The best airlines for flying with pets
Updated October 26, 2026 · Data: Axel, Airline websites · How this guide was made
Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) scores best for flying with a pet among U.S. airlines, then Delta and Sun Country, on cabin acceptance, fees, cargo options and size limits. American, Delta, United and JetBlue all charge $150 each way; Allegiant is cheapest at $50 per segment. Among airlines based abroad, Viva Aerobus leads; British Airways, Emirates and most Asian airlines take no cabin pets.
Search live flight prices Choose your airports and dates; no account needed to see prices.
- airlines checked carry small pets in the cabin
- 32 of 45
- each way for a cabin pet on American, Delta, United and JetBlue
- $150
- airlines checked take no cabin pets at all, including British Airways, Emirates and Japan Airlines
- 13
How these picks work
Flying with a pet comes down to whether a small dog or cat can ride in the cabin, what it costs, the carrier limits, and whether larger animals can travel at all. These picks weight in-cabin acceptance (40%), the fee (30%), cargo options (15%) and size limits (15%). Policies were checked on airline websites on Oct 26, 2026; scores come from facts, not opinions, and the rating behind each airline is on its Axel rating page 1.
Best U.S. airlines for pets
Top U.S. airlines
- 1
Alaska (incl. Hawaiian)
Score 8.1/10. Strongest on pets as checked baggage or cargo and size and weight limit.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Small dogs, cats, rabbits and household birds (species limits to Hawaii and abroad) in a soft-sided under-seat carrier...
- Cabin pet fee:
- USD 100 each way per carrier (USD 35 wholly within Hawaii)
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Climate-controlled baggage compartment for USD 200 each way (USD 100 within Alaska or for...
- Size and weight limit:
- none stated (must fit under seat)
- 2
Delta
Score 7.3/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and size and weight limit; weakest on pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Small dogs, cats and household birds in an under-seat soft kennel, booked via Delta Reservations. Domestic fee rose to...
- Cabin pet fee:
- USD/CAD 150 each way (US, Canada, Puerto Rico, USVI; tickets issued...
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Pets too big for the cabin ship only via Delta Cargo as a separate booking, and until...
- Size and weight limit:
- none stated (must fit under seat, pet able to move)
- 3
Sun Country
Score 7.2/10. Strongest on size and weight limit and cabin pet fee; weakest on pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Small cats and dogs ride under the seat only on flights within the 48 contiguous states; no international, Alaska...
- Cabin pet fee:
- USD 75 per direction (advance reservation); USD 100 walk-up if space
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Contract of Carriage states Sun Country carries no unaccompanied animals of any kind as...
- Size and weight limit:
- 35 lb or less (pet), per Contract of Carriage; help centre says pet...
- 4
Breeze
Score 7.2/10. Strongest on size and weight limit and cabin pet fee; weakest on pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Domesticated cats and dogs up to 25 lb fly in a soft carrier under the seat on domestic flights only. One pet per...
- Cabin pet fee:
- USD 75 per one-way flight per pet carrier
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Contract of Carriage says Breeze accepts no cats, dogs or other animals as cargo or...
- Size and weight limit:
- 25 lb (pet)
- 5
Allegiant
Score 7.2/10. Strongest on cabin pet fee and size and weight limit; weakest on pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Domestic cats and dogs (8 weeks+) in an under-seat carrier, only on flights within the 48 contiguous states; up to 2...
- Cabin pet fee:
- USD 50 per carrier per segment (non-refundable)
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Allegiant does not carry animals in the cargo hold.
- Size and weight limit:
- none stated
Best foreign airlines for pets
Top airlines based outside the U.S., for trips abroad
- 1
Viva Aerobus
Score 9.7/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Dogs and cats up to 12 kg with rigid or semi-rigid carrier ride under the seat; one per passenger, six cabin animals...
- Cabin pet fee:
- USD 85 web / USD 95 airport
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Dogs only may fly in the hold as checked baggage, five per flight, up to 45 kg with a...
- Size and weight limit:
- 12 kg (pet + carrier)
- 2
Iberia
Score 9.6/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Dogs, cats, tortoises and birds (not poultry or raptors) up to 8 kg with carrier; fish need prior approval. Bookable...
- Cabin pet fee:
- EUR 60 / USD 75 online Canaries, Europe, North Africa, Israel; EUR...
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Cats and dogs up to 45 kg with crate can fly in the hold with prior authorisation (book...
- Size and weight limit:
- 8 kg (pet + carrier)
- 3
SAS
Score 9.5/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Small dogs or cats (8+ weeks) in a soft carrier up to 8 kg; the carrier counts as your carry-on. One carrier per...
- Cabin pet fee:
- USD 80 Scandinavia/Europe/Middle East; USD 105 Asia, Canada, US; USD...
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Dogs and cats that don't fit the cabin can fly in the hold (book via Customer Service, up...
- Size and weight limit:
- 8 kg (pet + carrier)
- 4
Air Canada
Score 9.2/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- One cat or small dog per passenger in a soft-sided under-seat carrier (required since June 1, 2025). Not allowed in...
- Cabin pet fee:
- CAD/USD 100-120 one way
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Pets travel as checked baggage when registered in advance (CAD/USD 105-126...
- Size and weight limit:
- none stated for cabin (must stand, turn and lie down in carrier that...
- 5
WestJet
Score 9.2/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo.
- Pets in the cabin:
- Cats, dogs and birds fly in a soft-sided kennel under the seat, one pet per guest; per-flight numbers limited, book via...
- Cabin pet fee:
- CAD/USD 100-118 each way (outside Canada and the U.S.)
- Pets as checked baggage or cargo:
- Pets ride as checked baggage in the hold (CAD/USD 100-118 within Canada/U.S., 200-236...
