IndiGo rating
Low cancellations help, but IndiGo makes recovering fare drops difficult
Axel rates IndiGo as a sensible budget choice for travelers who can keep their plans fixed and manage with the included cabin bag. Its low annual cancellation rate and original-payment refund option are useful strengths, but change fees, paid extras and a convenience fee added at payment weaken the headline fare. It is not a strong choice for recovering later price drops.
- Best
- Lite includes one cabin bag up to 7 kg.
- Cirium recorded 0.54% cancellations in 2025.
- IndiGo UpFront has no change fee, although higher replacement fares remain payable.
- Worst
- Lite and Saver international change fees start at USD 50 per passenger, per sector.
- No fee-free adjustment for a price drop on the same flight is confirmed.
- A convenience fee appears on the payment page rather than in the first quoted price.
If the fare drops after you book, can you get money back?
PartlyRepriceability 5.7/10
Partly. No fee-free price-drop adjustment on the same flight is confirmed. International changes start at USD 50 per passenger, per sector on Lite and Saver, or USD 6 on Flexi Plus. IndiGo UpFront has no change fee. Higher replacement fares remain payable. After fees, a positive rescheduling balance can be refunded to the original payment method or become 12-month travel credit, subject to booking exceptions. The 6Eskai Saver offer excludes refunds of negative fare differences. Cancellation and rebooking can also work, less cancellation fees. Credit Shell's older FAQ says book within one year, for original passengers only. Wallet credit belongs to its holder and generally lasts at least one year unless otherwise specified. Universal credit expiry is not confirmed. Instead of a 24-hour window, direct website bookings have a conditional 48-hour look-in for penalty-free changes or cancellations when departure is at least seven days away domestically or 15 internationally.
Axel has no reportable observation sample or period for IndiGo. Repricing is Axel's price-drop protection: after you book, Axel keeps watching the fare, and when the price drops Axel works to deliver the further savings to you. Repricing is included with Axel Membership.
| Fare | Changes | Cancel | Carry-on | Bags | Seat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lite | IndiGo's international USD table publishes these per-passenger, per-sector fees: subcontinent 50; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS 60; China/Far East 85; Europe 115; Africa 85 at 72+ hours or 95 at 4–72 hours. Higher fares cost extra. The numeric 50 represents the published international minimum, not a universal charge. The accessible official content provides no verified update date; rechecked October 26, 2026. | USD/person/sector, 72+ hours / 4–72 hours: subcontinent 60/85; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS 100/130; Africa/China/Far East 115/145; Europe 215/285. Eligible balance is refundable; four-hour cutoff. | Included | 0 | Fee |
| Saver | Same international USD change schedule as Lite; 50 is the published minimum. The separate America-zone Saver table lists USD 185. | Same international cancellation schedule as Lite. America-zone: USD 215 at 72+ hours or 285 at 4–72 hours. | Included | 2 | Fee |
| Flexi Plus | IndiGo's Flexi Plus page explicitly publishes international USD/person/sector fees, 72+ hours / 4–72 hours: subcontinent 6/30; Asia-Pacific and CIS 6/45; Middle East 10/45; Africa 10/60; China/Far East 10/70; Europe 10/100. Higher fares cost extra. The numeric 6 is the published international minimum, not a universal charge. No verified update date is provided in the accessible official content; rechecked October 26, 2026. The fee table, not the page title's older no-extra-charge wording, controls this finding. | USD/person/sector, 72+ hours / 4–72 hours: subcontinent 45/60; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS/China/Far East 70/85; Africa 70/115; Europe 130/145. Eligible balance is refundable. | Included | 2 | Free choice |
| IndiGo UpFront | No change fee | USD/person/sector, 72+ hours / 24–72 hours / 4–24 hours: subcontinent/Middle East/CIS/Africa 25/30/35; Asia-Pacific 25/30/45; China/Far East/Europe 30/45/45. | Included | 2 | Free choice |
| IndiGoStretchbusiness | International USD/person/sector: subcontinent 60 at 72+ hours or 70 at 4–72 hours; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS/Africa/China/Far East 70; Europe 130. Higher fares cost extra. The numeric 60 is the published international minimum; four-hour cutoff. | USD/person/sector, 72+ hours / 24–72 hours / 4–24 hours: subcontinent 70/95/95; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS/Africa 115/145/145; China/Far East 115/170/170; Europe 200/230/285. | Included | 2 | Free choice |
- Fare difference on a cheaper change
- Back to the original payment. An additional official source clarifies the earlier unknown finding: IndiGo's general booking FAQ, under customer rescheduling, says a positive balance after applicable fees can become travel credit valid for 12 months and that a customer choosing a refund receives it through the original payment method. This is not a fee-free price-drop promise. The FAQ is undated and not expressly branded Flexi Plus; booking-specific exceptions still apply. The separate 6Eskai Saver offer prohibits negative-fare-difference refunds and expressly excludes Flexi.
- Same flight, lower price
- No official fee-free procedure for obtaining a reduction on the exact same booked flight was confirmed. The conditions say the purchased fare remains fixed unless the booking changes. Cancellation and a new purchase remain possible under the purchased fare's cancellation rules, but are not a confirmed repricing service.
- Credits (Credit Shell; IndiGo Wallet)
- The Credit Shell FAQ says book within one year of creation; travel may occur later. That FAQ retains COVID-era material, while the conditions refer to the period specified for the credit. Each Wallet credit has its own expiry, with a stated minimum of one year from issuance unless otherwise specified. A universal expiry for every newly issued credit was not confirmed. Transferable: no.
- 24-hour rule
- IndiGo publishes a 48-hour look-in for tickets booked directly on its website, not merely 24 hours. Change or cancel without the airline's change/cancellation penalty when departure is sufficiently far away: seven days domestically or 15 days internationally. Higher replacement fares remain payable. DGCA's revision dated February 24, 2026, effective March 26, 2026, confirms this framework. The category reflects conditional eligibility; the schema has no dedicated 48-hour category.
