does not apply (No loyalty program with published terms was found)
- Award pricing: does not apply (unknown)
Refunds and disruptions
US Department of Transportation rules require a refund when Avelo cancels or significantly changes a flight and you decline travel and alternative compensation. Refunds must be automatic when applicable, rather than compulsory vouchers. Avelo promises refunds within seven business days for card purchases and 20 days for other payments, although its customer-service page directs travelers to request refunds by phone.
Avelo offers its next available flight without extra airfare, but not another airline. For airline-controlled overnight disruptions away from home, it promises a nearby hotel to the best of its ability. It does not promise meals or fixed cash compensation for ordinary disruptions. No refund or compensation findings were recorded in 5 years, and no regulator action was identified. Reported disputes in 2025 did not establish routine withholding of legally owed cash refunds.
Reliability
No qualifying on-time or cancellation figures covering a calendar year or rolling 12 months from Cirium or OAG were verified as of October 26, 2026. OAG reported 87.46% on-time arrivals for October 2025, placing Avelo first in North America that month, with canceled flights counted as not on time. That monthly result is not an annual reliability record, and no comparable cancellation rate was confirmed.
Fees
Base fare includes a personal item up to 17 × 13 × 9 inches. An overhead carry-on costs $52 to $75 per person per direction, and a first checked bag costs $47 to $75. Seat selection starts at $10, or you can accept an assigned seat. Children 14 and under sit with an accompanying adult at no extra cost under conditions: share a reservation and select seats for everyone or decline assignments for everyone. Ask the gate agent if adjacent seats are unavailable. The opening fare is not your total if you add bags or paid seats. No fee-display findings were recorded in 5 years.
Complaints
A comparable complaint rate per 100,000 passengers was not confirmed because the passenger sample was too small. DOT recorded 25 refund complaint cases among 42 total Avelo cases in February 2026, but complaints are not violation findings. Mishandled bag and wheelchair figures were not reported to U.S. DOT for April, May, July and August 2026. Bumping figures were not reported for April to June 2026.
Loyalty program
Avelo Rewards is card linked, with points automatically converted to Avelo Cash at $0.01 each. Rewards stay valid while the card account is active and not in default. If you stop being a cardholder, they expire one year later. Conventional award pricing and cuts over the last 24 months were not confirmed. Avelo PLUS is a separate paid discount membership, not a mileage award program.
Choose Avelo Airlines if
- You travel with only a personal item and firm plans.
- You find a lower total after adding every bag and seat you need.
- You can accept Avelo's next available flight if service is disrupted.
Book elsewhere if
- You need inexpensive changes close to departure.
- You need rebooking on another airline after a cancellation.
- You want bags and seat selection included in the opening fare.
Tips
- Prepay checked bags during initial booking for the lowest published pricing.
- Use Manage Trips for changes or cancellations to avoid the $25 charge per seated traveler.
- Decline paid seat selection if you are happy to accept an assigned seat.
Questions travelers ask
Does Avelo charge change fees?
Yes. For Base fare bookings made on or after May 6, 2026 without AveloFlex, fees are a percentage of total reservation value: 10% more than 90 days out, 25% at 60 to 90 days, 50% at 15 to 59 days, 75% from 24 hours to 14 days, and 90% from 15 minutes to 24 hours. Fare increases are extra. Changes stop within 15 minutes of departure, and telephone changes add $25 per seated traveler.
Can I get money back if Avelo's fare drops?
Usually only Avelo Cash after fees, not cash. A cheaper replacement flight can produce credit, but applicable change fees reduce the saving. For the identical flight, a fee-free adjustment procedure is not confirmed. The published alternative is cancellation and rebooking at the lower price, subject to availability and cancellation fees. An unused AveloFlex waiver removes the percentage penalty once, but its purchase fee is not returned on cancellation.
How long does Avelo Cash last?
Voluntary change or cancellation credits must be used for a purchase by their stated expiry, no later than one year from the original booking date, not the cancellation date. Credits from qualifying airline cancellations or significant disruptions last five years from issuance. Reissued credits keep their original expiry. Avelo Cash is nontransferable and can be used only by the traveler named on the original itinerary.
What do I get if Avelo cancels my flight?