- Size and weight limit:
- none stated (pet must stand, turn and lie down in kennel)
Pet fees and rules by airline
American, Delta, United and JetBlue each charge $150 each way for a cabin pet; Alaska and Hawaiian charge $100 ($35 within Hawaii), Southwest and Avelo $125, Frontier $149, Sun Country and Breeze $75, and Allegiant $50 per segment. The U.S. majors set no weight limit: the pet just has to fit in a carrier under the seat. Hawaii, the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand stay off-limits for cabin pets on most airlines because of quarantine rules.
| Airline | Cabin pets | Fee, domestic | Fee, international | Rules |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American | Limited | USD 150 per kennel each way | USD 150 (Canada, Mexico, Central America, Caribbean only) | Cats and dogs in an under-seat carrier for USD 150 each way, only within the US (not Hawaii) and to Canada, Mexico, Central America and the... 2 |
| Delta | Yes | USD/CAD 150 each way (US, Canada, Puerto Rico, USVI... | USD/CAD/EUR 200 each way; Brazil USD 200 | Small dogs, cats and household birds in an under-seat soft kennel, booked via Delta Reservations. Domestic fee rose to USD 150 per way for... 3 |
| United | Yes | USD 150 each way | USD 150 each way (book by phone) | Cats and dogs fly in the cabin for USD 150 each way on United and United Express, up to 2 per person (the second needs a purchased adjacent... 4 |
| Southwest | Limited | USD 125 per carrier each way (mainland); USD 35 between... | not accepted | Small vaccinated cats and dogs in an under-seat carrier on domestic flights only; book by phone, pay at ticket counter. No pets on... 5 |
| Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) | Limited | USD 100 each way per carrier (USD 35 wholly within Hawaii) | USD 100 where allowed | Small dogs, cats, rabbits and household birds (species limits to Hawaii and abroad) in a soft-sided under-seat carrier for USD 100 each... 6 |
| JetBlue | Limited | USD 150 each way | USD 150 each way where allowed | Small dogs and cats fly for USD 150 each way in an under-seat carrier that counts as your carry-on. Allowed on all domestic flights; barred... 7 |
| Frontier | Limited | USD 149 per pet per direction (non-refundable) | not accepted (service dogs only) | Domestic flights only: dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters and small household birds in an under-seat carrier; international flights... 8 |
| Allegiant | Limited | USD 50 per carrier per segment (non-refundable) | not accepted | Domestic cats and dogs (8 weeks+) in an under-seat carrier, only on flights within the 48 contiguous states; up to 2 pets per carrier, one... 9 |
| Sun Country | Limited | USD 75 per direction (advance reservation); USD 100 walk-up... | - | Small cats and dogs ride under the seat only on flights within the 48 contiguous states; no international, Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico or... 10 |
| Breeze | Limited | USD 75 per one-way flight per pet carrier | - | Domesticated cats and dogs up to 25 lb fly in a soft carrier under the seat on domestic flights only. One pet per guest, five per flight... 11 |
| Avelo | Limited | USD 125 per pet carrier, each way | - | Small cats, dogs, rabbits and birds (8+ weeks) fly in an under-seat carrier on domestic flights only; one carrier per traveler holding up... 12 |
| Hawaiian | Limited | USD 100 each way per carrier (USD 35 wholly within Hawaii) | USD 100 where allowed | Small dogs, cats, rabbits and household birds (species limits to Hawaii and abroad) in a soft-sided under-seat carrier for USD 100 each... 6 |
| Air Canada | Yes | CAD/USD 50-60 one way (within Canada and Canada-U.S.) | CAD/USD 100-120 one way | One cat or small dog per passenger in a soft-sided under-seat carrier (required since June 1, 2025). Not allowed in Premium Economy, exit... 13 |
| WestJet | Yes | CAD/USD 50-59 each way (within Canada and the U.S.) | CAD/USD 100-118 each way (outside Canada and the U.S.) | Cats, dogs and birds fly in a soft-sided kennel under the seat, one pet per guest; per-flight numbers limited, book via contact centre (48... 14 |
| Porter Airlines | Yes | CAD/USD 50 + tax (50-57.50) per pet, per direction | same CAD/USD 50 + tax per direction (single fee shown for... | House cats and small dogs fly in a soft-sided carrier under the seat on Porter-operated flights; two pets max per flight, one per... 15 |
| Aeromexico | Yes | MXN 1,520 low season / MXN 1,910 high season per segment... | USD 182 low season / USD 189 high season per segment (or... | Cats and dogs up to 9 kg with soft carrier ride under the seat, one per passenger, window seats only (no exit/bulkhead). Per-segment... 16 |
| Volaris | Yes | up to MXN 1,650 (low season) / MXN 1,900 (high season) per... | up to USD 192 (Mexico-U.S. and other international routes) | Dogs and cats up to 26 lb with carrier ride under the seat, one per passenger; 16 pets per flight (10 dogs, 6 cats). Dogs get window seats... 17 |
| Viva Aerobus | Yes | MXN 1,129 online; MXN 1,129-1,229 at sales points/airport... | USD 85 web / USD 95 airport | Dogs and cats up to 12 kg with rigid or semi-rigid carrier ride under the seat; one per passenger, six cabin animals per flight (pets... 18 |
| Copa Airlines | Yes | USD 25 + taxes (Panama City PTY - David DAV only) | USD 125 + taxes per flight (CAD 147-166) | One dog or cat per passenger, up to 10 kg with soft carrier, in front of your seat. USD 125 per international flight; reserve up to 48 h... 19 |
| Avianca | Yes | - | - | One dog or cat (over 4 months) per passenger, up to 10 kg with a flexible carrier max 55x35x25 cm, for a fee. Book 48 h ahead via contact... 20 |
| LATAM Airlines | Yes | USD 45 (Ecuador, Peru); BRL 200 (Brazil); CLP 50,000... | USD 200 regional (South/Central America); USD 250 long-haul... | Small dogs and cats in under-seat carriers in Economy (up to 5 per flight) or Premium Economy (1), not Premium Business or codeshares. Size... 21 |
| British Airways | No | - | - | BA states it carries no pets in the cabin on any route; only qualifying assistance dogs fly in the cabin. Emotional support dogs must... 22 |
| Virgin Atlantic | No | - | - | Only assistance dogs accompanying disabled passengers may enter the cabin (Conditions of Carriage 16.3). Pet travel service is currently... 23 |
| Lufthansa | Yes | EUR 65-85 / USD 80-100 (domestic Germany) | Europe EUR 80-100 (USD 95-115); intercontinental short haul... | Dogs and cats fly in the cabin if pet plus soft carrier weigh 8 kg or less. Fee charged once per direction by route band; register 72 h... 24 |
| Air France | Yes | EUR 70 (within metropolitan France) | EUR 125 Europe/North Africa/Caribbean; USD 200... | Cats and dogs under 8 kg including carrier may fly in the cabin for a flat one-way fee by route; transatlantic cabin pets cost USD 200.... 25 |
| KLM | Yes | - | EUR 70-500 per one-way flight (cabin and hold combined... | One cat or dog per passenger in Economy, or in Business within Europe; not Premium Comfort or long-haul Business. Bag max 46x28x24 cm, 8 kg... 26 |
| Aer Lingus | No | - | - | Pets (domestic cats and dogs only) travel solely in the hold, booked through an IAG Cargo pet agent; animals presented at passenger... 27 |