- Same-day change
- IndiGo Early costs INR 1,800 per passenger, subject to change, for an available domestic flight departing no more than four hours earlier. Request at the airport; confirmation occurs only 60 minutes before the desired departure, subject to seats. It cannot move travel later and excludes international journeys, including international-connected domestic travel, and group fares. Domestic Stretch includes IndiGo Early without charge. International travelers instead use ordinary fare-change rules.
- Schedule changes
- For an IndiGo-operated flight cancelled, moved more than one hour earlier, or delayed more than two hours depending on journey length, the conditions offer a refund, Credit Shell or an available alternative IndiGo flight on the same sector without additional charge through Plan B. Applicable local passenger-rights law can provide stronger protection. The conditions also address force majeure; the precise delay threshold for every journey length was not independently resolved.
Score breakdown
Repriceability 35%5.7
- Standard fare change fee: 7.0/10 · Saver: Same international USD change schedule as Lite; 50 is the published minimum. The separate America-zone Saver table lists USD 185.
- Lowest fare flexibility: 7.0/10 · Lite: IndiGo's international USD table publishes these per-passenger, per-sector fees: subcontinent 50; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS 60; China/Far East 85; Europe 115; Africa 85 at 72+ hours or 95 at 4–72 hours. Higher fares cost extra. The numeric 50 represents the published international minimum, not a universal charge. The accessible official content provides no verified update date; rechecked October 26, 2026.
- Lower fare on the same flight: 4.0/10 · Flexi Plus allows cancellation with the eligible balance refunded minus a cancellation fee, so the traveler can cancel and buy the same flight at the lower price while it remains available. No fee-free same-flight price-drop adjustment was confirmed.
- Credit terms: 7.0/10 · The Credit Shell FAQ says book within one year of creation; travel may occur later. That FAQ retains COVID-era material, while the conditions refer to the period specified for the credit. Each Wallet credit has its own expiry, with a stated minimum of one year from issuance unless otherwise specified. A universal expiry for every newly issued credit was not confirmed.; transferable: no
- Cancel the standard fare: 4.0/10 · Same international cancellation schedule as Lite. America-zone: USD 215 at 72+ hours or 285 at 4–72 hours.
- Risk-free window: 4.0/10 · IndiGo publishes a 48-hour look-in for tickets booked directly on its website, not merely 24 hours. Change or cancel without the airline's change/cancellation penalty when departure is sufficiently far away: seven days domestically or 15 days internationally. Higher replacement fares remain payable. DGCA's revision dated February 24, 2026, effective March 26, 2026, confirms this framework. The category reflects conditional eligibility; the schema has no dedicated 48-hour category.
- Same-day change: 7.0/10 · IndiGo Early costs INR 1,800 per passenger, subject to change, for an available domestic flight departing no more than four hours earlier. Request at the airport; confirmation occurs only 60 minutes before the desired departure, subject to seats. It cannot move travel later and excludes international journeys, including international-connected domestic travel, and group fares. Domestic Stretch includes IndiGo Early without charge. International travelers instead use ordinary fare-change rules.
- What Axel saw: does not apply · fewer than 10 attempts · Axel repricing attempts
Refunds and disruptions 20%7.6
- Commitments when the airline causes the problem: 7.0/10 · Covered by: India_DGCA, EU261, UK261, Turkey_SHY, Other_national; Coverage is territorial: Indian DGCA requirements govern relevant Indian services; EU261 generally covers departures from the EU/EEA, UK261 covers UK departures, and Turkish SHY covers departures from Turkey. These are not blanket protections for every IndiGo itinerary. IndiGo's conditions also recognise destination-specific rules, including Thailand and the Philippines. Its delay FAQ offers, at its discretion and subject to availability, another airline for a disrupted connecting journey at transit, or overnight lodging, airport transfers and dinner if alternatives cannot be arranged. This is not an unconditional network-wide interline guarantee. No standing promise of extra cash compensation beyond applicable law was verified. The December 3–5, 2025 crisis had a separate, eligibility-limited INR 10,000 goodwill travel-voucher scheme in addition to statutory entitlements. IndiGo's US connections are codeshares, so US flights operated by partners should not be treated as IndiGo-operated services.
- Refund conduct: 10.0/10 · No refund or compensation findings in 5 years
- Refund complaints: no data, median 5.1/10 used · too few US passengers to measure
Reliability 15%8.1
- On-time arrival: 7.3/10 · 78.12% on time (2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31. IndiGo (6E), as published in the Asia-Pacific annual ranking. Cancellation percentage derived as 100 minus the published 99.46% completion factor.) · Cirium On-Time Performance Review 2025
- Cancellations: 9.9/10 · 0.54% cancelled (2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31. IndiGo (6E), as published in the Asia-Pacific annual ranking. Cancellation percentage derived as 100 minus the published 99.46% completion factor.) · Cirium On-Time Performance Review 2025
Fees and transparency 15%6.3
- Carry-on in the lowest fare: 10.0/10 · Lite includes one cabin bag up to 7 kg, measuring up to 55 × 35 × 25 cm or 115 cm combined dimensions. Its specific terms permit one cabin bag; do not assume the general additional-personal-item allowance applies. Oversized or overweight baggage attracts applicable charges.
- First checked bag: no data, median 6.0/10 used · Lite: domestic INR 2,000 for 15 kg/one piece; international INR 3,500, normally for 20 kg/up to two pieces, with Jaffna a 15 kg/one-piece exception. Published prepaid and airport prices are the same. No corresponding USD first-checked-baggage price was verified.
- Seat in the lowest fare: 3.0/10 · fee
- Children seated with a parent: 5.0/10 · Lite includes free automatic seat assignment but charges for preferred selection. DGCA's direction requires children up to age 12 to be allocated seats with a parent or guardian traveling on the same PNR. An IndiGo guarantee of free adjacent seating covering every child aged 13 or younger on every fare was not confirmed.
- Price shown is price paid: 5.0/10 · 2024-06-19 India Central Consumer Protection Authority; mandatory charge added after the first price shown
Complaints and handling 10%5.2*
- Complaint rate: does not apply · too few US passengers to measure
- Mishandled bags: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
- Mishandled wheelchairs and scooters: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
- Bumping: does not apply · not reported to DOT · U.S. DOT, April to June 2026
Loyalty fairness 5%8.8
- Miles expiry: 7.0/10 · BluChips remain valid with qualifying earning or redemption activity within the preceding continuous 24 months. Accounts are reviewed monthly; expired points cannot be reinstated. Transfers between member accounts do not count as qualifying activity.