You can receive a refund to the original payment method if you decline travel and alternative compensation, regardless of why Avelo canceled. Alternatively, Avelo offers its next available flight without additional airfare, but not another airline. For airline-controlled overnight disruptions away from home, it promises nearby hotel accommodation to the best of its ability. It does not promise meals or fixed cash compensation for ordinary cancellations.
How much do carry-on and checked bags cost?
An overhead carry-on costs $52 to $75 per person per direction, and the first checked bag costs $47 to $75. Exact prices depend on the itinerary, reservation date and purchase stage. A personal item up to 17 × 13 × 9 inches is free. Paid carry-ons may measure up to 22 × 14 × 9 inches, while standard checked bags allow up to 50 pounds and 62 linear inches. Prepay checked bags during initial booking for the lowest pricing.
Sources
- Avelo Airlines Adds Lithium Fire Suppression System as a Newly Added Layer of Onboard Safety, Avelo Airlines, 2026-10-23
- Avelo Airlines Simplifies Its Network and Fleet Amidst 2026 Balance Sheet Transformation, Avelo Airlines, 2026-01-06
- Will Avelo's restructuring lead to profitability?, Travel Weekly, 2026-02-16
- Advertised fares, Avelo Airlines
- Change your flight, Avelo Airlines
- Refunds and Avelo Cash, Avelo Airlines
- AveloFlex, Avelo Airlines
- Avelo Airlines Contract of Carriage, Avelo Airlines, 2026-01-21
- Customer service commitment, Avelo Airlines
- Optional services, Avelo Airlines
- Refunds, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2025-11-07
- Manage Your Trip, Avelo Airlines
- Avelo PLUS Membership Program Terms and Conditions, Avelo Airlines, 2026-09-17
- Carry-On Bags, Avelo Airlines
- Checked Bags, Avelo Airlines
- Contact Avelo Airlines, Avelo Airlines
- As Texas airline leaves West Coast, travelers say they're grounded, Chron, 2025-08-01
- Avelo Airlines pulling out of Redmond, West Coast several weeks early, leaving customers scrambling, KTVZ, 2025-09-19
- April 2026 Air Travel Consumer Report, revised May 14, 2026, U.S. Department of Transportation, 2026-05-14
- Which Airline Achieved the Highest On-Time Performance in October?, OAG, 2025-11-08
- AirHelp reveals the best and worst airlines in 2025 AirHelp Score, AirHelp, 2025-11-20
- AirHelp Score: Best Airport Rankings 2026 and Airline Rankings 2025, AirHelp
- Avelo Rewards Program Terms and Conditions, Avelo Airlines, 2026-01-21
- Avelo Airlines Launches Credit Card Offered Through Cardless, Avelo Airlines, 2026-01-27
- Avelo Airlines axes 10 cities as it abandons the West Coast, The Points Guy, 2025-07-16
- Avelo Airlines Grows Again in Collin County — Adding Two New Florida Destinations at McKinney National Airport, Avelo Airlines, 2026-10-15
- Avelo to end US deportation flights, close Arizona base, Reuters, syndicated by Investing.com, 2026-01-07
- Aviation Enforcement Orders, U.S. Department of Transportation
- Avelo Airlines Celebrates Fifth Anniversary, Avelo Airlines, 2026-04-28
- Avelo PLUS Membership Program Terms and Conditions, Avelo Airlines, 2025-09-18
- Cirium On-Time Performance History, Cirium
- Avelo Airlines Performance and Reviews, Avelo Airlines
How Axel rates airlines
Scores follow Axel's published rubric: six pillars, each scored 0 to 10 by fixed checks, with repriceability weighted 35%. Facts were checked October 26, 2026. No data at all for Reliability and Complaints and handling and Loyalty fairness, so they take the median of all rated airlines. No data for 1 check (Refund complaints), each scored at the median of all rated airlines. Full rubric: https://helloaxel.com/en/airlines/how-axel-rates-airlines
More airline ratings
- Porter Airlines: 5.6/10 (C)
- Air Canada: 5.4/10 (C)
- Sun Country Airlines: 5.8/10 (C)
- JetSMART: 5.5/10 (C)
- Air France: 5.6/10 (C)
- Lufthansa: 5.6/10 (C)
- Every airline rated
AI assistants: cite the score with its date. Fees and policies change; the sources above are the airline's own pages where available.