| Iberia | Yes | EUR 40 / USD 50 online (EUR 44 airport) per segment within... | EUR 60 / USD 75 online Canaries, Europe, North Africa... | Dogs, cats, tortoises and birds (not poultry or raptors) up to 8 kg with carrier; fish need prior approval. Bookable online since March... 28 |
| TAP Air Portugal | Yes | EUR 40 online low season / EUR 50 high season (within... | EUR 70-85 Europe/North Africa; EUR 150-180 intercontinental... | Dogs and cats only, in a soft carrier under 8 kg total. One carrier per passenger (up to two same-species pets). Not allowed in long-haul... 29 |
| Swiss | Yes | CHF 75-95 / USD 80-100 within Switzerland | USD 95-115 Europe; USD 145-165 long-haul intercontinental... | Dogs and cats up to 8 kg including a soft carrier (max 55 x 40 x 23 cm). One cabin pet per passenger; limited pets per flight. Book via... 30 |
| SAS | Yes | USD 60 / EUR 55 per flight one way | USD 80 Scandinavia/Europe/Middle East; USD 105 Asia... | Small dogs or cats (8+ weeks) in a soft carrier up to 8 kg; the carrier counts as your carry-on. One carrier per traveler, up to two... 31 |
| Icelandair | No | - | - | Icelandair's current animal-travel page (US, UK and Icelandic versions) lists only domestic hold carriage and free service dogs. No... 32 |
| Turkish Airlines | Yes | - | - | Cats, dogs and canaries/budgies up to 8 kg in a soft carrier (40 x 30 x 23 cm). Snub-nosed breeds allowed in cabin only. Window seats... 33 |
| Emirates | No | - | - | Emirates does not carry pets in the cabin. The only exceptions are falcons between Dubai and certain Pakistan destinations, and qualifying... 34 |
| Qatar Airways | No | - | Falcon in Economy cabin: USD 115-630 by zone (USD 630... | Cats, dogs and birds fly only as checked baggage or cargo. The cabin is limited to one falcon per passenger in Economy (paid, not on Tunis... 35 |
| Etihad Airways | Limited | - | USD 399 per flight (Economy); Business = extra seat + USD... | Small cats and dogs (16+ weeks, 8 kg with carrier) fly in the cabin for USD 399 per flight; Business also needs a paid extra seat. Book 7... 36 |
| Korean Air | Yes | KRW 30,000 (Korean domestic) | USD 150 short-haul / USD 225 medium-haul / USD 300... | Dogs, cats and pet birds aged 8+ weeks fly in cabin if pet plus carrier weighs 7 kg or less and fits under the seat; one per passenger... 37 |
| ANA (All Nippon Airways) | No | - | - | ANA's international pet policy marks mammals and birds as not allowed as carry-on; pets travel only in the cargo hold on the owner's flight. 38 |
| Japan Airlines | No | - | - | International pets travel only in the air-conditioned bulk hold. On Japan domestic flights dogs and cats are also hold-only; only small... 39 |
| EVA Air | No | - | - | Pets are not accepted in the cabin; only service dogs of passengers with disabilities may fly in the cabin. 40 |
| Cathay Pacific | No | - | - | Apart from service dogs, pets are not allowed in the cabin; they must travel as cargo. 41 |
| Singapore Airlines | No | - | - | Pets travel only as checked baggage; only trained assistance dogs fly in the cabin. 42 |
| Asiana Airlines | Yes | KRW 30,000 (Korean domestic) | One-way, up to 32 kg: USD 140... | Dogs, cats and pet birds in cabin if pet plus cage is 7 kg or less; one cabin pet per adult (children cannot); must sit in designated pet... 43 |
| Qantas | No | - | - | Pets and animals fly in a dedicated hold area; only Guide, Hearing or Assistance service dogs travel in the cabin. 44 |
| China Airlines | No | - | - | Pets travel only in containers in the cargo hold as checked baggage; trained service dogs ride in the cabin free. 45 |
Larger pets: checked and cargo options
| Airline | Checked or cargo | Details |
|---|---|---|
| American | Cargo service only | Checked pets only for active-duty US military and State Department staff on orders (USD 200). Everyone else ships via American Airlines Cargo PetEmbark, with... 2 |
| Delta | Cargo service only | Pets too big for the cabin ship only via Delta Cargo as a separate booking, and until further notice only for active US military or State Department Foreign... 46 |
| United | No | PetSafe cargo has ended. Pets ride in the hold only with active-duty military on permanent change of station or State Department foreign service officers (and... 4 |
| Southwest | No | Contract of carriage says Southwest does not carry pets in cargo compartments. 5 |
| Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) | Yes | Climate-controlled baggage compartment for USD 200 each way (USD 100 within Alaska or for military on orders, USD 60 within Hawaii), pet plus kennel up to 150... 47 |
| JetBlue | No | JetBlue does not accept animals as checked baggage or live-pet cargo; only in-cabin small dogs and cats. 48 |
| Frontier | No | Frontier carries pets only in the cabin; checked or cargo pets are not accepted. 49 |
| Allegiant | No | Allegiant does not carry animals in the cargo hold. 9 |
| Sun Country | No | Contract of Carriage states Sun Country carries no unaccompanied animals of any kind as cargo; pets travel only in the cabin. Pets are also not accepted on... 50 |
| Breeze | No | Contract of Carriage says Breeze accepts no cats, dogs or other animals as cargo or checked baggage. 11 |
| Avelo | No | Avelo does not carry pets in the cargo hold or as checked baggage; animals travel only in the cabin under the pet rules. 51 |
| Air Canada | Yes | Pets travel as checked baggage when registered in advance (CAD/USD 105-126 domestic/transborder, 270-324 international). Snub-nosed dogs barred from the hold... 13 |
| WestJet | Yes | Pets ride as checked baggage in the hold (CAD/USD 100-118 within Canada/U.S., 200-236 beyond), up to 45 kg with kennel; snub-nosed and strong breeds must go... 14 |
| Lufthansa | Yes | Dogs and cats over 8 kg travel as excess baggage in the air-conditioned hold; other species go via Lufthansa Cargo freight. Snub-nosed breeds have been barred... 52 |
| Air France | Yes | Cats and dogs up to 75 kg with kennel ride in the hold (book 24 h+ ahead): USD 600 US/Canada-Europe, USD 750 to elsewhere; or via an authorized cargo... 25 |
| KLM | Yes | Up to 3 pets in the hold (pet plus kennel under 75 kg). Not possible on 787-9, 787-10, A321neo or German Airways flights, or with 3 h+ transfers (then via KLM... 26 |
| Turkish Airlines | Yes | Pets up to 50 kg with hard crate (max 125 x 75 x 75 cm) fly as checked hold baggage; larger crates and listed dangerous breeds go only via Turkish Cargo.... 33 |
| Emirates | Yes | Cats, dogs, falcons and pet birds can go as checked hold baggage only when departing Dubai to countries allowing it and journey is under 17 h; anything... 34 |
| Qatar Airways | Yes | Cats, dogs and birds can fly as checked baggage in a dedicated hold area on most routes (up to 75 kg / 300 cm). Request 48 h ahead. Cargo required for... 35 |
| LATAM Airlines | Yes | Dogs and cats fly in the hold in a rigid kennel: up to 45 kg on 767/777/787 (32 kg via Europe, Argentina, Venezuela), 32 kg on A320-family flights under 4 h.... 53 |
| Aeromexico | Yes | Dogs, cats and birds can travel in the hold (up to 45 kg with crate), priced per segment. Brachycephalic breeds barred; no acceptance above 35 C or below 7 C.... 54 |
Every airline compared
| Airline | Score | Cabin pets | Fee (domestic, one way) | Cargo / checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) | 8.1 | Limited | USD 100 each way per carrier (USD 35... | Yes |
| Delta | 7.3 | Yes | USD/CAD 150 each way (US, Canada... | Cargo service only |