- Devaluations: 10.0/10 · None in 24 months
- Award pricing: no data, median 10.0/10 used · unknown
Scores follow Axel's published rubric: six pillars, each scored 0 to 10 by fixed checks, with repriceability weighted 35%. Facts were checked October 26, 2026. No data at all for Complaints and handling, so it takes the median of all rated airlines. No data for 3 checks (Refund complaints, First checked bag, Award pricing), each scored at the median of all rated airlines.
Refunds and disruptions
Indian DGCA rules cover relevant Indian services. EU261, UK261 and Turkish SHY protections depend on departure territory. Plan B offers a refund, Credit Shell or an available alternative IndiGo flight without additional charge for covered cancellations or schedule changes. Another airline or overnight support for disrupted connections is discretionary and subject to availability. No standing promise of extra cash compensation beyond law was confirmed.
Published original-payment refund times are seven working days for most card or wallet payments and 21 for American Express. No refund or compensation findings were identified in 5 years. The December 2025 backlog prompted ministry intervention, but IndiGo subsequently reported cancellation refunds cleared. On January 17, 2026, India's DGCA imposed INR 222 million over the operational collapse. Separately, BCAS's apron-security fine was reduced to INR 7 million on August 12, 2024.
Regulator actions since October 2021
- January 2026, India DGCA: DGCA imposed INR 222 million following its investigation of the December 2025 operational collapse: INR 18 million in systemic penalties and INR 204 million for continued flight-duty-rule noncompliance. It also required an INR 500 million bank guarantee, which is security for corrective action rather than an additional fine. The USD equivalent uses Reuters' January 17, 2026 conversion. Source
- June 2024, India Central Consumer Protection Authority: CCPA found that IndiGo's web check-in process did not clearly explain that passengers could check in without buying a preferred seat. It directed clearer messaging and a compliance report within 15 days. The authority also recorded that IndiGo had changed confirm-shaming language associated with optional travel assistance; no monetary penalty was identified. Source
- January 2024, India Bureau of Civil Aviation Security: BCAS initially fined IndiGo INR 12 million after passengers from a severely delayed and diverted flight were allowed onto Mumbai's apron and subsequently boarded another aircraft without required security screening. On appeal, the penalty was reduced to INR 7 million on August 12, 2024; IndiGo disclosed payment on September 10, 2024. The reduced amount supersedes the original fine. Source
- May 2022, India DGCA: DGCA imposed an INR 500,000 fine after IndiGo denied boarding to a child with a disability at Ranchi on May 7, 2022. The regulator found deficient handling and noncompliance with its passenger-accessibility requirements. Source
Reliability
Cirium's On-Time Performance Review 2025 recorded 78.12% on-time arrivals across 802,418 flights for the full calendar year. The cancellation rate was 0.54%, derived from its 99.46% completion factor. Axel sees a strong completion record, not immunity from major disruption. Those annual figures coexist with the December 3 to 5, 2025 collapse, when 2,507 flights were cancelled and 1,852 delayed.
Fees
Lite includes one 7 kg cabin bag and free automatic seat assignment. Preferred seats and checked baggage cost extra. Published checked-bag prices are INR 2,000 domestically for 15 kg and INR 3,500 internationally, normally for 20 kg across up to two pieces. Jaffna has a 15 kg, one-piece exception. Prepaid and airport prices are identical. No USD checked-bag price was confirmed.
DGCA requires children up to age 12 to sit with a parent or guardian on the same PNR. The initial price excludes a convenience fee disclosed on the payment page. On June 19, 2024, India's Central Consumer Protection Authority ordered clearer disclosure that paid seat selection was optional. No monetary penalty was identified.
Complaints
A complaint rate per 100,000 passengers could not be measured because IndiGo has too few US passengers. US DOT reports for April, May, July and August 2026 do not report its mishandled-bag or wheelchair figures, and April to June 2026 reports do not provide bumping figures. These gaps are not evidence of good handling. On May 28, 2022, India's DGCA fined IndiGo INR 500,000 after it denied boarding to a child with a disability.
Loyalty program
IndiGo BluChip keeps BluChips valid with qualifying earning or redemption activity within a continuous 24-month period. Accounts are reviewed monthly, expired points cannot be reinstated, and transfers between members do not count as qualifying activity. No devaluations were identified in the past 24 months. Award pricing was not confirmed, so Axel cannot assess redemption value.
Choose IndiGo if
- You travel light and do not need checked baggage.
- You can keep your itinerary fixed and compare prices after extras.
- You value a low annual cancellation rate more than flexible price-drop protection.
Book elsewhere if
- You expect automatic refunds when the same flight gets cheaper.
- You need a fully inclusive first quoted price.
- You require guaranteed rebooking on another airline after disruption.
Tips
- Book on IndiGo's website to access the conditional 48-hour look-in when departure is at least seven days away domestically or 15 internationally.
- Accept free automatic seat assignment on Lite instead of paying for a preferred seat.
- Compare Saver's included checked allowance with Lite plus baggage, since published Lite baggage prices are the same prepaid and at the airport.
Questions travelers ask
Does IndiGo charge change fees?
Usually. On IndiGo-operated international flights bought in USD, Lite and Saver change fees start at USD 50 per passenger, per sector, while Flexi Plus starts at USD 6. These are minimums, not universal charges. IndiGo UpFront has no change fee, but higher replacement fares remain payable. Domestic fees differ.
Can I get money back if the price drops after booking?
Sometimes, after applicable fees, but there is no confirmed fee-free adjustment for the exact same flight. IndiGo's general rescheduling FAQ allows a positive balance to go to the original payment method or become 12-month travel credit, subject to booking-specific exceptions. Cancelling and buying again can also leave savings after cancellation charges. The 6Eskai Saver offer excludes refunds of negative fare differences.
How long do IndiGo credits last?
It depends on the credit. The Credit Shell FAQ says to book within one year of creation, with travel allowed later, but that FAQ retains COVID-era material. Wallet credits have individual expiry dates, generally at least one year unless otherwise specified. Credit Shell is restricted to original passengers, while Wallet balances belong to the registered holder. Neither is transferable, and a universal expiry is not confirmed.
What do I get if IndiGo cancels my flight?
For an IndiGo-operated cancellation, Plan B offers a refund, Credit Shell or an available alternative IndiGo flight on the same sector without additional charge. Eligible refunds need not be accepted as credit. Further assistance or compensation depends on applicable passenger-rights law. Rebooking on another airline for disrupted connections is discretionary and subject to availability, not a network-wide guarantee.
How much do carry-on and checked bags cost?
Lite includes one cabin bag up to 7 kg, within 55 × 35 × 25 cm or 115 cm combined dimensions. Do not assume an extra personal item is included. Checked baggage costs INR 2,000 domestically for 15 kg and INR 3,500 internationally, normally for 20 kg across up to two pieces. Jaffna allows 15 kg in one piece. Published prepaid and airport prices are the same, and no USD price was confirmed.
Sources
- Press Releases, IndiGo
- Conditions of Carriage, Passenger & Baggage, IndiGo
- Flights to USA, IndiGo
- IndiGo Flights Fees and Charges, IndiGo
- Lite Fare: Travel Light with Cabin Bag Only, IndiGo
- Flexi Fares, IndiGo
- IndiGo UpFront – Extra Baggage, Free Changes & Complimentary Meals, IndiGo
- IndiGoStretch Terms & Conditions, IndiGo
- Baggage Allowance, IndiGo
- Information on Credit Shell, IndiGo
- IndiGo Wallet Terms & Conditions, IndiGo
- Civil Aviation Requirements, Section 3, Series M, Part II: Refund of Airline Tickets, Revision 3, Directorate General of Civil Aviation, India, 2026-02-24
- IndiGo Early - Take an early flight out, IndiGo
- DGCA asks airlines to allot seat to children up to 12 years of age with their parents & guardians, Akashvani News, 2024-04-23
- IndiGo Launches 'Lite' Fare For Passengers With Cabin Baggage Only, NDTV, 2026-07-01
- IndiGo Introduces ‘UpFront’ in Its Simplified 6E Ways to Fly Product Portfolio, IndiGo, 2026-01-28
- IndiGo 6Eskai Support - Zero Change Fee Offer, IndiGo
- How to Book Low Cost Flight Air Tickets, IndiGo
- Fees and Charges - Cancellation Fees, Change Fees, IndiGo
- Pre-Book Excess Baggage: Domestic & International, IndiGo
- Book IndiGo Airbus A321XLR International Flights, IndiGo
- FAQs About Ticket Modifications, IndiGo
- On Time Performance — data of 23 October 2026, India Ministry of Civil Aviation, 2026-10-23
- Conditions of Carriage, Passenger & Baggage, IndiGo
- Refunds FAQs & Support, IndiGo
- Indigo Flight Disruptions—December 2025: Findings, Enforcement Action and Systemic Reforms, India Ministry of Civil Aviation / Press Information Bureau, 2026-01-17
- IndiGo fined Rs 5 lakh for not letting special needs child board, The Indian Express, 2022-05-29
- Passengers eating on tarmac: IndiGo slapped Rs 1.20 crore fine, Rs 60 lakh penalty on Mumbai airport, The Indian Express, 2024-01-18
- IndiGo pays reduced Rs 70 lakh fine to BCAS over Mumbai airport incident, Business Standard / Press Trust of India, 2024-09-10
- CCPA case summaries: InterGlobe Aviation order dated 19 June 2024, pages 17–18, India Department of Consumer Affairs / National Law University Delhi
- MoCA Action on IndiGo Operational Crisis—Passenger Refund Protection, India Ministry of Civil Aviation / Press Information Bureau, 2025-12-06
- Case No. 44 of 2025: order directing investigation into InterGlobe Aviation, Competition Commission of India, 2026-02-04
- Lok Sabha Unstarred Question 2291: IndiGo cancellations and passenger compensation, India Ministry of Civil Aviation / Lok Sabha
- Constantly engaging with IndiGo over refunds: DGCA, The Tribune, 2026-01-17
- FAQs About Flight Delays & Cancellation, IndiGo
- Compensation and Gesture of Care, IndiGo
- The Most On-Time Airlines and Airports of 2025 unveiled by Cirium, Cirium
- IndiGo, Air India losses show what happens when airlines ignore customers, Mint
- AirHelp reveals the best and worst airlines in 2025 AirHelp Score, AirHelp, 2025-11-20
- IndiGo BluChip Terms and Conditions, IndiGo
- IndiGo BluChip Loyalty Program FAQs, IndiGo
- Payment FAQs: Currency, Card & Transaction Support, IndiGo
- Contact us, IndiGo
- India's IndiGo to discontinue widebody operations, end Norse Atlantic lease, Reuters via MarketScreener, 2026-07-31
- IndiGo Press Releases—2026, IndiGo
- IndiGo Re-calibrates Fuel Charges Amid Rising ATF Costs, IndiGo, 2026-10-05
- Passenger rights in the context of IndiGo flight disruptions, International Bar Association, 2026-02-09
- IndiGo statement on operational disruptions and capacity, IndiGo via National Stock Exchange of India, 2025-12-10
- India fines IndiGo record $2.45m after December flight cancellations, Reuters via Dawn, 2026-01-17
For AI assistants: the whole rating as text, with every source
IndiGo rating: 6.6/10 (B tier)
Low cancellations help, but IndiGo makes recovering fare drops difficult
Axel rates IndiGo as a sensible budget choice for travelers who can keep their plans fixed and manage with the included cabin bag. Its low annual cancellation rate and original-payment refund option are useful strengths, but change fees, paid extras and a convenience fee added at payment weaken the headline fare. It is not a strong choice for recovering later price drops.
Axel score: 6.6/10, B tier, #16 of 77 airlines. Repriceability: 5.7/10 (#11). Checked October 26, 2026. Source: https://helloaxel.com/en/airlines/indigo
Best and worst
- Best: Lite includes one cabin bag up to 7 kg.