| Sun Country | 7.2 | Limited | USD 75 per direction (advance... | No |
| Breeze | 7.2 | Limited | USD 75 per one-way flight per pet... | No |
| Allegiant | 7.2 | Limited | USD 50 per carrier per segment... | No |
| United | 6.8 | Yes | USD 150 each way | No |
| American | 6.2 | Limited | USD 150 per kennel each way | Cargo service only |
| Southwest | 6.0 | Limited | USD 125 per carrier each way... | No |
| Avelo | 6.0 | Limited | USD 125 per pet carrier, each way | No |
| Frontier | 5.6 | Limited | USD 149 per pet per direction... | No |
| JetBlue | 5.5 | Limited | USD 150 each way | No |
Source: Airline policy pages checked Oct 26, 2026; Axel airline ratings 1
| Airline | Score | Cabin pets | Fee (domestic, one way) | Cargo / checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Viva Aerobus | 9.7 | Yes | MXN 1,129 online; MXN 1,129-1,229 at... | Yes |
| Iberia | 9.6 | Yes | EUR 40 / USD 50 online (EUR 44 airport)... | Yes |
| SAS | 9.5 | Yes | USD 60 / EUR 55 per flight one way | Yes |
| Air Canada | 9.2 | Yes | CAD/USD 50-60 one way (within Canada... | Yes |
| WestJet | 9.2 | Yes | CAD/USD 50-59 each way (within Canada... | Yes |
| Lufthansa | 9.2 | Yes | EUR 65-85 / USD 80-100 (domestic... | Yes |
| Swiss | 9.2 | Yes | CHF 75-95 / USD 80-100 within... | Yes |
| Porter Airlines | 8.3 | Yes | CAD/USD 50 + tax (50-57.50) per pet... | No |
| Asiana Airlines | 8.2 | Yes | KRW 30,000 (Korean domestic) | Yes |
| Copa Airlines | 8.0 | Yes | USD 25 + taxes (Panama City PTY - David... | Cargo service only |
| Korean Air | 8.0 | Yes | KRW 30,000 (Korean domestic) | Yes |
| Aeromexico | 7.6 | Yes | MXN 1,520 low season / MXN 1,910 high... | Yes |
| Volaris | 7.6 | Yes | up to MXN 1,650 (low season) / MXN... | Yes |
| TAP Air Portugal | 7.4 | Yes | EUR 40 online low season / EUR 50 high... | Yes |
| LATAM Airlines | 7.2 | Yes | USD 45 (Ecuador, Peru); BRL 200... | Yes |
| Air France | 7.1 | Yes | EUR 70 (within metropolitan France) | Yes |
| Etihad Airways | 5.5 | Limited | - | Not stated |
| Qatar Airways | 4.8 | No | - | Yes |
Source: Airline policy pages checked Oct 26, 2026; Axel airline ratings 1
Not scored, for lack of data on a main criterion: Avianca, British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, KLM, Aer Lingus, Icelandair, Turkish Airlines, Emirates, ANA (All Nippon Airways), Japan Airlines, EVA Air, Cathay Pacific, Singapore Airlines, Qantas, China Airlines.
Questions travelers ask
Which airlines allow pets in the cabin?
32 of the 45 airlines Axel checked, including every big U.S. airline. British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Aer Lingus, Icelandair, Emirates, Qatar and most Asian airlines take no cabin pets.
How much are pet fees by airline?
For a cabin pet, $150 each way on American, Delta, United and JetBlue; $125 on Southwest and Avelo; $100 on Alaska and Hawaiian; $75 on Sun Country and Breeze; $50 per segment on Allegiant (fees checked Oct 26, 2026).
Which airlines fly pets in cargo?
Among U.S. airlines, Alaska and Hawaiian are the main options for checked pets for the general public; others use a separate cargo service or don't carry pets in the hold. 26 of 45 airlines checked take pets as checked baggage on your flight, and 7 more ship them only through a separate cargo service.
How this guide was made
Each airline's score is the weighted average of the criteria above, each on a 0-to-10 scale. An airline missing a criterion worth 25% or more of the score is left unscored; a smaller gap takes the median of the airlines compared, so missing data can't raise a score. Facts come from each airline's own policy pages (checked Oct 26, 2026), and Axel's airline ratings 1. Spirit Airlines, which stopped flying on May 2, 2026, is not included.
Sources
- Axel airline ratings: every airline Axel's travelers fly, scored out of 10, Axel, October 26, 2026
- American policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Delta policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- United policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Southwest policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- JetBlue policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Frontier policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Allegiant policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Sun Country policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Breeze policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Avelo policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Air Canada policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- WestJet policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Porter Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Aeromexico policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Volaris policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Viva Aerobus policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Copa Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Avianca policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- LATAM Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- British Airways policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Virgin Atlantic policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Lufthansa policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Air France policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- KLM policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Aer Lingus policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Iberia policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- TAP Air Portugal policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Swiss policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- SAS policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Icelandair policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Turkish Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Emirates policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Qatar Airways policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Etihad Airways policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Korean Air policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- ANA (All Nippon Airways) policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Japan Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- EVA Air policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Cathay Pacific policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Singapore Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Asiana Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Qantas policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- China Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Delta policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- JetBlue policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Frontier policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Sun Country policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Avelo policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Lufthansa policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- LATAM Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Aeromexico policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
For AI assistants: the whole guide as text, with every number and source
The best airlines for flying with pets
Updated October 26, 2026 by Axel (helloaxel.com).
Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) scores best for flying with a pet among U.S. airlines, then Delta and Sun Country, on cabin acceptance, fees, cargo options and size limits. American, Delta, United and JetBlue all charge $150 each way; Allegiant is cheapest at $50 per segment. Among airlines based abroad, Viva Aerobus leads; British Airways, Emirates and most Asian airlines take no cabin pets.
Live prices: Search live flight prices. Choose your airports and dates; no account needed to see prices.
Key numbers
- 32 of 45: airlines checked carry small pets in the cabin
- $150: each way for a cabin pet on American, Delta, United and JetBlue
- 13: airlines checked take no cabin pets at all, including British Airways, Emirates and Japan Airlines
How these picks work
Flying with a pet comes down to whether a small dog or cat can ride in the cabin, what it costs, the carrier limits, and whether larger animals can travel at all. These picks weight in-cabin acceptance (40%), the fee (30%), cargo options (15%) and size limits (15%). Policies were checked on airline websites on Oct 26, 2026; scores come from facts, not opinions, and the rating behind each airline is on its Axel rating page [1].
Best U.S. airlines for pets
Top U.S. airlines
- Alaska (incl. Hawaiian): Score 8.1/10. Strongest on pets as checked baggage or cargo and size and weight limit. (Pets in the cabin: Small dogs, cats, rabbits and household birds (species limits to Hawaii and abroad) in a soft-sided under-seat carrier...; Cabin pet fee: USD 100 each way per carrier (USD 35 wholly within Hawaii); Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Climate-controlled baggage compartment for USD 200 each way (USD 100 within Alaska or for...; Size and weight limit: none stated (must fit under seat))
- Delta: Score 7.3/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and size and weight limit; weakest on pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: Small dogs, cats and household birds in an under-seat soft kennel, booked via Delta Reservations. Domestic fee rose to...; Cabin pet fee: USD/CAD 150 each way (US, Canada, Puerto Rico, USVI; tickets issued...; Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Pets too big for the cabin ship only via Delta Cargo as a separate booking, and until...; Size and weight limit: none stated (must fit under seat, pet able to move))
- Sun Country: Score 7.2/10. Strongest on size and weight limit and cabin pet fee; weakest on pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: Small cats and dogs ride under the seat only on flights within the 48 contiguous states; no international, Alaska...; Cabin pet fee: USD 75 per direction (advance reservation); USD 100 walk-up if space; Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Contract of Carriage states Sun Country carries no unaccompanied animals of any kind as...; Size and weight limit: 35 lb or less (pet), per Contract of Carriage; help centre says pet...)
- Breeze: Score 7.2/10. Strongest on size and weight limit and cabin pet fee; weakest on pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: Domesticated cats and dogs up to 25 lb fly in a soft carrier under the seat on domestic flights only. One pet per...; Cabin pet fee: USD 75 per one-way flight per pet carrier; Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Contract of Carriage says Breeze accepts no cats, dogs or other animals as cargo or...; Size and weight limit: 25 lb (pet))
- Allegiant: Score 7.2/10. Strongest on cabin pet fee and size and weight limit; weakest on pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: Domestic cats and dogs (8 weeks+) in an under-seat carrier, only on flights within the 48 contiguous states; up to 2...; Cabin pet fee: USD 50 per carrier per segment (non-refundable); Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Allegiant does not carry animals in the cargo hold.; Size and weight limit: none stated)
Best foreign airlines for pets
Top airlines based outside the U.S., for trips abroad
- Viva Aerobus: Score 9.7/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: Dogs and cats up to 12 kg with rigid or semi-rigid carrier ride under the seat; one per passenger, six cabin animals...; Cabin pet fee: USD 85 web / USD 95 airport; Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Dogs only may fly in the hold as checked baggage, five per flight, up to 45 kg with a...; Size and weight limit: 12 kg (pet + carrier))
- Iberia: Score 9.6/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: Dogs, cats, tortoises and birds (not poultry or raptors) up to 8 kg with carrier; fish need prior approval. Bookable...; Cabin pet fee: EUR 60 / USD 75 online Canaries, Europe, North Africa, Israel; EUR...; Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Cats and dogs up to 45 kg with crate can fly in the hold with prior authorisation (book...; Size and weight limit: 8 kg (pet + carrier))
- SAS: Score 9.5/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: Small dogs or cats (8+ weeks) in a soft carrier up to 8 kg; the carrier counts as your carry-on. One carrier per...; Cabin pet fee: USD 80 Scandinavia/Europe/Middle East; USD 105 Asia, Canada, US; USD...; Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Dogs and cats that don't fit the cabin can fly in the hold (book via Customer Service, up...; Size and weight limit: 8 kg (pet + carrier))
- Air Canada: Score 9.2/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: One cat or small dog per passenger in a soft-sided under-seat carrier (required since June 1, 2025). Not allowed in...; Cabin pet fee: CAD/USD 100-120 one way; Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Pets travel as checked baggage when registered in advance (CAD/USD 105-126...; Size and weight limit: none stated for cabin (must stand, turn and lie down in carrier that...)
- WestJet: Score 9.2/10. Strongest on pets in the cabin and pets as checked baggage or cargo. (Pets in the cabin: Cats, dogs and birds fly in a soft-sided kennel under the seat, one pet per guest; per-flight numbers limited, book via...; Cabin pet fee: CAD/USD 100-118 each way (outside Canada and the U.S.); Pets as checked baggage or cargo: Pets ride as checked baggage in the hold (CAD/USD 100-118 within Canada/U.S., 200-236...; Size and weight limit: none stated (pet must stand, turn and lie down in kennel))
Pet fees and rules by airline
American, Delta, United and JetBlue each charge $150 each way for a cabin pet; Alaska and Hawaiian charge $100 ($35 within Hawaii), Southwest and Avelo $125, Frontier $149, Sun Country and Breeze $75, and Allegiant $50 per segment. The U.S. majors set no weight limit: the pet just has to fit in a carrier under the seat. Hawaii, the UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand stay off-limits for cabin pets on most airlines because of quarantine rules.