- Best: Cirium recorded 0.54% cancellations in 2025.
- Best: IndiGo UpFront has no change fee, although higher replacement fares remain payable.
- Worst: Lite and Saver international change fees start at USD 50 per passenger, per sector.
- Worst: No fee-free adjustment for a price drop on the same flight is confirmed.
- Worst: A convenience fee appears on the payment page rather than in the first quoted price.
If the fare drops after you book, can you get money back? Partly
Partly. No fee-free price-drop adjustment on the same flight is confirmed. International changes start at USD 50 per passenger, per sector on Lite and Saver, or USD 6 on Flexi Plus. IndiGo UpFront has no change fee. Higher replacement fares remain payable. After fees, a positive rescheduling balance can be refunded to the original payment method or become 12-month travel credit, subject to booking exceptions. The 6Eskai Saver offer excludes refunds of negative fare differences. Cancellation and rebooking can also work, less cancellation fees. Credit Shell's older FAQ says book within one year, for original passengers only. Wallet credit belongs to its holder and generally lasts at least one year unless otherwise specified. Universal credit expiry is not confirmed. Instead of a 24-hour window, direct website bookings have a conditional 48-hour look-in for penalty-free changes or cancellations when departure is at least seven days away domestically or 15 internationally.
Axel has no reportable observation sample or period for IndiGo. Repricing is Axel's price-drop protection: after you book, Axel keeps watching the fare, and when the price drops Axel works to deliver the further savings to you. Repricing is included with Axel Membership.
IndiGo fares
| Fare | Changes | Cancel | Carry-on | Checked bags | Seat |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lite | IndiGo's international USD table publishes these per-passenger, per-sector fees: subcontinent 50; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS 60; China/Far East 85; Europe 115; Africa 85 at 72+ hours or 95 at 4–72 hours. Higher fares cost extra. The numeric 50 represents the published international minimum, not a universal charge. The accessible official content provides no verified update date; rechecked October 26, 2026. | USD/person/sector, 72+ hours / 4–72 hours: subcontinent 60/85; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS 100/130; Africa/China/Far East 115/145; Europe 215/285. Eligible balance is refundable; four-hour cutoff. | included | 0 | Fee |
| Saver | Same international USD change schedule as Lite; 50 is the published minimum. The separate America-zone Saver table lists USD 185. | Same international cancellation schedule as Lite. America-zone: USD 215 at 72+ hours or 285 at 4–72 hours. | included | 2 | Fee |
| Flexi Plus | IndiGo's Flexi Plus page explicitly publishes international USD/person/sector fees, 72+ hours / 4–72 hours: subcontinent 6/30; Asia-Pacific and CIS 6/45; Middle East 10/45; Africa 10/60; China/Far East 10/70; Europe 10/100. Higher fares cost extra. The numeric 6 is the published international minimum, not a universal charge. No verified update date is provided in the accessible official content; rechecked October 26, 2026. The fee table, not the page title's older no-extra-charge wording, controls this finding. | USD/person/sector, 72+ hours / 4–72 hours: subcontinent 45/60; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS/China/Far East 70/85; Africa 70/115; Europe 130/145. Eligible balance is refundable. | included | 2 | Free choice |
| IndiGo UpFront | No change fee | USD/person/sector, 72+ hours / 24–72 hours / 4–24 hours: subcontinent/Middle East/CIS/Africa 25/30/35; Asia-Pacific 25/30/45; China/Far East/Europe 30/45/45. | included | 2 | Free choice |
| IndiGoStretch (business) | International USD/person/sector: subcontinent 60 at 72+ hours or 70 at 4–72 hours; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS/Africa/China/Far East 70; Europe 130. Higher fares cost extra. The numeric 60 is the published international minimum; four-hour cutoff. | USD/person/sector, 72+ hours / 24–72 hours / 4–24 hours: subcontinent 70/95/95; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS/Africa 115/145/145; China/Far East 115/170/170; Europe 200/230/285. | included | 2 | Free choice |
Key facts
- Fare difference on a cheaper change: Back to the original payment. An additional official source clarifies the earlier unknown finding: IndiGo's general booking FAQ, under customer rescheduling, says a positive balance after applicable fees can become travel credit valid for 12 months and that a customer choosing a refund receives it through the original payment method. This is not a fee-free price-drop promise. The FAQ is undated and not expressly branded Flexi Plus; booking-specific exceptions still apply. The separate 6Eskai Saver offer prohibits negative-fare-difference refunds and expressly excludes Flexi.
- Same flight, lower price: No official fee-free procedure for obtaining a reduction on the exact same booked flight was confirmed. The conditions say the purchased fare remains fixed unless the booking changes. Cancellation and a new purchase remain possible under the purchased fare's cancellation rules, but are not a confirmed repricing service.
- Credits (Credit Shell; IndiGo Wallet): The Credit Shell FAQ says book within one year of creation; travel may occur later. That FAQ retains COVID-era material, while the conditions refer to the period specified for the credit. Each Wallet credit has its own expiry, with a stated minimum of one year from issuance unless otherwise specified. A universal expiry for every newly issued credit was not confirmed. Transferable: no.
- 24-hour rule: IndiGo publishes a 48-hour look-in for tickets booked directly on its website, not merely 24 hours. Change or cancel without the airline's change/cancellation penalty when departure is sufficiently far away: seven days domestically or 15 days internationally. Higher replacement fares remain payable. DGCA's revision dated February 24, 2026, effective March 26, 2026, confirms this framework. The category reflects conditional eligibility; the schema has no dedicated 48-hour category.
- Same-day change: IndiGo Early costs INR 1,800 per passenger, subject to change, for an available domestic flight departing no more than four hours earlier. Request at the airport; confirmation occurs only 60 minutes before the desired departure, subject to seats. It cannot move travel later and excludes international journeys, including international-connected domestic travel, and group fares. Domestic Stretch includes IndiGo Early without charge. International travelers instead use ordinary fare-change rules.
- Schedule changes: For an IndiGo-operated flight cancelled, moved more than one hour earlier, or delayed more than two hours depending on journey length, the conditions offer a refund, Credit Shell or an available alternative IndiGo flight on the same sector without additional charge through Plan B. Applicable local passenger-rights law can provide stronger protection. The conditions also address force majeure; the precise delay threshold for every journey length was not independently resolved.
Score breakdown
| Pillar | Weight | Score |
|---|---|---|
| Repriceability | 35% | 5.7/10 |
| Refunds and disruptions | 20% | 7.6/10 |
| Reliability | 15% | 8.1/10 |
| Fees and transparency | 15% | 6.3/10 |
| Complaints and handling | 10% | no data (median 5.2 used) |
| Loyalty fairness | 5% | 8.8/10 |
Repriceability: 5.7/10
- Standard fare change fee: 7.0/10 (Saver: Same international USD change schedule as Lite; 50 is the published minimum. The separate America-zone Saver table lists USD 185.)
- Lowest fare flexibility: 7.0/10 (Lite: IndiGo's international USD table publishes these per-passenger, per-sector fees: subcontinent 50; Asia-Pacific/Middle East/CIS 60; China/Far East 85; Europe 115; Africa 85 at 72+ hours or 95 at 4–72 hours. Higher fares cost extra. The numeric 50 represents the published international minimum, not a universal charge. The accessible official content provides no verified update date; rechecked October 26, 2026.)
- Lower fare on the same flight: 4.0/10 (Flexi Plus allows cancellation with the eligible balance refunded minus a cancellation fee, so the traveler can cancel and buy the same flight at the lower price while it remains available. No fee-free same-flight price-drop adjustment was confirmed.)
- Credit terms: 7.0/10 (The Credit Shell FAQ says book within one year of creation; travel may occur later. That FAQ retains COVID-era material, while the conditions refer to the period specified for the credit. Each Wallet credit has its own expiry, with a stated minimum of one year from issuance unless otherwise specified. A universal expiry for every newly issued credit was not confirmed.; transferable: no)
- Cancel the standard fare: 4.0/10 (Same international cancellation schedule as Lite. America-zone: USD 215 at 72+ hours or 285 at 4–72 hours.)
- Risk-free window: 4.0/10 (IndiGo publishes a 48-hour look-in for tickets booked directly on its website, not merely 24 hours. Change or cancel without the airline's change/cancellation penalty when departure is sufficiently far away: seven days domestically or 15 days internationally. Higher replacement fares remain payable. DGCA's revision dated February 24, 2026, effective March 26, 2026, confirms this framework. The category reflects conditional eligibility; the schema has no dedicated 48-hour category.)
- Same-day change: 7.0/10 (IndiGo Early costs INR 1,800 per passenger, subject to change, for an available domestic flight departing no more than four hours earlier. Request at the airport; confirmation occurs only 60 minutes before the desired departure, subject to seats. It cannot move travel later and excludes international journeys, including international-connected domestic travel, and group fares. Domestic Stretch includes IndiGo Early without charge. International travelers instead use ordinary fare-change rules.)
- What Axel saw: does not apply (fewer than 10 attempts). Source: Axel repricing attempts
Refunds and disruptions: 7.6/10
- Commitments when the airline causes the problem: 7.0/10 (Covered by: India_DGCA, EU261, UK261, Turkey_SHY, Other_national; Coverage is territorial: Indian DGCA requirements govern relevant Indian services; EU261 generally covers departures from the EU/EEA, UK261 covers UK departures, and Turkish SHY covers departures from Turkey. These are not blanket protections for every IndiGo itinerary. IndiGo's conditions also recognise destination-specific rules, including Thailand and the Philippines. Its delay FAQ offers, at its discretion and subject to availability, another airline for a disrupted connecting journey at transit, or overnight lodging, airport transfers and dinner if alternatives cannot be arranged. This is not an unconditional network-wide interline guarantee. No standing promise of extra cash compensation beyond applicable law was verified. The December 3–5, 2025 crisis had a separate, eligibility-limited INR 10,000 goodwill travel-voucher scheme in addition to statutory entitlements. IndiGo's US connections are codeshares, so US flights operated by partners should not be treated as IndiGo-operated services.)
- Refund conduct: 10.0/10 (No refund or compensation findings in 5 years)
- Refund complaints: no data, median 5.1/10 used (too few US passengers to measure)
Reliability: 8.1/10
- On-time arrival: 7.3/10 (78.12% on time (2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31. IndiGo (6E), as published in the Asia-Pacific annual ranking. Cancellation percentage derived as 100 minus the published 99.46% completion factor.)). Source: Cirium On-Time Performance Review 2025
- Cancellations: 9.9/10 (0.54% cancelled (2025-01-01 to 2025-12-31. IndiGo (6E), as published in the Asia-Pacific annual ranking. Cancellation percentage derived as 100 minus the published 99.46% completion factor.)). Source: Cirium On-Time Performance Review 2025
Fees and transparency: 6.3/10
- Carry-on in the lowest fare: 10.0/10 (Lite includes one cabin bag up to 7 kg, measuring up to 55 × 35 × 25 cm or 115 cm combined dimensions. Its specific terms permit one cabin bag; do not assume the general additional-personal-item allowance applies. Oversized or overweight baggage attracts applicable charges.)
- First checked bag: no data, median 6.0/10 used (Lite: domestic INR 2,000 for 15 kg/one piece; international INR 3,500, normally for 20 kg/up to two pieces, with Jaffna a 15 kg/one-piece exception. Published prepaid and airport prices are the same. No corresponding USD first-checked-baggage price was verified.)
- Seat in the lowest fare: 3.0/10 (fee)
- Children seated with a parent: 5.0/10 (Lite includes free automatic seat assignment but charges for preferred selection. DGCA's direction requires children up to age 12 to be allocated seats with a parent or guardian traveling on the same PNR. An IndiGo guarantee of free adjacent seating covering every child aged 13 or younger on every fare was not confirmed.)