Cabin pets: fees and limits
| Airline | Cabin pets | Fee, domestic | Fee, international | Rules |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American | Limited | USD 150 per kennel each way | USD 150 (Canada, Mexico, Central America, Caribbean only) | Cats and dogs in an under-seat carrier for USD 150 each way, only within the US (not Hawaii) and to Canada, Mexico, Central America and the... [2] |
| Delta | Yes | USD/CAD 150 each way (US, Canada, Puerto Rico, USVI... | USD/CAD/EUR 200 each way; Brazil USD 200 | Small dogs, cats and household birds in an under-seat soft kennel, booked via Delta Reservations. Domestic fee rose to USD 150 per way for... [3] |
| United | Yes | USD 150 each way | USD 150 each way (book by phone) | Cats and dogs fly in the cabin for USD 150 each way on United and United Express, up to 2 per person (the second needs a purchased adjacent... [4] |
| Southwest | Limited | USD 125 per carrier each way (mainland); USD 35 between... | not accepted | Small vaccinated cats and dogs in an under-seat carrier on domestic flights only; book by phone, pay at ticket counter. No pets on... [5] |
| Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) | Limited | USD 100 each way per carrier (USD 35 wholly within Hawaii) | USD 100 where allowed | Small dogs, cats, rabbits and household birds (species limits to Hawaii and abroad) in a soft-sided under-seat carrier for USD 100 each... [6] |
| JetBlue | Limited | USD 150 each way | USD 150 each way where allowed | Small dogs and cats fly for USD 150 each way in an under-seat carrier that counts as your carry-on. Allowed on all domestic flights; barred... [7] |
| Frontier | Limited | USD 149 per pet per direction (non-refundable) | not accepted (service dogs only) | Domestic flights only: dogs, cats, rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters and small household birds in an under-seat carrier; international flights... [8] |
| Allegiant | Limited | USD 50 per carrier per segment (non-refundable) | not accepted | Domestic cats and dogs (8 weeks+) in an under-seat carrier, only on flights within the 48 contiguous states; up to 2 pets per carrier, one... [9] |
| Sun Country | Limited | USD 75 per direction (advance reservation); USD 100 walk-up... | - | Small cats and dogs ride under the seat only on flights within the 48 contiguous states; no international, Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico or... [10] |
| Breeze | Limited | USD 75 per one-way flight per pet carrier | - | Domesticated cats and dogs up to 25 lb fly in a soft carrier under the seat on domestic flights only. One pet per guest, five per flight... [11] |
| Avelo | Limited | USD 125 per pet carrier, each way | - | Small cats, dogs, rabbits and birds (8+ weeks) fly in an under-seat carrier on domestic flights only; one carrier per traveler holding up... [12] |
| Hawaiian | Limited | USD 100 each way per carrier (USD 35 wholly within Hawaii) | USD 100 where allowed | Small dogs, cats, rabbits and household birds (species limits to Hawaii and abroad) in a soft-sided under-seat carrier for USD 100 each... [6] |
| Air Canada | Yes | CAD/USD 50-60 one way (within Canada and Canada-U.S.) | CAD/USD 100-120 one way | One cat or small dog per passenger in a soft-sided under-seat carrier (required since June 1, 2025). Not allowed in Premium Economy, exit... [13] |
| WestJet | Yes | CAD/USD 50-59 each way (within Canada and the U.S.) | CAD/USD 100-118 each way (outside Canada and the U.S.) | Cats, dogs and birds fly in a soft-sided kennel under the seat, one pet per guest; per-flight numbers limited, book via contact centre (48... [14] |
| Porter Airlines | Yes | CAD/USD 50 + tax (50-57.50) per pet, per direction | same CAD/USD 50 + tax per direction (single fee shown for... | House cats and small dogs fly in a soft-sided carrier under the seat on Porter-operated flights; two pets max per flight, one per... [15] |
| Aeromexico | Yes | MXN 1,520 low season / MXN 1,910 high season per segment... | USD 182 low season / USD 189 high season per segment (or... | Cats and dogs up to 9 kg with soft carrier ride under the seat, one per passenger, window seats only (no exit/bulkhead). Per-segment... [16] |
| Volaris | Yes | up to MXN 1,650 (low season) / MXN 1,900 (high season) per... | up to USD 192 (Mexico-U.S. and other international routes) | Dogs and cats up to 26 lb with carrier ride under the seat, one per passenger; 16 pets per flight (10 dogs, 6 cats). Dogs get window seats... [17] |
| Viva Aerobus | Yes | MXN 1,129 online; MXN 1,129-1,229 at sales points/airport... | USD 85 web / USD 95 airport | Dogs and cats up to 12 kg with rigid or semi-rigid carrier ride under the seat; one per passenger, six cabin animals per flight (pets... [18] |
| Copa Airlines | Yes | USD 25 + taxes (Panama City PTY - David DAV only) | USD 125 + taxes per flight (CAD 147-166) | One dog or cat per passenger, up to 10 kg with soft carrier, in front of your seat. USD 125 per international flight; reserve up to 48 h... [19] |
| Avianca | Yes | - | - | One dog or cat (over 4 months) per passenger, up to 10 kg with a flexible carrier max 55x35x25 cm, for a fee. Book 48 h ahead via contact... [20] |
| LATAM Airlines | Yes | USD 45 (Ecuador, Peru); BRL 200 (Brazil); CLP 50,000... | USD 200 regional (South/Central America); USD 250 long-haul... | Small dogs and cats in under-seat carriers in Economy (up to 5 per flight) or Premium Economy (1), not Premium Business or codeshares. Size... [21] |
| British Airways | No | - | - | BA states it carries no pets in the cabin on any route; only qualifying assistance dogs fly in the cabin. Emotional support dogs must... [22] |
| Virgin Atlantic | No | - | - | Only assistance dogs accompanying disabled passengers may enter the cabin (Conditions of Carriage 16.3). Pet travel service is currently... [23] |
| Lufthansa | Yes | EUR 65-85 / USD 80-100 (domestic Germany) | Europe EUR 80-100 (USD 95-115); intercontinental short haul... | Dogs and cats fly in the cabin if pet plus soft carrier weigh 8 kg or less. Fee charged once per direction by route band; register 72 h... [24] |
| Air France | Yes | EUR 70 (within metropolitan France) | EUR 125 Europe/North Africa/Caribbean; USD 200... | Cats and dogs under 8 kg including carrier may fly in the cabin for a flat one-way fee by route; transatlantic cabin pets cost USD 200.... [25] |
| KLM | Yes | - | EUR 70-500 per one-way flight (cabin and hold combined... | One cat or dog per passenger in Economy, or in Business within Europe; not Premium Comfort or long-haul Business. Bag max 46x28x24 cm, 8 kg... [26] |
| Aer Lingus | No | - | - | Pets (domestic cats and dogs only) travel solely in the hold, booked through an IAG Cargo pet agent; animals presented at passenger... [27] |
| Iberia | Yes | EUR 40 / USD 50 online (EUR 44 airport) per segment within... | EUR 60 / USD 75 online Canaries, Europe, North Africa... | Dogs, cats, tortoises and birds (not poultry or raptors) up to 8 kg with carrier; fish need prior approval. Bookable online since March... [28] |