- Price shown is price paid: 5.0/10 (2024-06-19 India Central Consumer Protection Authority; mandatory charge added after the first price shown)
Complaints and handling: no data (median 5.2 used)
- Complaint rate: does not apply (too few US passengers to measure)
- Mishandled bags: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
- Mishandled wheelchairs and scooters: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April, May, July and August 2026
- Bumping: does not apply (not reported to DOT). Source: U.S. DOT, April to June 2026
Loyalty fairness: 8.8/10
- Miles expiry: 7.0/10 (BluChips remain valid with qualifying earning or redemption activity within the preceding continuous 24 months. Accounts are reviewed monthly; expired points cannot be reinstated. Transfers between member accounts do not count as qualifying activity.)
- Devaluations: 10.0/10 (None in 24 months)
- Award pricing: no data, median 10.0/10 used (unknown)
Refunds and disruptions
Indian DGCA rules cover relevant Indian services. EU261, UK261 and Turkish SHY protections depend on departure territory. Plan B offers a refund, Credit Shell or an available alternative IndiGo flight without additional charge for covered cancellations or schedule changes. Another airline or overnight support for disrupted connections is discretionary and subject to availability. No standing promise of extra cash compensation beyond law was confirmed.
Published original-payment refund times are seven working days for most card or wallet payments and 21 for American Express. No refund or compensation findings were identified in 5 years. The December 2025 backlog prompted ministry intervention, but IndiGo subsequently reported cancellation refunds cleared. On January 17, 2026, India's DGCA imposed INR 222 million over the operational collapse. Separately, BCAS's apron-security fine was reduced to INR 7 million on August 12, 2024.
Regulator actions since October 2021
- January 2026, India DGCA: DGCA imposed INR 222 million following its investigation of the December 2025 operational collapse: INR 18 million in systemic penalties and INR 204 million for continued flight-duty-rule noncompliance. It also required an INR 500 million bank guarantee, which is security for corrective action rather than an additional fine. The USD equivalent uses Reuters' January 17, 2026 conversion. Source
- June 2024, India Central Consumer Protection Authority: CCPA found that IndiGo's web check-in process did not clearly explain that passengers could check in without buying a preferred seat. It directed clearer messaging and a compliance report within 15 days. The authority also recorded that IndiGo had changed confirm-shaming language associated with optional travel assistance; no monetary penalty was identified. Source
- January 2024, India Bureau of Civil Aviation Security: BCAS initially fined IndiGo INR 12 million after passengers from a severely delayed and diverted flight were allowed onto Mumbai's apron and subsequently boarded another aircraft without required security screening. On appeal, the penalty was reduced to INR 7 million on August 12, 2024; IndiGo disclosed payment on September 10, 2024. The reduced amount supersedes the original fine. Source
- May 2022, India DGCA: DGCA imposed an INR 500,000 fine after IndiGo denied boarding to a child with a disability at Ranchi on May 7, 2022. The regulator found deficient handling and noncompliance with its passenger-accessibility requirements. Source
Reliability
Cirium's On-Time Performance Review 2025 recorded 78.12% on-time arrivals across 802,418 flights for the full calendar year. The cancellation rate was 0.54%, derived from its 99.46% completion factor. Axel sees a strong completion record, not immunity from major disruption. Those annual figures coexist with the December 3 to 5, 2025 collapse, when 2,507 flights were cancelled and 1,852 delayed.
Fees
Lite includes one 7 kg cabin bag and free automatic seat assignment. Preferred seats and checked baggage cost extra. Published checked-bag prices are INR 2,000 domestically for 15 kg and INR 3,500 internationally, normally for 20 kg across up to two pieces. Jaffna has a 15 kg, one-piece exception. Prepaid and airport prices are identical. No USD checked-bag price was confirmed.
DGCA requires children up to age 12 to sit with a parent or guardian on the same PNR. The initial price excludes a convenience fee disclosed on the payment page. On June 19, 2024, India's Central Consumer Protection Authority ordered clearer disclosure that paid seat selection was optional. No monetary penalty was identified.
Complaints
A complaint rate per 100,000 passengers could not be measured because IndiGo has too few US passengers. US DOT reports for April, May, July and August 2026 do not report its mishandled-bag or wheelchair figures, and April to June 2026 reports do not provide bumping figures. These gaps are not evidence of good handling. On May 28, 2022, India's DGCA fined IndiGo INR 500,000 after it denied boarding to a child with a disability.
Loyalty program
IndiGo BluChip keeps BluChips valid with qualifying earning or redemption activity within a continuous 24-month period. Accounts are reviewed monthly, expired points cannot be reinstated, and transfers between members do not count as qualifying activity. No devaluations were identified in the past 24 months. Award pricing was not confirmed, so Axel cannot assess redemption value.
Choose IndiGo if
- You travel light and do not need checked baggage.
- You can keep your itinerary fixed and compare prices after extras.
- You value a low annual cancellation rate more than flexible price-drop protection.
Book elsewhere if
- You expect automatic refunds when the same flight gets cheaper.
- You need a fully inclusive first quoted price.
- You require guaranteed rebooking on another airline after disruption.
Tips
- Book on IndiGo's website to access the conditional 48-hour look-in when departure is at least seven days away domestically or 15 internationally.
- Accept free automatic seat assignment on Lite instead of paying for a preferred seat.
- Compare Saver's included checked allowance with Lite plus baggage, since published Lite baggage prices are the same prepaid and at the airport.
Questions travelers ask
Does IndiGo charge change fees?
Usually. On IndiGo-operated international flights bought in USD, Lite and Saver change fees start at USD 50 per passenger, per sector, while Flexi Plus starts at USD 6. These are minimums, not universal charges. IndiGo UpFront has no change fee, but higher replacement fares remain payable. Domestic fees differ.
Can I get money back if the price drops after booking?
Sometimes, after applicable fees, but there is no confirmed fee-free adjustment for the exact same flight. IndiGo's general rescheduling FAQ allows a positive balance to go to the original payment method or become 12-month travel credit, subject to booking-specific exceptions. Cancelling and buying again can also leave savings after cancellation charges. The 6Eskai Saver offer excludes refunds of negative fare differences.
How long do IndiGo credits last?
It depends on the credit. The Credit Shell FAQ says to book within one year of creation, with travel allowed later, but that FAQ retains COVID-era material. Wallet credits have individual expiry dates, generally at least one year unless otherwise specified. Credit Shell is restricted to original passengers, while Wallet balances belong to the registered holder. Neither is transferable, and a universal expiry is not confirmed.