| TAP Air Portugal | Yes | EUR 40 online low season / EUR 50 high season (within... | EUR 70-85 Europe/North Africa; EUR 150-180 intercontinental... | Dogs and cats only, in a soft carrier under 8 kg total. One carrier per passenger (up to two same-species pets). Not allowed in long-haul... [29] |
| Swiss | Yes | CHF 75-95 / USD 80-100 within Switzerland | USD 95-115 Europe; USD 145-165 long-haul intercontinental... | Dogs and cats up to 8 kg including a soft carrier (max 55 x 40 x 23 cm). One cabin pet per passenger; limited pets per flight. Book via... [30] |
| SAS | Yes | USD 60 / EUR 55 per flight one way | USD 80 Scandinavia/Europe/Middle East; USD 105 Asia... | Small dogs or cats (8+ weeks) in a soft carrier up to 8 kg; the carrier counts as your carry-on. One carrier per traveler, up to two... [31] |
| Icelandair | No | - | - | Icelandair's current animal-travel page (US, UK and Icelandic versions) lists only domestic hold carriage and free service dogs. No... [32] |
| Turkish Airlines | Yes | - | - | Cats, dogs and canaries/budgies up to 8 kg in a soft carrier (40 x 30 x 23 cm). Snub-nosed breeds allowed in cabin only. Window seats... [33] |
| Emirates | No | - | - | Emirates does not carry pets in the cabin. The only exceptions are falcons between Dubai and certain Pakistan destinations, and qualifying... [34] |
| Qatar Airways | No | - | Falcon in Economy cabin: USD 115-630 by zone (USD 630... | Cats, dogs and birds fly only as checked baggage or cargo. The cabin is limited to one falcon per passenger in Economy (paid, not on Tunis... [35] |
| Etihad Airways | Limited | - | USD 399 per flight (Economy); Business = extra seat + USD... | Small cats and dogs (16+ weeks, 8 kg with carrier) fly in the cabin for USD 399 per flight; Business also needs a paid extra seat. Book 7... [36] |
| Korean Air | Yes | KRW 30,000 (Korean domestic) | USD 150 short-haul / USD 225 medium-haul / USD 300... | Dogs, cats and pet birds aged 8+ weeks fly in cabin if pet plus carrier weighs 7 kg or less and fits under the seat; one per passenger... [37] |
| ANA (All Nippon Airways) | No | - | - | ANA's international pet policy marks mammals and birds as not allowed as carry-on; pets travel only in the cargo hold on the owner's flight. [38] |
| Japan Airlines | No | - | - | International pets travel only in the air-conditioned bulk hold. On Japan domestic flights dogs and cats are also hold-only; only small... [39] |
| EVA Air | No | - | - | Pets are not accepted in the cabin; only service dogs of passengers with disabilities may fly in the cabin. [40] |
| Cathay Pacific | No | - | - | Apart from service dogs, pets are not allowed in the cabin; they must travel as cargo. [41] |
| Singapore Airlines | No | - | - | Pets travel only as checked baggage; only trained assistance dogs fly in the cabin. [42] |
| Asiana Airlines | Yes | KRW 30,000 (Korean domestic) | One-way, up to 32 kg: USD 140... | Dogs, cats and pet birds in cabin if pet plus cage is 7 kg or less; one cabin pet per adult (children cannot); must sit in designated pet... [43] |
| Qantas | No | - | - | Pets and animals fly in a dedicated hold area; only Guide, Hearing or Assistance service dogs travel in the cabin. [44] |
| China Airlines | No | - | - | Pets travel only in containers in the cargo hold as checked baggage; trained service dogs ride in the cabin free. [45] |
Larger pets: checked and cargo options
Pets in the hold
| Airline | Checked or cargo | Details |
|---|---|---|
| American | Cargo service only | Checked pets only for active-duty US military and State Department staff on orders (USD 200). Everyone else ships via American Airlines Cargo PetEmbark, with... [2] |
| Delta | Cargo service only | Pets too big for the cabin ship only via Delta Cargo as a separate booking, and until further notice only for active US military or State Department Foreign... [46] |
| United | No | PetSafe cargo has ended. Pets ride in the hold only with active-duty military on permanent change of station or State Department foreign service officers (and... [4] |
| Southwest | No | Contract of carriage says Southwest does not carry pets in cargo compartments. [5] |
| Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) | Yes | Climate-controlled baggage compartment for USD 200 each way (USD 100 within Alaska or for military on orders, USD 60 within Hawaii), pet plus kennel up to 150... [47] |
| JetBlue | No | JetBlue does not accept animals as checked baggage or live-pet cargo; only in-cabin small dogs and cats. [48] |
| Frontier | No | Frontier carries pets only in the cabin; checked or cargo pets are not accepted. [49] |
| Allegiant | No | Allegiant does not carry animals in the cargo hold. [9] |
| Sun Country | No | Contract of Carriage states Sun Country carries no unaccompanied animals of any kind as cargo; pets travel only in the cabin. Pets are also not accepted on... [50] |
| Breeze | No | Contract of Carriage says Breeze accepts no cats, dogs or other animals as cargo or checked baggage. [11] |
| Avelo | No | Avelo does not carry pets in the cargo hold or as checked baggage; animals travel only in the cabin under the pet rules. [51] |
| Air Canada | Yes | Pets travel as checked baggage when registered in advance (CAD/USD 105-126 domestic/transborder, 270-324 international). Snub-nosed dogs barred from the hold... [13] |
| WestJet | Yes | Pets ride as checked baggage in the hold (CAD/USD 100-118 within Canada/U.S., 200-236 beyond), up to 45 kg with kennel; snub-nosed and strong breeds must go... [14] |
| Lufthansa | Yes | Dogs and cats over 8 kg travel as excess baggage in the air-conditioned hold; other species go via Lufthansa Cargo freight. Snub-nosed breeds have been barred... [52] |
| Air France | Yes | Cats and dogs up to 75 kg with kennel ride in the hold (book 24 h+ ahead): USD 600 US/Canada-Europe, USD 750 to elsewhere; or via an authorized cargo... [25] |
| KLM | Yes | Up to 3 pets in the hold (pet plus kennel under 75 kg). Not possible on 787-9, 787-10, A321neo or German Airways flights, or with 3 h+ transfers (then via KLM... [26] |
| Turkish Airlines | Yes | Pets up to 50 kg with hard crate (max 125 x 75 x 75 cm) fly as checked hold baggage; larger crates and listed dangerous breeds go only via Turkish Cargo.... [33] |
| Emirates | Yes | Cats, dogs, falcons and pet birds can go as checked hold baggage only when departing Dubai to countries allowing it and journey is under 17 h; anything... [34] |
| Qatar Airways | Yes | Cats, dogs and birds can fly as checked baggage in a dedicated hold area on most routes (up to 75 kg / 300 cm). Request 48 h ahead. Cargo required for... [35] |
| LATAM Airlines | Yes | Dogs and cats fly in the hold in a rigid kennel: up to 45 kg on 767/777/787 (32 kg via Europe, Argentina, Venezuela), 32 kg on A320-family flights under 4 h.... [53] |
| Aeromexico | Yes | Dogs, cats and birds can travel in the hold (up to 45 kg with crate), priced per segment. Brachycephalic breeds barred; no acceptance above 35 C or below 7 C.... [54] |
Every airline compared
U.S. airlines: 11 scored
Scores out of 10 on the criteria above.
| Airline | Score | Cabin pets | Fee (domestic, one way) | Cargo / checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) | 8.1 | Limited | USD 100 each way per carrier (USD 35... | Yes |
| Delta | 7.3 | Yes | USD/CAD 150 each way (US, Canada... | Cargo service only |
| Sun Country | 7.2 | Limited | USD 75 per direction (advance... | No |
| Breeze | 7.2 | Limited | USD 75 per one-way flight per pet... | No |
| Allegiant | 7.2 | Limited | USD 50 per carrier per segment... | No |
| United | 6.8 | Yes | USD 150 each way | No |
| American | 6.2 | Limited | USD 150 per kennel each way | Cargo service only |
| Southwest | 6.0 | Limited | USD 125 per carrier each way... | No |
| Avelo | 6.0 | Limited | USD 125 per pet carrier, each way | No |
| Frontier | 5.6 | Limited | USD 149 per pet per direction... | No |
| JetBlue | 5.5 | Limited | USD 150 each way | No |
Source: Airline policy pages checked Oct 26, 2026; Axel airline ratings [1]
Airlines based abroad: 18 scored
Scored on the same criteria; reliability and fare data for these airlines come from different sources than the U.S. figures.
| Airline | Score | Cabin pets | Fee (domestic, one way) | Cargo / checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Viva Aerobus | 9.7 | Yes | MXN 1,129 online; MXN 1,129-1,229 at... | Yes |
| Iberia | 9.6 | Yes | EUR 40 / USD 50 online (EUR 44 airport)... | Yes |
| SAS | 9.5 | Yes | USD 60 / EUR 55 per flight one way | Yes |
| Air Canada | 9.2 | Yes | CAD/USD 50-60 one way (within Canada... | Yes |
| WestJet | 9.2 | Yes | CAD/USD 50-59 each way (within Canada... | Yes |
| Lufthansa | 9.2 | Yes | EUR 65-85 / USD 80-100 (domestic... | Yes |
| Swiss | 9.2 | Yes | CHF 75-95 / USD 80-100 within... | Yes |
| Porter Airlines | 8.3 | Yes | CAD/USD 50 + tax (50-57.50) per pet... | No |
| Asiana Airlines | 8.2 | Yes | KRW 30,000 (Korean domestic) | Yes |
| Copa Airlines | 8.0 | Yes | USD 25 + taxes (Panama City PTY - David... | Cargo service only |
| Korean Air | 8.0 | Yes | KRW 30,000 (Korean domestic) | Yes |
| Aeromexico | 7.6 | Yes | MXN 1,520 low season / MXN 1,910 high... | Yes |
| Volaris | 7.6 | Yes | up to MXN 1,650 (low season) / MXN... | Yes |
| TAP Air Portugal | 7.4 | Yes | EUR 40 online low season / EUR 50 high... | Yes |
| LATAM Airlines | 7.2 | Yes | USD 45 (Ecuador, Peru); BRL 200... | Yes |
| Air France | 7.1 | Yes | EUR 70 (within metropolitan France) | Yes |
| Etihad Airways | 5.5 | Limited | - | Not stated |
| Qatar Airways | 4.8 | No | - | Yes |
Source: Airline policy pages checked Oct 26, 2026; Axel airline ratings [1]
Not scored, for lack of data on a main criterion: Avianca, British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, KLM, Aer Lingus, Icelandair, Turkish Airlines, Emirates, ANA (All Nippon Airways), Japan Airlines, EVA Air, Cathay Pacific, Singapore Airlines, Qantas, China Airlines.
Questions travelers ask
Which airlines allow pets in the cabin?
32 of the 45 airlines Axel checked, including every big U.S. airline. British Airways, Virgin Atlantic, Aer Lingus, Icelandair, Emirates, Qatar and most Asian airlines take no cabin pets.
How much are pet fees by airline?
For a cabin pet, $150 each way on American, Delta, United and JetBlue; $125 on Southwest and Avelo; $100 on Alaska and Hawaiian; $75 on Sun Country and Breeze; $50 per segment on Allegiant (fees checked Oct 26, 2026).
Which airlines fly pets in cargo?
Among U.S. airlines, Alaska and Hawaiian are the main options for checked pets for the general public; others use a separate cargo service or don't carry pets in the hold. 26 of 45 airlines checked take pets as checked baggage on your flight, and 7 more ship them only through a separate cargo service.
How this guide was made
Each airline's score is the weighted average of the criteria above, each on a 0-to-10 scale. An airline missing a criterion worth 25% or more of the score is left unscored; a smaller gap takes the median of the airlines compared, so missing data can't raise a score. Facts come from each airline's own policy pages (checked Oct 26, 2026), and Axel's airline ratings [1]. Spirit Airlines, which stopped flying on May 2, 2026, is not included.
Sources
- Axel airline ratings: every airline Axel's travelers fly, scored out of 10, Axel, October 26, 2026
- American policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Delta policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- United policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Southwest policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- JetBlue policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Frontier policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Allegiant policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Sun Country policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Breeze policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Avelo policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Air Canada policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- WestJet policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Porter Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Aeromexico policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Volaris policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Viva Aerobus policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Copa Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Avianca policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- LATAM Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- British Airways policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Virgin Atlantic policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Lufthansa policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Air France policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- KLM policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Aer Lingus policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Iberia policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- TAP Air Portugal policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Swiss policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- SAS policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Icelandair policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Turkish Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Emirates policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Qatar Airways policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Etihad Airways policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Korean Air policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- ANA (All Nippon Airways) policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Japan Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- EVA Air policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Cathay Pacific policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Singapore Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Asiana Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Qantas policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- China Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Delta policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Alaska (incl. Hawaiian) policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- JetBlue policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Frontier policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Sun Country policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Avelo policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Lufthansa policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- LATAM Airlines policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026
- Aeromexico policy page, Airline websites, checked October 26, 2026