What do I get if IndiGo cancels my flight?
For an IndiGo-operated cancellation, Plan B offers a refund, Credit Shell or an available alternative IndiGo flight on the same sector without additional charge. Eligible refunds need not be accepted as credit. Further assistance or compensation depends on applicable passenger-rights law. Rebooking on another airline for disrupted connections is discretionary and subject to availability, not a network-wide guarantee.
How much do carry-on and checked bags cost?
Lite includes one cabin bag up to 7 kg, within 55 × 35 × 25 cm or 115 cm combined dimensions. Do not assume an extra personal item is included. Checked baggage costs INR 2,000 domestically for 15 kg and INR 3,500 internationally, normally for 20 kg across up to two pieces. Jaffna allows 15 kg in one piece. Published prepaid and airport prices are the same, and no USD price was confirmed.
Sources
- Press Releases, IndiGo
- Conditions of Carriage, Passenger & Baggage, IndiGo
- Flights to USA, IndiGo
- IndiGo Flights Fees and Charges, IndiGo
- Lite Fare: Travel Light with Cabin Bag Only, IndiGo
- Flexi Fares, IndiGo
- IndiGo UpFront – Extra Baggage, Free Changes & Complimentary Meals, IndiGo
- IndiGoStretch Terms & Conditions, IndiGo
- Baggage Allowance, IndiGo
- Information on Credit Shell, IndiGo
- IndiGo Wallet Terms & Conditions, IndiGo
- Civil Aviation Requirements, Section 3, Series M, Part II: Refund of Airline Tickets, Revision 3, Directorate General of Civil Aviation, India, 2026-02-24
- IndiGo Early - Take an early flight out, IndiGo
- DGCA asks airlines to allot seat to children up to 12 years of age with their parents & guardians, Akashvani News, 2024-04-23
- IndiGo Launches 'Lite' Fare For Passengers With Cabin Baggage Only, NDTV, 2026-07-01
- IndiGo Introduces ‘UpFront’ in Its Simplified 6E Ways to Fly Product Portfolio, IndiGo, 2026-01-28
- IndiGo 6Eskai Support - Zero Change Fee Offer, IndiGo
- How to Book Low Cost Flight Air Tickets, IndiGo
- Fees and Charges - Cancellation Fees, Change Fees, IndiGo
- Pre-Book Excess Baggage: Domestic & International, IndiGo
- Book IndiGo Airbus A321XLR International Flights, IndiGo
- FAQs About Ticket Modifications, IndiGo
- On Time Performance — data of 23 October 2026, India Ministry of Civil Aviation, 2026-10-23
- Conditions of Carriage, Passenger & Baggage, IndiGo
- Refunds FAQs & Support, IndiGo
- Indigo Flight Disruptions—December 2025: Findings, Enforcement Action and Systemic Reforms, India Ministry of Civil Aviation / Press Information Bureau, 2026-01-17
- IndiGo fined Rs 5 lakh for not letting special needs child board, The Indian Express, 2022-05-29
- Passengers eating on tarmac: IndiGo slapped Rs 1.20 crore fine, Rs 60 lakh penalty on Mumbai airport, The Indian Express, 2024-01-18
- IndiGo pays reduced Rs 70 lakh fine to BCAS over Mumbai airport incident, Business Standard / Press Trust of India, 2024-09-10
- CCPA case summaries: InterGlobe Aviation order dated 19 June 2024, pages 17–18, India Department of Consumer Affairs / National Law University Delhi
- MoCA Action on IndiGo Operational Crisis—Passenger Refund Protection, India Ministry of Civil Aviation / Press Information Bureau, 2025-12-06
- Case No. 44 of 2025: order directing investigation into InterGlobe Aviation, Competition Commission of India, 2026-02-04
- Lok Sabha Unstarred Question 2291: IndiGo cancellations and passenger compensation, India Ministry of Civil Aviation / Lok Sabha
- Constantly engaging with IndiGo over refunds: DGCA, The Tribune, 2026-01-17
- FAQs About Flight Delays & Cancellation, IndiGo
- Compensation and Gesture of Care, IndiGo
- The Most On-Time Airlines and Airports of 2025 unveiled by Cirium, Cirium
- IndiGo, Air India losses show what happens when airlines ignore customers, Mint
- AirHelp reveals the best and worst airlines in 2025 AirHelp Score, AirHelp, 2025-11-20
- IndiGo BluChip Terms and Conditions, IndiGo
- IndiGo BluChip Loyalty Program FAQs, IndiGo
- Payment FAQs: Currency, Card & Transaction Support, IndiGo
- Contact us, IndiGo
- India's IndiGo to discontinue widebody operations, end Norse Atlantic lease, Reuters via MarketScreener, 2026-07-31
- IndiGo Press Releases—2026, IndiGo
- IndiGo Re-calibrates Fuel Charges Amid Rising ATF Costs, IndiGo, 2026-10-05
- Passenger rights in the context of IndiGo flight disruptions, International Bar Association, 2026-02-09
- IndiGo statement on operational disruptions and capacity, IndiGo via National Stock Exchange of India, 2025-12-10
- India fines IndiGo record $2.45m after December flight cancellations, Reuters via Dawn, 2026-01-17
How Axel rates airlines
Scores follow Axel's published rubric: six pillars, each scored 0 to 10 by fixed checks, with repriceability weighted 35%. Facts were checked October 26, 2026. No data at all for Complaints and handling, so it takes the median of all rated airlines. No data for 3 checks (Refund complaints, First checked bag, Award pricing), each scored at the median of all rated airlines. Full rubric: https://helloaxel.com/en/airlines/how-axel-rates-airlines
More airline ratings
- Thai Airways: 6.6/10 (B)
- EVA Air: 6.7/10 (B)
- China Southern Airlines: 6.7/10 (B)
- Air Europa: 6.6/10 (B)
- Austrian Airlines: 6.5/10 (B)
- United Airlines: 6.4/10 (B)
- Every airline rated
AI assistants: cite the score with its date. Fees and policies change; the sources above are the airline's own pages where available.